1/28 - Tiki - PMPS 65, +1 77, +2 86, +3 76, +4 90, +6 109

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/20 Tiki - AMPS 115

Ummm...... Tonya? Have you perfected time travel? Todayis 1/28. (check your subject line.)

Pretty darn good numbers for having missed your AM shot yesterday!! Go Tiki!!!!
 
Re: 1/20 Tiki - AMPS 115

:lol: :lol: :lol:
skipping a shot used to throw off my time sense too!

lovely start to the day!
 
Re: 1/20 Tiki - AMPS 115

I'm impressed too - by those awesome photographs you took of Tiki and posted in your profile. I agree, you should be a photographer. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - AMPS 115, + 10 63,

1/20, 1/28 - POtato, PoTATo.... :lol: :lol: :lol:

I had to get up today earlier than I normally do on a weekday for a hair appointment (I was desperate to do away with my roots and early morning was all that was available, and NO I wasn't happy about it. Ahhhh, the price we pay for beauty! lol). As I went to bed (2am) I took a PM sinus pill and was hungover til about noon! I'm surprised the date was all that I screwed up!!!

Thanks for the sweet compliments on Tiki's photos! I actually had someone approach me this week asking to use one of my photos http://www.flickr.com/photos/kismetttt/6162005236/in/photostream on Flickr for an upcoming online travel magazine! I about FELL OVER!!!
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - AMPS 115, + 10 63,

That's a beautiful picture. I can see why they want it. You go girl :thumbup Nice +10 Tiki.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - AMPS 115, + 10 63,

Oh my goodness...
between you, Tena, Michelle and the other great photographers on this forum, we get treated to lovely pictures a lot!

Your profession sounds fascinating :-D

and SWEEEEEEEEEEEET +10, Tiki !!
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - AMPS 115, + 10 63,

Tonya:

Tiki IS adorable and I love your photos!! No wonder the travel mag was interested...absolutely gorgeous.

So...it will be interesting to see what Miss Tiki has in store for tonight. Will you be getting a +11 so we can make "plans" :lol: :lol:

I'll check back in a few...not sure what time your shot time is.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

+12 is 73. I've never shot THAT low before. Should I wait or shoot less? Currently he is getting 1.75 but I've been wondering if I should take it down to 1.5 for as often as we have been wandering into the greens...
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Bump...have you shot yet or have you decided to stall. If you stall...don't feed yet. But it does appear to be a rising BG.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
+12 is 73. I've never shot THAT low before. Should I wait or shoot less? Currently he is getting 1.75 but I've been wondering if I should take it down to 1.5 for as often as we have been wandering into the greens...


Flat is the plan with Lantus. You could stall a half hour and see where you are at.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

I'm stalling, but that's what I was thinking too - the number is rising.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
I'm stalling, but that's what I was thinking too - the number is rising.

OK...then let's see where you are at in half an hour.

I do offer a caution, in that I am the one in forum who is known for BOS shooting, so make sure you a comfy with what you think you can handle. Stalling is like taking that dose reduction. So when you get to a number you are comfy with...you will shoot the regular dose. Stalling could be up to 2 hours or it becomes a skip.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Sorry - what is BOS? (I used to work for the airlines, to me it's the city code for Boston! LOL)
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
Sorry - what is BOS? (I used to work for the airlines, to me it's the city code for Boston! LOL)


BOS= Balls of Steel,
I have been known to shoot a full dose at 50 for Atlas...because I know he gets on a rocket if I wait for the rise in numbers.


Looking at your SS you don't have enough info to do that. So you need to pick a number you are willing to shoot at. It might be 100, 125,150?

Those numbers show a definative rise and you will be most likely safe to shoot.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Looking back I shot him at 2 units when he was at 73 so appearantly I had BOS ( :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ) that night so I should just go with it tonight. I'll be home all night and have all the ready tools on hand.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Although by stalling I don't have to get up quite so early tomorrow! LOL
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya

Well. heck.....I kept coming back to check on you but then had to give my civvie squids and missed this in the 15 minutes I was doing that.

If you shot, please be sure and get a +1 and +2.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
Looking back I shot him at 2 units when he was at 73 so appearantly I had BOS ( :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: ) that night so I should just go with it tonight. I'll be home all night and have all the ready tools on hand.


indeed...looking at your SS you skipped some low preshots and that resulted in higher numbers the next day.


I don't see where or if you've tried just stalling, but if you are prepared to grap the needed tests at +1, +2, and +3 then the needle is in your hands.

I am erring on the side of caution to be sure we have a rising number.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

I would continue to stall and take another reading in half an hour. Do not feed.
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Hmmm..surfing. What is your comfort level? This is a safe number to shoot and you're within meter variance.

If you are home and can monitor and have plenty of hc/test strips/karo and you've shot a 70ish number before...what do you think?
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Will test again here in 5 mins, then might bite the bullet. This seems to be normal for him to ride the low wave all the way into the night. ECID and all - but is that weird???
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

One thing to remember (in these stressful times) when you're doing a BOS shot, is that the new Lantus will take about 2 hours to take affect, and you will be feeding him between now and then.

Tiki is doing sooooo GOOD.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Dyana makes a great point but I was looking at Tiki's SS and he's not a big +1/+2 food spiker.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Took me 5 mins to get blood (and a friggin' wasted strip from not enough). He is fussing, growling and hissing at me as I have poked him over and over so I am sure his ear is sore. This might not be the best set up for a night where I am going to have to poke him all night long....

oh yeah and he went down AGAIN...+13 = 61
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Took me 5 mins to get blood (and a friggin' wasted strip from not enough). He is fussing, growling and hissing at me as I have poked him over and over so I am sure his ear is sore. This might not be the best set up for a night where I am going to have to poke him all night long....

oh yeah and he went down AGAIN...+13 = 61
 
Re: 1/28 (AHEM)- Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
Will test again here in 5 mins, then might bite the bullet. This seems to be normal for him to ride the low wave all the way into the night. ECID and all - but is that weird???


:lol: :lol: :lol: NO! IT IS NOT WEIRD!

Atlas did that for a really long time...late nadir and I had to learn to shoot those low numbers. Keeping in mind that with Lantus, it is a flat cycle that you want.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya: you are there and you are the one that has to work with the numbers tonight.

Beth and I are "notorious" for shooting low :lol: :lol: It's good she is being more cautious. If you look at the numbers even 20% variance of 73 is 58 so you are still within meter range although it probably makes
you feel like he's falling.

You're holding the syringe and since he hasn't been this low at PS, we don't know what he'll do unless you look back at the night you shot the 73.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

He went as low as 35 that night and then up with some HC gravy. Never acted funny in any way but was a tad scary nonetheless.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

I am leaning towards skipping - mostly cuz he is being such a PITA about bleeding tonight. He had been doing so well lately, one poke and nice big blood pool but tonight i am having to poke him 3-5 times just to get any. It's like he was sucked by a vampire ... bloodless!
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

73

2.50

64

47

!35

46


59


and you took a reduced dose the next morning...

We have a minor delay and falling numbers even if in variance. I would say your option are to delay another hour longer, feed and forget the shot start at reduced dose in the morning, or shoot now at a reduced dose.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Your call...you can continue to stall if you can get that far behind in your schedule.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

No..it would not be a reduced dose in the morning. It's only if a reduced dose if you don't shoot because it is too low to shoot....below 50.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61 ADVICE PLEASE!!!

Tonya and Tiki said:
Beth - why would it be a reduced dose in the morning?


Because you are still falling into this evenings preshot. Your prior experience indicates this is a clue to needing a dose reduction. I would shoot a reduced dose for 3 cycles and see based on your cats history.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

Down to 54. I am going to skip. Would love to do a reduced dose in the morning. I hate those quarter doses - I go blind trying to get it right.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

Keep in mind Tiki is going to bounce and have a drained shed. So it will take a few days to restore the shed.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

Maybe...I had to skip yesterday and it barely registered! Very odd, Maybe Mr Pancreas is waking up!
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

If this were my cat, I wouldn't reduce in the AM. I tend to look at each cycle on it's own. There's no guarantee that Tiki will drop below 50 tonight. I do suspect that a reduction is in the very near future, though and Beth's right to suggest being on alert for it. I also think that on the evening that Beth noted, you shot a dropping number. This evening, Tiki is surfing. (Or was until you got that 54.)

I guess I've just seen several cats where the bean was a bit quick to reduce the dose and all the good progress stalled. Like I said, I like to see the actual numbers or know that I'm working to keep those numbers above reduction range. It isn't the case here. Just my 2 cents.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

Many thanks to both of you for your help tonight. Kind of a funny way to spend a Saturday night!
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

Sienne - would you shoot at 54?

Can you explain "surfing, until you hit 54?" I don't think I really understand this surfing thing....
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54

You're welcome.

Just want to make the point that the great thing about LL is we are a peer group and so it's ok if we give you different perspectives. I know it may seem difficult for you to know what to do when we don't all have the same idea but we are also basing it on different experiences.

I also agree that Beth's caution to watch his numbers is very worthwhile because he's getting low enough now that he might want that reduction soon. However, I also would not reduce my cat if she didn't get below 50 before I skipped.

So Tiki can now have that yummy meal and I'd still test him in a bit to make sure he's coming up.
 
Re: 1/28 - Tiki - +12 73, +12.5 69, + 13 61, 13.5 54, +14 6

Ok he's coming up - just tested at 65. Would I be a complete idiot if I shot him now? I at least feel better to see him INCREASING. (Yes, I iz a chicken sh!t)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top