1/28 Ruby AMPS 101/+3 152/+6 219/+9 207/PMPS 166/+2 155

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...176-3-170-6-99-9-65-pmps-68-2-55-3-68.258472/

Ruby has been pawsitively hyperactive today. DBF said she was pacing around the house all day, meowing, asking for pets. Unfortunately she did not eat much, but she did have a small bit to eat when I came home. She did a wonderful thing tonight: for the very first time, Ruby jumped onto a kitchen counter without the aid of a chair or step! I was so proud that I had to commemorate the moment with a photo. Adequan is amazing!

I got nervous about her lower numbers yesterday so reduced back to 3 units. Now she is bouncing, but I hope it's not for long.

Hope everyone had a great day!

upload_2022-1-28_19-53-54.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-1-28_19-53-54.jpeg
    upload_2022-1-28_19-53-54.jpeg
    40.3 KB · Views: 269
Love the picture! I wish my vet had given it to me. I’m glad it’s helping so soon.
I'm actually astonished. I haven't seen her jump like that since she was a kitten and much smaller. Ruby's probably been overweight since she was about 3, so she's never been a great jumper in her adult life. She weighs less than she did then. Despite gaining about a pound since last year I believe she might be at her ideal weight right now at 12 lbs. I'm thrilled! :joyful:

Now if only we could get her BGs stabilized. :rolleyes:
 
Isn't it miraculous to see Ruby up on that kitchen counter LOL--Wonderful to read and see the evidence in that picture~ :cat::joyful::cat:

I'm glad you were able to get her to the vet and get that prescription. Around where I live, we have to wait upward of 2 weeks for any vet visit.

It sounds like the adaquan is in pill form? Are you using pill pockets or are you able to pill her? I always gave pills in Pill Pockets as it was also a bit of food for my kitties. Although now I see the old formula of Duck is no longer available and it was the lowest carb one on the market.:(
 
Isn't it miraculous to see Ruby up on that kitchen counter LOL--Wonderful to read and see the evidence in that picture~ :cat::joyful::cat:

I'm glad you were able to get her to the vet and get that prescription. Around where I live, we have to wait upward of 2 weeks for any vet visit.

It sounds like the adaquan is in pill form? Are you using pill pockets or are you able to pill her? I always gave pills in Pill Pockets as it was also a bit of food for my kitties. Although now I see the old formula of Duck is no longer available and it was the lowest carb one on the market.:(
Hi Ruth! I go to a clinic where you call that morning and you get a slot (not an "appointment" because they can't promise you anything). I get a different vet every time I show up, but once I get talking with them they pretty much give me anything I ask for in terms of meds. The Adequan is an injection--for Ruby it's .3 mls per dose twice a week for a month, then we will go once a week or once a month, depending on how she responds to the loading dose. I'm really unused to the huge needle and I'm worried I will hit a blood vessel or something. I only found out from @Tina Marie (GA) and Jan that I could use my U-100 needles only after I bought 50 1 ml needles for the job. They're good for giving my civvie B12 injections too so all is not lost.

I use salmon flavored pill pockets for her pred every single day. I pop it in the back of her tongue and she swallows like a champ.
 
Doh, yes of course it is an injection, sorry. It's your carafate that is in pill form isn't it>? That was good to know you could use the smaller needle, not like if you had to give subQ fluids with that harpoon sized needle. :eek: Even though I hate needles, I'd rather give a shot than a pill:nailbiting:

You are very fortunate you can get in to see any vet so quickly. Our only option is to hope one of the ER clinics might have a spot. Darned covid.

But that's good she likes the salmon pill pockets.
 
Doh, yes of course it is an injection, sorry. It's your carafate that is in pill form isn't it>? That was good to know you could use the smaller needle, not like if you had to give subQ fluids with that harpoon sized needle. :eek: Even though I hate needles, I'd rather give a shot than a pill:nailbiting:

You are very fortunate you can get in to see any vet so quickly. Our only option is to hope one of the ER clinics might have a spot. Darned covid.

But that's good she likes the salmon pill pockets.
Yes, the carafate is in a gigantic pill. The clinic cut apart the 1 gram pills into quarters and they’re still big, so I cut those in half and pilled her twice.

This clinic has been a godsend during the pandemic. Most other vet clinics in the area have two week waits. The only problem is the clinic doesn’t let anyone inside, so when I got the Adequan script I waited outside in the cold while Ruby got examined as I don’t have a car. :confused::eek::coffee:
 
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...176-3-170-6-99-9-65-pmps-68-2-55-3-68.258472/

Ruby has been pawsitively hyperactive today. DBF said she was pacing around the house all day, meowing, asking for pets. Unfortunately she did not eat much, but she did have a small bit to eat when I came home. She did a wonderful thing tonight: for the very first time, Ruby jumped onto a kitchen counter without the aid of a chair or step! I was so proud that I had to commemorate the moment with a photo. Adequan is amazing!

I got nervous about her lower numbers yesterday so reduced back to 3 units. Now she is bouncing, but I hope it's not for long.

Hope everyone had a great day!

View attachment 63418
How many days on adequan? Only three? Fantastic!
 
Isn't it miraculous to see Ruby up on that kitchen counter LOL--Wonderful to read and see the evidence in that picture~ :cat::joyful::cat:

I'm glad you were able to get her to the vet and get that prescription. Around where I live, we have to wait upward of 2 weeks for any vet visit.

It sounds like the adaquan is in pill form? Are you using pill pockets or are you able to pill her? I always gave pills in Pill Pockets as it was also a bit of food for my kitties. Although now I see the old formula of Duck is no longer available and it was the lowest carb one on the market.:(
It’s injections of adequan
 
Doh, yes of course it is an injection, sorry. It's your carafate that is in pill form isn't it>? That was good to know you could use the smaller needle, not like if you had to give subQ fluids with that harpoon sized needle. :eek: Even though I hate needles, I'd rather give a shot than a pill:nailbiting:

You are very fortunate you can get in to see any vet so quickly. Our only option is to hope one of the ER clinics might have a spot. Darned covid.

But that's good she likes the salmon pill pockets.
@Tiger(GA) and Ruth where do you live? I never use the harpoon needles from the vet for sub-q fluids. I order much smaller needles. 19 gauge is the largest I will use. I prefer 20s. The vets use them for speed.
 
How many days on adequan? Only three? Fantastic!
Yes! She is due for a second shot tomorrow. I’m hoping this snow we’re getting is for real and I won’t have to go to work tomorrow and spend all day monitoring her and how she is feeling after the Adequan. I can’t believe I waited so long to do this, but I had other fish to fry.
 
I'm so so happy for Ruby that the Adequan is working. I'm proud of Ruby too!
She must feel so much better. Warms my heart. I hope you have a good night Katherine and most likely we will be getting a lot of snow like they said so you can be home with Ruby :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat:
 
What a lovely pic! It's so great that Adequan is working. It's wonderful to see them regain their mobility and be pain-free.
For some reason, Cartrophen did nothing for Budge.
 
Now this makes me so happy!!! Yippee!
And @Wendy&Neko is who I got the great idea of using the U100 syringe from. I had read earlier the liquid might be too thick for the smaller syringe, but that just isn't true.

Katherine, I know how great this makes you feel!
Just yesterday, my vet was excitedly talking about Solensia, the new monoclonal antibody treatment. Still, we were much better with Adequan, but I'm thrilled about more help coming for our dear cats.

Have a blessed day!
 
She did a wonderful thing tonight: for the very first time, Ruby jumped onto a kitchen counter without the aid of a chair or step! I was so proud that I had to commemorate the moment with a photo. Adequan is amazing!
I'm so happy that Adequan is helping Ruby :woot: Wonderful pic -- what a gorgeous girl!
 
@Tiger(GA) and Ruth where do you live? I never use the harpoon needles from the vet for sub-q fluids. I order much smaller needles. 19 gauge is the largest I will use. I prefer 20s. The vets use them for speed.

@Suzanne & Darcy
I was thinking of my poor neighbor(she is 80 years old!!!) Bless her heart, she is learning to give subQ fluids to her 19year old kitty and when she showed me her set up, that needle had to be 4 inches long :nailbiting: I was horrified. :eek::eek: Her vet taught her how to do this and that was that! I keep wondering if I should suggest the smaller needle but don't want to upset the apple cart with her vet.
 
@Suzanne & Darcy
I was thinking of my poor neighbor(she is 80 years old!!!) Bless her heart, she is learning to give subQ fluids to her 19year old kitty and when she showed me her set up, that needle had to be 4 inches long :nailbiting: I was horrified. :eek::eek: Her vet taught her how to do this and that was that! I keep wondering if I should suggest the smaller needle but don't want to upset the apple cart with her vet.
Well, I am happy that she’s at least trying to do this for her kitty. Perhaps at some point you can mention that smaller IV needles can be used for increased comfort. I wonder if she knows anything about warming the fluids in some water or any of the other tips and tricks.
 
Back
Top