1/28 Mao amps 437 +3 87 new issue

Status
Not open for further replies.

miaomi

Member Since 2013
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=112710&p=1188895#p1188895

I just talked to my vet on the phone, she didn't have an answer, she wanted me to stop giving the Flagyl which I have already stopped since last night. She wanted to wait to see what happens. She said it may be nothing to find out through an x-Ray or ultrasound, maybe need to take out some tissue sample to test, she mentioned that it might be The GA problem, I don't know what it is. The vet wanted a curve today because Mao dropped her number to 58@+5, she said that she might want me to reduce her insulin does. I got some new born sized diapers, will try to put it on Mao later, I really hope it will help.
 
Re: 1/28 Mao +5 58 +6 171 amps 437 new issue

Hi there :cool:

What tissue is she considering sampling and what is it she wants to check that tissue for?
 
Re: 1/28 Mao +5 58 +6 171 amps 437 new issue

Hi, there

After looking at your SS, what I don't understand is why the dose was dropped from 1.50u to 1u when the #s didn't show a need to do so. I think you may be experiencing a bouncing affect, and higher #s because of the lowered dose. In order to start seeing better #s, you need to go up in doses, not down. I would start feeding the Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey, and wait for dosing advice from others.

Another thing you may want to consider is instead of free feeding, give small portions throughout the day to help the roller coaster affect flatten out a bit. A lot of the people on here give smaller portions throughout the day to do just that, and it helps to keep the kitty from bouncing too much. Some people, like myself, feed only 4x/day, and a few or more feed only 2x/day. Every cat is different, and you may want to experiment to see what works for Mao.

Good luck, and I hope that the others can help you with your doses. :smile:
 
Re: 1/28 Mao +5 58 +6 171 amps 437 new issue

The vet mentioned something like GA, a tissue from it? I will ask what the GA is.
The vet though that Mao dropped her bg reading from 400 range to 74 or 58 means too much insulin, that's why she let me reduce the does to 1U from 1.5U. Mao's always starving, wouldn't stop crying for more food. Whenever she felt full, she would leave me alone.
 
Re: 1/28 Mao +5 58 +6 171 amps 437 new issue

I'm not sure what GA stands for, or what it is. I'm not familiar with an oily substance coming from a cat.

With regards to the diaper, if Mao is going to be making a mess, it'll be in the diaper. I am a bit concerned about the diaper issue, however, as I think it may cause some irritation around the hind end, which may make Mao feel uncomfortable should a rash or something develop. What you may need to do is remove the diaper, and watch Mao, and if a mess is made, and she doesn't clean herself, simply get a warm bucket of soapy water with something like Dawn in it (or something that won't irritate her skin), and clean her up. That's just what I would do.

Here is some information with regards to dose reductions and dose increases:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.

Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.
If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
Please ask for advice.

From what I've seen on Mao's spreadsheet, the # that you saw (58) didn't fall in the category for a dose reduction as per the protocol above. The # needed to be below 50 in order to own a dose reduction. You may have panicked and called the vet for advice about a dose reduction. Panicking is natural, of course, and we've all been through it.

Mao is going to constantly look for food as her body needs the calories until she gets regulated. Regulation takes time to achieve, and depending upon how long it takes depends upon the both of you.

Please wait for someone else who has more experience than I do to give you dosing advice, ok? I only know my own kitty; not anyone else's.

In the meantime, re-read the Tight Regulation Protocol and become familiarized with it. I, too, on occasion re-read the protocol from time and again, and it helps. We have been here going on 4 years, and I'm still learning.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

How is, and what is Mao doing at this time?
 
Angela, Mao was quiet for a while then hungry again. I will make sure if she get irritation from the diaper. My vet thought Mao's # dropped too sharp from high to 58, She wanted me to reduce the does, I am not sure if I should increase or reduce it, or hold it for another day then increase it. I do need an advice.
How come her tummy gurgling lot?
 
I'm interested to hear what the GA stands for too. Does your vet know her tummy is gurgling?

Lantus dosing is based on nadirs, and although you dropped to 1.0U from 1.5U without going below 50, Mao is getting some green nadirs on 1.0 unit so that seemed to be a good move. Do NOT increase the dose. That 58 you got last night indicates that Mao does not need more insulin. Normally we wait until we see a number below 50 before reducing the dose.

As with a baby wearing a diaper, you do have to check it regularly and change it, wiping her bottom to keep it clean. A local vet's office has a disabled cat (back legs don't work) and he wears a diaper all the time on his wheelchair.
 
there are also pet wipes (like baby wipes) that help with clean-up, although if it's really bad you might need a mini bath with warm water.
 
i keep thinking about Mao and i think i'd want a second opinion from a different vet. no vet knows everything. seems like if the discharge was from her anal glands it might've dripped a little after they were expressed, but now it's been more than a day and you're seeing quite a bit of oily discharge so i think it's worth having someone else look at her.

before i did any biopsy or surgery i'd definitely ask for another vet to look at her.
 
I told my vet about her gurgling tummy. Mao farted stinky a couple of times today. Yes, I am thinking to bring her to some other vet. The baby diaper works really well, I cleaned everything today. Should I hold the 1U does for more days to see if she has a bg reading that is below 50?
She was shivering when she cried for food this evening, I thought she might have a hypo and tested her, the BG # was 335 @ +8. I fed her lots of food, she was OK then. Is this normal?
 
Hi! Someone told me this week that their cat gets really hungry when their numbers quickly rises or quickly drops. If she's that much higher, it could be that. I'm noticing that with Cobb as well. I can kinda tell if his number is in the move based on how he's acting about food.
 
If you are following the TR protocol, you would hold the dose until you see an under 50 reading. I expect it won't be long from now. Mao is getting over her bounces quickly, so that is good. :-D

As for feeding, we try not to feed much or only zero carb food in the last half of the cycle. The insulin is waning then and adding carbs to the mix will slam on the brakes for the insulin and may cause her PS number to be higher. Some boiled chicken cubes or other zero carb food might work. I'd also try to limit the quantity even of that. One of our members has a cat that gets a boost in blood sugar just from freeze dried chicken pieces. My Neko also lets me know if she's moving up or down quickly.
 
OK, Thanks! I am so glad that I can always ask questions and get answers from you guys, I have been helped a lot.
 
I would agree with getting another opinion from another vet. My new vet knows more about feline diabetes as he's had diabetic cats before. I'm sticking with him from now on.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top