Re: 1/28 Mao +5 58 +6 171 amps 437 new issue
I'm not sure what GA stands for, or what it is. I'm not familiar with an oily substance coming from a cat.
With regards to the diaper, if Mao is going to be making a mess, it'll be in the diaper. I am a bit concerned about the diaper issue, however, as I think it may cause some irritation around the hind end, which may make Mao feel uncomfortable should a rash or something develop. What you may need to do is remove the diaper, and watch Mao, and if a mess is made, and she doesn't clean herself, simply get a warm bucket of soapy water with something like Dawn in it (or something that won't irritate her skin), and clean her up. That's just what I would do.
Here is some information with regards to dose reductions and dose increases:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.
From what I've seen on Mao's spreadsheet, the # that you saw (58) didn't fall in the category for a dose reduction as per the protocol above. The # needed to be below 50 in order to own a dose reduction. You may have panicked and called the vet for advice about a dose reduction. Panicking is natural, of course, and we've all been through it.
Mao is going to constantly look for food as her body needs the calories until she gets regulated. Regulation takes time to achieve, and depending upon how long it takes depends upon the both of you.
Please wait for someone else who has more experience than I do to give you dosing advice, ok? I only know my own kitty; not anyone else's.
In the meantime, re-read the Tight Regulation Protocol and become familiarized with it. I, too, on occasion re-read the protocol from time and again, and it helps. We have been here going on 4 years, and I'm still learning.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581
How is, and what is Mao doing at this time?