1/29/10 - Bashful - PMPS 368

Status
Not open for further replies.

Theresa&Bashful

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4322

Okay, Bashful woke me up around an hour ago by vomiting allllll over my bed (wasn't that nice of him?). Pat said her kitty vomited around day 5 on the Clavamox (this is day 5 for Bash) and her vet told her to take him off for 24 hours and then put him back on.

Vomiting is really not that uncommon for Bash, altho I haven't seen him do it in a couple weeks. I do understand how it affects the insulin, however.

So how do I handle? Dose and shot per normal? Skip Clavamox for 24 hours? I'm here exactly 1 hour post shot, and I could lock him in my room again with some extra food in case he throws this morning's breakfast up and needs to eat more. ??

I'd so like to get just ONE full night's sleep or day without drama...this boyo's killin me! LOL

On a positive note, his ketone reading this a.m. was 0.1 - Yay!

T
 
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - +11.5 380 - VOMITING - HELP?

Happens often here. I test, give Pepcid, feed, see if food stays down. If food stays, I shoot.
Sorry you had such a bad start for the day.
 
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - +11.5 380 - VOMITING - HELP?

Just call your vet and ask how they want you to handle it, k? My vet said one thing, but
yours might want to do something else....

If you can put him in a room by himself so he will have the food for himself if he needs it that would be good....
great news about the ketones... :thumbup
Hope your day goes better than the morning did... ((Theresa))
 
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - +11.5 380 - VOMITING - HELP?

I don't have any Pepsid, but will get some on the way home tonight. He seems to be hungry - he was looking in his empty dish a few mins ago. I'll feed and see how he does...if I don't shoot right away he'll be getting his shot late tho. - I guess a half hour won't totally tank things.
 

Attachments

  • homesteadringe001.jpg
    homesteadringe001.jpg
    138.6 KB · Views: 109
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - +11.5 380 - VOMITING - HELP?

Please call the vet. Pat's right -- vet's each have their own spin on things. Vomiting can be a concern and you need to be sure it's related to the AB and not something else. If you do leave Bash in your bedroom, make sure there's plenty of water available since vomiting can be dehydrating. He does need food to offset the action of the insulin.

Ask your vet whether Pepsid would help. If the vet agrees, you need plain old Pepsid -- about 1/4 of a 10 mg tablet. (You may need a pill cutter!) Pepsid may settle Bashful's tummy but it won't stop vomiting.
 
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - +11.5 380 - VOMITING - HELP?

Theresa....for what it's worth, Shadow vomited that one morning and then ate ok for the rest of the day. I didn't give him another dose for that night and the next morning. Then, after the 24 hours, I began dosing him twice a day again. Once again, on about the 5 or 6th day in the second week, the same thing happened. It was as if he just got the Clavamox ujp and then went back to eating normally after that. But I had given him his insulin so I was concerned until I saw him eat the second time....

As Sienne said, the vomiting may be from that or from something else. Pepcid was not mentioned to me by my vet, so I never gave it to him at the time. The 24 hour break did the trick both times for me.
It's always best to check with your own vet as to what they want you to do.
 
Re: 1/29/10 - Bashful - AMPS 425

Checked with vet, they said don't discontinue AB unless he's vomiting right after giving him the pill, and since he isn't and hasn't that it doesn't sound like it's related to the AB (especially since he's always been prone to puking regularly). Said pepsid was okay if I wanted to try it.

Fed Bash at AMPS and he ate well and didn't throw up again. Gave him his shot 20 mins late in order to make sure he wasn't going to lose his breakfast.

Left him in my room with food (water added) and two bowls of fresh water in different locations.

He seemed fine after eating and took a nap. I gave him the Clavamox which he did well with at the time. We'll see if he threw up again when I get home.

Like I've said, he has always been prone to puking and seems to do it after he eats sometimes, but doesn't ever seem bothered afterward (i.e. doesn't act sick), so I was mostly concerned about him having food in his system for the insulin.

Thanks guys,
Theresa
 
Bash is doing well tonight. Eating well, no more diarrhea. Shot a skinny 1.5 and monitoring. Just gave him a snack with probiotic since he's dropped to 154 at +3.

He's in good spirits and doing well.

Theresa & Bash
 
Hi Theresa. Just wanted to say hi as I haven't had a chance to before. I'm glad Bashful's tummy settled down for you. Hopefully it will stay that way. I'm lucky Tori isn't usually a puker. Only time she does that is when she is starting a CP flare. Wishing you two a good night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top