1/28 Stu AMPS 397; PMPS 472 Help!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?p=40196#p40196

Good morning all,
After the trauma of yesterday we are back at a high AMPS. Stu really struggled at his shot this morning (I think his ears hurt). Today is Day 1 of the Tilly protocall. I shot 1.5 units at 7:25 A.M. We'll see what happens. I have to be out all morning, but will do a BG test at the usual +6. Thanks so much to all of you who were such a help and support to us yesterday. Stu continues to behave normally and has good appetite and keeps a good litterbox.
Ella
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

(( :YMHUG: )) You're doing very good Ella, despite the trauma, it gets better thou!!

U have neosporin creme handy? That will help heal sore ears nicely. And alternate ears too, so if one gets too fussy, try the other ear.

Glad to hear Stu is doing normal kitty things!
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

This may be an obvious question but are you giving Stu treats after you test? I give Gabby LC treats which has made the entire testing process much easier since testing is now associated with something she really likes. If you aren't sure what to use as treats, we have lots of suggestions here and everyone has their favorite!
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Here we are again. At +6 Stu is up one point to BG 398! He is drinking more water than usual but otherwise behaving completely normally. No ketones in his urine. He is indeed getting treats after each test: a little tuna in water. He loves the tuna (but still doesn't like to have his test!). I looked at Neosporin creme this morning, but the directions say it is not for puncture wounds. I would consider these pricking holes little punctures. Yes? (I didn't buy it.) I will do another test at +9. Since today is the first full day of the 1.5 unit dose (reduced last night from 4 units), I think we will probably continue to see these high numbers. Tell me not to worry!!! Thanks!

Ella
p.s. I see I've been misspelling protocol!!!!!
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Ella & Stu said:
Here we are again. At +6 Stu is up one point to BG 398! He is drinking more water than usual but otherwise behaving completely normally. No ketones in his urine. He is indeed getting treats after each test: a little tuna in water. He loves the tuna (but still doesn't like to have his test!). I looked at Neosporin creme this morning, but the directions say it is not for puncture wounds. I would consider these pricking holes little punctures. Yes? (I didn't buy it.) I will do another test at +9. Since today is the first full day of the 1.5 unit dose (reduced last night from 4 units), I think we will probably continue to see these high numbers. Tell me not to worry!!! Thanks!

Ella
p.s. I see I've been misspelling protocol!!!!!


Neosporin will help! Many of us use it - just a little dab, gently rub it on the area. Put some on before u go to bed or go out, helps that way it gives the ears time to heal free from poking.
Most kitties will still drink plenty of water..it does eventually go away, adding some water to their wet food helps too.

Don't worry!! :-D You're doing fine!
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

I have always used the Neosporin Ointment with Pain relief. Not the cream, the ointment because it helps the blood drop bead up easier and not wick into my kitty's fur. I put just a tiny bit and rub it on the edge of his ear and if there is too much, I just rub it off with the rice sock as I'm warming the ear.

Because you are using a sterile lancet and making such a microscopic poke... I would not consider this a puncture wound at all! It is basically a tiny tiny scratch. Puncture wound implies a certain tissue depth injury that may be unsterile. So a blood test on a cat's ear would not be considered a puncture wound in my opinion. Even a BG test on my own finger wouldn't be a puncture wound, not deep enough. :-D
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Hi again. I am a bit concerned. +9 BG is 425. Presumably it will continue to climb on the way to PMPS. The "phase 1 starting dose" section in the Tilly protocol recommends raising the dose after 24-48 hours if the curve is high and flat. Stu's readings thus far today are certainly high and pretty flat (although beginning now to rise even higher than the AMPS). It will have been 24 hours this evening that I lowered his dose from 4 units to 1.5. Should I raise the dose from 1.5 to 2 units this evening, or wait until tomorrow morning and see where Stu is then? (Tomorrow morning will be 36 hours since beginning Tilly.)
Stu is hungrier than usual, quite a bit more active, and is drinking more water than usual.
I bought some neosporin cream with pain relief and will use it on his ears tonight.
Thanks for advice!
Ella
P.S. to CD and Big Mac: Just saw your post. I have been using plain vasoline before the ear-stick so that the blood beads up. Thanks for setting my mind at ease with regard to puncture wounds!
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Hi Ella,

Welcome here at LL. I'm a newbie as well. And called Ella as well. :lol:

I would suggest, if I may, that you stay at the 1.5 IE bid for at least 3 day's. (Anyone else wanna jump in??)
Just after a couple of day's it's possible to know how a certain dose works for the cat. You might expect higher numbers.
From protocol:
"Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."

I don't know about you, but I always wanted to push a bit more as soon as I saw the numbers creep up again. Well.. I had to learn to control myself. Not enough though... I still increase faster than most of here do. :roll:
But with my kitty it seems to work.

Anyway: don't worry. And if you worry or not know what to shot at any given time, just ask. I do that a lot. Especially on dosing issues. People here are great and very willing to help. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Ella, can you activate the 911 on your first post of this thread please... Dosing advisers will come running.
Oh.. and also put HELP NEEDED or something like that in the subject line...!

I myself would stay on the dose for at least a couple of more day's. changing so often doesn't work with Lantus. But yet again: I'm also a newbie still
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

Hi Ella. Vaseline works too for beading up the blood drop. I used the Neosporin w/Pain Relief to ease my mind... not sure if BigMac cared. :roll:

These high flat numbers are probably due to the bounce from going low on the higher dose. The same thing happened two days ago and your dose was much higher. Can you wait another cycle or two? As long as Stu doesn't have ketones... I would recommend waiting a bit longer. I do understand why you don't want to have the high flat numbers and dropping Stu's dose was a big step for you. But let's make sure that the bounce gets a chance to clear.

When a kitty has high numbers for a while and then with insulin get some low numbers, the liver gets panicky and send glycogen into the blood stream raising the BG level to what it 'thinks' is a normal level. So you see high numbers as a reaction to the low "green" numbers. The liver has to get used to the lower numbers over time so it will accept that BG level as normal again and quit over-reacting. If you keep going so low and bouncing too high, it is hard for the liver to learn. So the goal is to level out BG's with the right insulin dose to keep the kitty from going too low and bouncing too high.

Right now it isn't for sure if these numbers are from too little insulin or from bouncing. Everyone will keep an eye on you to help you decide when to raise the dose... which will be as soon as possible to help Stu to find the right dose. Ok?
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397

I agree with CD, this looks like just a rebound cycle off of yesterday's green. He did the same on 1/26. These bounces can last up to 72 hours but they will clear out on their own. Until then we just have to wait. Eventually the bounces will get lower and will not last as long, but for now we have to live with them.

You're doing fine, I think dropping the dose was a good decision but it will take a little while for things to settle down to see where the new dose is leaving Stu.
 
Re: 1/28 Stu AMPS 397 PMPS 472

OK Everyone! Thanks for the advice. PMPS is 472, but I will hold the dose at 1.5 units and then give him 1.5 tomorrow morning, unless I hear from you all to the contrary! Wish us luck!! I'll post again at bedtime.
Ella
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top