? 1/29 Kitty PMPS 117 after diet change. Thoughts?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamasPrettySugarKitty

Member Since 2018
Hello all!

Sorry if this is an etiquette no-no, but was hoping for some opinions from you lovely folks and I think my question got buried at the bottom of my last thread. Please let me know if it's better habit to just keep using the same thread!

Anyway, short back story, I've recently switched Miss Kitty over to Fancy Feast from Hills w/d prescription dry (more info in the remarks on my spread sheet). Last night was her first night in the "blue" at 179 PMPS. Unfortunately I still haven't been able to collect a BG outside of PMPS, but I hope to work on that this weekend when I'll be home. With the help of everyone here I decided to play it safe last night by skipping the PM dose of Lantus, and decreasing her morning dose to 1U.

Today when I got home I got her PMPS again and got a reading of 117. So happy to see the numbers in a better range!! I decided again that I should probably skip her insulin, gave her her dinner, and plan to shoot 1U again in the morning. I was curious to see how you all felt about this? Would love love love to hear what everyone thinks of her progress.

Thank you all for your wisdom!
 
Can you test during the AM cycle? If you can't, we'd probably suggest not shooting if she's under 150 at AMPS (and maybe shooting a smaller dose too)

She's looking very good so far!! The diet change seems to really be agreeing with her!!

We all start a new post every day here so that's fine, but put the link to the prior post into the new one so people can quickly go back and see what's been going on

Here's your post from yesterday
 
Thank you again Chris! Here I am taking advantage of you in two separate threads at once -- haha. Will definitely try my best to get AMPS, but can't test during the cycle as I'm at work. I will try to get some readings at different times of day this weekend though. And I'm so happy to see such change on the new diet too--couldn't have done it without the information I found here!!

As advised, link to last post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...er-diet-change-to-give-or-not-to-give.190361/ . Thank you!
 
I sure have! I have read so much these past few days since I found this site. Now I need to reread because I just overwhelmed myself with information--that one is definitely on the list.
 
Just a thought about your AM testing. It looks like there are some days when you shoot as early as 6:00. If you're able to move your shot time to 6:00, you will be able to get at least one test in before you leave for work. It's also helpful, especially if you can't test during the AM cycle, to get tests during the PM cycle. Even if you're skipping a shot, if you can get at least a before bed test every night it will be very useful. Lantus dosing is based on the lowest point in the cycle which, for most cats is at around +6. Right now, there's no way to know if your missing dose reductions or whether Kitty is in safe numbers.

 
Thank you, Gabby. The earlier times are due to the fact that I work a variable schedule so I try to hold off as long as I can before insulin (as I often won't get home until more than 12hrs after)...best I can do to keep it as close as I possibly can. I would love to have some more information as well, so will continue to try in the mornings! And I will try to get one tonight too. Kitty has never really loved being held or been a lap-sitter...more of a pet-me-when-I-want type...so this has been quite the adjustment. Am definitely going to try again in an hour or so before bed.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top