Amy&TrixieCat
Very Active Member
Yesterday
Four years ago today Trixie received her first shot of juice. I know many (if not all) of you felt the same way we did at that moment: It was a terrifying time for us. We were taught how to shoot, given written instructions on what to do if we saw hypo symptoms, and were sent on our way. My vetty at the time (who was a different vetty than our current awesome vetty - same practice, different doc) did support "occasional" testing. She told us to test once a week, and maybe run an occasional curve. We did test once a week for the first 3 weeks. That third week, at Trix's "nadir" (ie, +6 - because we still believed that everyone nadired at +6), she threw us a 55. That opened our eyes VERY quickly and we immediately got on board with testing for safety and TR. And the rest is history! We have everyone here in L&LL to thank for guiding us, helping us, teaching us...no doubt Trix wouldn't be here today, and she certainly wouldn't be OTJ (albeit non-traditional OTJ) if it weren't for your support

.
Trix seems to be feeling pretty good today, although I am very anxious and cautious about saying it, given how the last few weeks have been such an exhausting rollercoaster. She still seems to have some ups and downs, but don't we all? I'm trying my best to give her some more breathing room and not helicopter so much, as I'm sure that doesn't help matters, especially since she is definitely much more like herself.
(Notice my current fear of commitment and my frequent use of the word "seems"
)
Last night she had a VERY happy appy...no assist feeding necessary. In fact, with one round , she was so enthused that she even got fuds up her nose that made her cough a little (and, of course, startled the bean a little, too
.)
We have a fairly happy appy this morning, and have followed all the usual morning routines and rituals - snuggles, impatient with ear-pokey, smooth gelcap and banana meds. And her eyes have that bright Trixie sparkle
. Not exactly loving that AMBG, but Trix has been known to hit those high blues with her "PS" numbers before. As long as she brings it back down....gotta keep doing the OTJ thing her own crazy way.
Her personality still seems a little bit "off", but she has been through a lot in the past few weeks. It also seems less and less off each day. 2.5 weeks left on AB #2. I'm really not sure if the AB is bothering her or not (I still lean towards an issue with the B12 injection since that's when this last round of trouble started, and because she is doing much better now despite still being on one of the ABs), but it certainly could be, so it can't end soon enough.
My Dad ended up having chemo yesterday after all. It turned into a bit of a hassle...since he was only supposed to have labs yesterday, then go for chemo on Wednesday, I didn't go with them - I was going to go Wednesday to the treatment. Since the chemo center said they had lots of vacancies yesterday, they decided it was better to do it while he was there, since the big storm (that fizzled) was causing all the Tuesday patients to reschedule for Wednesday. The snow had already started, and since he's so groggy after treatment, and since my Mom is a very nervous driver under the best conditions, I had to have one of my business partners drive me out to the chemo center so I could drive them back home. Of course they insisted I not do that, but I insisted I did do that, and I think they ultimately were thankful. Their car was snow covered and the roads were getting sloppy...it would have been a stressful trip home for them.
And fortunately the "historic storm" fizzled out to barely anything here in Central NJ. What a HUGE relief! We got maybe about 4" instead of the predicted 18"-24". I can't believe my prayers were answered on this one!
Even though it's not officially snow day and the store is open today, it's still going to be one of my days off this week, so I get to hang out with the kitties and do some housework. DH is also working from home, so it's a full house today! I am thrilled with NOT being snow-bound - as does DH's back (he does have some shoveling to do, but that God it's not as bad as they predicted it would be.)
So with that, I have to get moving....Have a great day, L&LL!
Amy
Four years ago today Trixie received her first shot of juice. I know many (if not all) of you felt the same way we did at that moment: It was a terrifying time for us. We were taught how to shoot, given written instructions on what to do if we saw hypo symptoms, and were sent on our way. My vetty at the time (who was a different vetty than our current awesome vetty - same practice, different doc) did support "occasional" testing. She told us to test once a week, and maybe run an occasional curve. We did test once a week for the first 3 weeks. That third week, at Trix's "nadir" (ie, +6 - because we still believed that everyone nadired at +6), she threw us a 55. That opened our eyes VERY quickly and we immediately got on board with testing for safety and TR. And the rest is history! We have everyone here in L&LL to thank for guiding us, helping us, teaching us...no doubt Trix wouldn't be here today, and she certainly wouldn't be OTJ (albeit non-traditional OTJ) if it weren't for your support



Trix seems to be feeling pretty good today, although I am very anxious and cautious about saying it, given how the last few weeks have been such an exhausting rollercoaster. She still seems to have some ups and downs, but don't we all? I'm trying my best to give her some more breathing room and not helicopter so much, as I'm sure that doesn't help matters, especially since she is definitely much more like herself.
(Notice my current fear of commitment and my frequent use of the word "seems"

Last night she had a VERY happy appy...no assist feeding necessary. In fact, with one round , she was so enthused that she even got fuds up her nose that made her cough a little (and, of course, startled the bean a little, too

We have a fairly happy appy this morning, and have followed all the usual morning routines and rituals - snuggles, impatient with ear-pokey, smooth gelcap and banana meds. And her eyes have that bright Trixie sparkle

Her personality still seems a little bit "off", but she has been through a lot in the past few weeks. It also seems less and less off each day. 2.5 weeks left on AB #2. I'm really not sure if the AB is bothering her or not (I still lean towards an issue with the B12 injection since that's when this last round of trouble started, and because she is doing much better now despite still being on one of the ABs), but it certainly could be, so it can't end soon enough.
My Dad ended up having chemo yesterday after all. It turned into a bit of a hassle...since he was only supposed to have labs yesterday, then go for chemo on Wednesday, I didn't go with them - I was going to go Wednesday to the treatment. Since the chemo center said they had lots of vacancies yesterday, they decided it was better to do it while he was there, since the big storm (that fizzled) was causing all the Tuesday patients to reschedule for Wednesday. The snow had already started, and since he's so groggy after treatment, and since my Mom is a very nervous driver under the best conditions, I had to have one of my business partners drive me out to the chemo center so I could drive them back home. Of course they insisted I not do that, but I insisted I did do that, and I think they ultimately were thankful. Their car was snow covered and the roads were getting sloppy...it would have been a stressful trip home for them.
And fortunately the "historic storm" fizzled out to barely anything here in Central NJ. What a HUGE relief! We got maybe about 4" instead of the predicted 18"-24". I can't believe my prayers were answered on this one!
Even though it's not officially snow day and the store is open today, it's still going to be one of my days off this week, so I get to hang out with the kitties and do some housework. DH is also working from home, so it's a full house today! I am thrilled with NOT being snow-bound - as does DH's back (he does have some shoveling to do, but that God it's not as bad as they predicted it would be.)
So with that, I have to get moving....Have a great day, L&LL!
Amy