1/27 Trixie AMBG 198 "+3.5" 113 PMBG 96 - Four years ago today....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amy&TrixieCat

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Four years ago today Trixie received her first shot of juice. I know many (if not all) of you felt the same way we did at that moment: It was a terrifying time for us. We were taught how to shoot, given written instructions on what to do if we saw hypo symptoms, and were sent on our way. My vetty at the time (who was a different vetty than our current awesome vetty - same practice, different doc) did support "occasional" testing. She told us to test once a week, and maybe run an occasional curve. We did test once a week for the first 3 weeks. That third week, at Trix's "nadir" (ie, +6 - because we still believed that everyone nadired at +6), she threw us a 55. That opened our eyes VERY quickly and we immediately got on board with testing for safety and TR. And the rest is history! We have everyone here in L&LL to thank for guiding us, helping us, teaching us...no doubt Trix wouldn't be here today, and she certainly wouldn't be OTJ (albeit non-traditional OTJ) if it weren't for your support :bighug::bighug::bighug:.

Trix seems to be feeling pretty good today, although I am very anxious and cautious about saying it, given how the last few weeks have been such an exhausting rollercoaster. She still seems to have some ups and downs, but don't we all? I'm trying my best to give her some more breathing room and not helicopter so much, as I'm sure that doesn't help matters, especially since she is definitely much more like herself.

(Notice my current fear of commitment and my frequent use of the word "seems" o_O)

Last night she had a VERY happy appy...no assist feeding necessary. In fact, with one round , she was so enthused that she even got fuds up her nose that made her cough a little (and, of course, startled the bean a little, too :rolleyes:.)

We have a fairly happy appy this morning, and have followed all the usual morning routines and rituals - snuggles, impatient with ear-pokey, smooth gelcap and banana meds. And her eyes have that bright Trixie sparkle :smuggrin:. Not exactly loving that AMBG, but Trix has been known to hit those high blues with her "PS" numbers before. As long as she brings it back down....gotta keep doing the OTJ thing her own crazy way.

Her personality still seems a little bit "off", but she has been through a lot in the past few weeks. It also seems less and less off each day. 2.5 weeks left on AB #2. I'm really not sure if the AB is bothering her or not (I still lean towards an issue with the B12 injection since that's when this last round of trouble started, and because she is doing much better now despite still being on one of the ABs), but it certainly could be, so it can't end soon enough.

My Dad ended up having chemo yesterday after all. It turned into a bit of a hassle...since he was only supposed to have labs yesterday, then go for chemo on Wednesday, I didn't go with them - I was going to go Wednesday to the treatment. Since the chemo center said they had lots of vacancies yesterday, they decided it was better to do it while he was there, since the big storm (that fizzled) was causing all the Tuesday patients to reschedule for Wednesday. The snow had already started, and since he's so groggy after treatment, and since my Mom is a very nervous driver under the best conditions, I had to have one of my business partners drive me out to the chemo center so I could drive them back home. Of course they insisted I not do that, but I insisted I did do that, and I think they ultimately were thankful. Their car was snow covered and the roads were getting sloppy...it would have been a stressful trip home for them.

And fortunately the "historic storm" fizzled out to barely anything here in Central NJ. What a HUGE relief! We got maybe about 4" instead of the predicted 18"-24". I can't believe my prayers were answered on this one!

Even though it's not officially snow day and the store is open today, it's still going to be one of my days off this week, so I get to hang out with the kitties and do some housework. DH is also working from home, so it's a full house today! I am thrilled with NOT being snow-bound - as does DH's back (he does have some shoveling to do, but that God it's not as bad as they predicted it would be.)

So with that, I have to get moving....Have a great day, L&LL!

Amy
 
Morning Amy :coffee::coffee::coffee:

oh my.... has it really been 4 years???? I can so remember my first injection, I can still remember standing in my vets office (we too: a different one) and having him tell me the news. he's what? and I have to do what? I got general instructions, a quick demo, and sent on my way with a script for insulin and syringes, and not even a mention of home testing. My hat goes off to you for getting on board what that, and the The Board as quickly as you did. For me... a different story. I do remember the total fear with that first shot. :eek:o_O but we survived. What a journey it has been for you. Congrats Trixie on your 4 year annifursary! :cool:

I thought about you last night, and your dad's scheduled chemo. Even though it was planned, I am so glad that he was able to get that done yesterday, a relief I am sure, considering weather conditions there. Good idea on your part to make sure they got home safely. I am also glad that your portion of that storm hasn't been as bad as predicted.

Trixie, surf well today. You are doing great! BG's look good today. Some greens later?

Have a great day Amy. Enjoy your day off. :)
 
We interrupt these household chores with a special report: We do, indeed, have a very happy appy so far today....anti-jinx, prayers it continues, doing our best to enjoy it in the moment....

Yep, Michelle....how quickly time flies!

Now back to my regularly scheduled housework (which is way better than being at work work).
 
Four years hardly seems possible. You are just a few weeks ahead of us. What a crazy ride it has been for you as well. And now look at your pretty girl. OTJ. Woohoo!!! Happy Annifursary you two!!

So great to hear about the happy appy. That is a good thing indeed.

Glad your dad got his chemo out of the way and that the weather forecasters were way off. What a relief. Have a wonderful day Amy!
 
Happy Annifursary, Amy & Trixie!! 4 years! Chef Rusty will bake you a cimmamum catmint cake!

You were lucky your vet mentioned that you could home test. Stu's vet only said to bring him in every 3 or 4 weeks to be tested. I shot PZI "blind" for 4 years!!!

Trixie is a real trouper and I know that she will get through the present round of a/bs and other meds just fine. It is really remarkable how well she is doing after that awful bout of pancreatitis. Kudos to you, Amy!

Yes, the Storm of the Century fizzled in NYC, too, and we wish we hadn't turned around and driven home yesterday. Glad to hear that your Dad got his chemo early. That means that he'll be feeling good again sooner, yes?

Have a good day. Trixie: let's see some green.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Yep, he'll be feeling better even sooner, and that is perfect because they head to Hawaii just after he comes out of the chemo crash (yes, I am just a wee bit jealous!)!!!
 
4 years! Hard to believe it's been that long.

Amy so glad to hear that Trixie is getting a bit better.

Glad to hear your Dad got his chemo treatment and you were able to get him home safely.

p.s. You may have missed the storm, but it's hitting here in coastal Massachusetts pretty hard.
 
I know, we lucked out with the storm, but the folks north of us are still getting nailed...you guys have our prayers that it ends quickly without much trouble!
 
I'm jealous about Hawaii as well. Congrats on the annifursery, good appy, and the continued OTj!! You have done such a great job with her.
 
Happy Annifursery Amy and Trixie!

You've done such an amazing job with her...even if she does do things "her way".....LOL

Glad to hear dad got the chemo over with and that the storm isn't causing you the problems it could have!
 
Thank you for all the annifursary wishes! It really is hard to believe it has been 4 years...

We made it to the lagoon thanks to a very nice "+9" snicky snack. We haz a happy appy, and every paw, finger, toe, leg, and arm crossed that we stay on this trajectory.
 
Happy Anniversary. I'm glad Trixie is feeling better today and eating good. Nice to see that green too. :D

I'm glad the storm fizzled for you and your dad got his chemo done.
 
Happy 4th Annifursary!! Your post brings back not so fond memories of the beginning. We weren't told what hypo symptoms were, just "being off" and told to give syrup. That's it!

Look how far Trixie has come in 4 years. Yeah for good appy tonight and a lovely PMBG.

Vines for you dad for a fast recovery this time.
 
Happy Annifursary! Simon and Trixie have both been here for about the same amount of time. How time flies! I remember the exact same feelings in the beginning including some not fantastic advice from Simon's former vet. Yes, it really is SO important to test and not blindly shoot.

I am very happy that Trixie is doing so well and the appy is good. Keep it up, Miss Trixie!
Thanks for the update on your dad. What a wonderful trip they have planned once everything is over. Too bad you can't go with him!
Glad the blizzard is not so much a blizzard in N.J! Yay to no snow shoveling -- I have no clue about how to shovel snow since a blizzard here is about 2 inches!
 
Happy Annifursary! Time flies when you're dealing with FD.

We, too, were taught to shoot and sent home, told to come back once a week between +4 and +6 for a test. The daughter of a dear friend, whose kitty had crossed, sent me her meter and supplies and told me to join FDMB because the people here saved her kitty's life. I did, and they did the same for my kitty! We are all so blessed to have found each other!

Yay for the happy appy!! Yay for your DF getting his chemo over with so he'll be feeling even better for his trip. And a big YAY that the "historic storm" turned out to be a nonevent in your neck of the woods!
 
happy Annifursary and four years of Trix being healthy because of all your awesome care. I hope she gets through this little hump and fully recovers from this last bout of whatever.

Sending vines for your dad. Glad you got to be at home today.
 
happy 4 year annifursary! you must've joined one month before us - time does fly!

you've done a fantastic job with miss trixie - thank goodness you found FDMB - trixie thanks you!
 
LOL at the food up the nose this morning!!!

Happy annifursary

Nice timing on the chemo and the Hawaii trip too!
 
Four years! And, oh so many numbers! A toast to you and Trixie, LC I'm afraid. And wishes for years and years of happy appy, feisty attitude, smooth gelcaps, a crap dash now and then, and a mamabean who can relax and enjoy that very special little girl.

Gee, Amy. Might be some bad weather in Hawaii. Your folks should really take a driver along. Got any ideas? All my light that your mom and dad have a great get-away-from cancer trip. It can be the best medicine Even though it sounds like the conventional stuff is really doing a bang up job. Hoooo-ray.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top