1/27 Jack: 347@amps, 248@+2 ; long update

Jack & Mopem'sMom

Member Since 2020
First, I'm sorry it has been so long since I posted. Last post is here: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-10-jack-175-amps-97-2.297351/

Second, I'm so sad to see so many of you losing your fur babies. It seems like every time I manage to get back to the board, another sugar kitty has earned their wings. Today, it was two. Three if you count my poor, sweet Buddy who did in fact go over the Bridge on Jan 11th. I'll post a longer account on him in the comments below for anyone wanting to read his story.

Now, to Mr. Jack. ~~~HEAVY SIGH~~~ Jack, Jack, Jack. :( He was doing ok on the 7 units, but had become increasingly picky with his food. This triggered a pancreatitis attack, which had us at the vet on Jan 18th. I was very lucky that Sable already had an appointment that day for a final thyroid level blood draw (more on Sable's story in comment below) before his I-131 radiation and just dragged Jack along for an emergency appointment. I still have to update the SS but long story short; Jack's bloodwork is good, his teeth & mouth are great/he lost 2 pounds from his last visit (which is great considering fat boy is down to 22 pounds) / he was not blocked in any way. He got a shot of convenia just in case of the vet missing something, a shot of cerenia, a shot of famotidine/sub-q fluids. I went home with a script for additional cerenia if needed, and picked famotidine up at the pharmacy to keep on hand, and already had a bag of fluids (even though I can't administer to him alone- naughty boy). The car ride seemed to have cured him :banghead: He has been fine since we came home, no additional meds needed. HOWEVER, the vet indicated he probably triggered the attack by not eating enough. Thus ensued a lengthy conversation with not 1, but 2 vets at the clinic, over his diet, pickiness, and diabetes. Their opinion was that the priority should be that he eats, not that he eats what is good for his diabetes. To say I feel totally defeated is an understatement. Those of you who have followed Jack's journey know how hard it has been to get him to eat wet instead of dry, pate instead of gravy laden chunks, a reduced amount of LC kibble....and now I have 2 vets telling me that the super high carb prescription CD kibble the kittens have to eat is good for him because it's high in fat and easy to digest and to just adjust the insulin. :banghead::arghh::spam: So his SS is a mess and we are on 7.5 units, looking at 8. His numbers are all over because some days he cooperates and mostly eats what he should, but on his picky days he gets some CD. :facepalm::facepalm::facepalm: I just don't know what to do. I am definitely cognizant of quality of life over quantity, but this just seems like giving up in a way. I love him so much, but I am seriously at the end of my rope with his diet. He acts the same whether his number is 75 or 375. So maybe the vets are right---I know it's not just a numbers game, but those ketone strips are pricey, and I worry about the damage to his organs. :blackeye: Oh well, on we trudge, I suppose. Nothing else to do.

I hope you are all doing well, and kitties are surfing safely and cooperating better than Jack. I will try to get on the board more often, but with increased vet costs, comes increased work hours, and less time for anything but cats and work. Please know you (and especially the kitties) are all always in my thoughts and prayers :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Jack, at the vet, showing his 'cattitude'

upload_2025-1-27_11-33-23.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-27_11-33-23.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-27_11-33-23.jpeg
    38 KB · Views: 122
Buddy's Story:

Buddy was a lovely, friendly, cat who was given to me by a neighbor/friend who had significant health issues, and was thrown out of her house by her nasty :spam: :spam::spam: sister. The only place she could find to live was with a roommate who did not allow pets. So, one day, she came knocking at my door, cat and crate in hand, asking if I could rescue him from the fate of the shelter. Buddy was used to being an only cat, and also to being an indoor-outdoor cat. Unfortunately, he was FIV+ and hated the other cats in the house. So, he lived in my guest room and bathroom. He had 2 windows, a huge cat tree, and toys galore. He was loved beyond measure, and his first owner would come to visit on a regular basis. He had started losing weight last year, but his bloodwork was fine as was the physical exam. The vet thought he was showing signs of the FIV at last. He had developed a heart condition a few years ago, but the atenolol controlled it nicely, and in fact, they were going to reduce his dose. Buddy always ate well, and loved treats. About a week before the end, he started eating less, and even the buffet of choices offered him did not appeal after a few days. I knew he was not in a good way, just by looking at him. He had one last visit with his 'first mom', was happy and purring. The next day we went to the vet and the xray confirmed a cancerous tumor in his intestines. I made the hard choice to say goodbye. We could have gone home with numerous meds; steroids, appetite stimulants, etc, and gotten a few more weeks, but at what cost? He hated the heart meds to begin with, and what would have been gained? What kind of quality of life would he have had for those weeks? He had a good day the day before and knew love up til the end. So, we said goodbye. He took up very little physical space in the house, but a huge hole is left in my heart. He had a larger than life personality, and I still can't walk into 'his' room without crying. For those of you who read Buddy's story, thank you. cat_wings>o

This is Buddy, before he came to live with me, on his 'grandma's' lap. She too has passed on, and this is how I like to think of him---over the Bridge, on Peggy's lap, purring loudly.

upload_2025-1-27_11-53-50.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-27_11-53-50.png
    upload_2025-1-27_11-53-50.png
    324.9 KB · Views: 102
Sable's update:

He is still losing weight, and is scheduled for his I-131 therapy on Feb.3. I am praying sooo hard we don't have weather they are forecasting; the hospital is almost 2 hours from where we live and I'm not sure we can make it in snow/rain/ice. Interestingly, his T4 is lower than when first diagnosed- it is 7.4 now, but was 9.2 back in early December. The vet said it's normal to fluctuate and can even fluctuate a few points over the course of the day. That I didn't realize, so going forward will always try to test at the same time of the day. His FT4 is over 100 now (no number, just +100) and was 93.4 back in Dec so that's higher. He still has a good attitude, despite eating and drinking like a maniac. I feel bad for him, and can't wait for this procedure. Tagging @Staci & Ivy as you asked for an update. Will keep you posted next week. Hugs to Ms Ivy!

Sable (L) and Jack (R) One of the only pics I have of Sable. He rushes the camera unless he's asleep, so pics are never more than a blur. I'll have to concentrate on getting a better one before he leaves for a week
 
Sable (L) and Jack (R) One of the only pics I have of Sable. He rushes the camera unless he's asleep, so pics are never more than a blur. I'll have to concentrate on getting a better one before he leaves for a week
Hi Christine I don't see the pic of Sable and Jack, but I found one you posted awhile ago
 
Oh Christine I'm so very sorry to hear about Buddy ,he was such a handsome boy. He sounds like he was such a loving kitty and he knew he was loved .
I'm crying with you just reading about Buddy
Fly high sweet boy you will be missed but never ever forgotten. :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Prayers for Sable for his I-131 therapy and that the weather will be ok and no snow storm. :bighug::bighug:
 
Oh (((Christine))) I am so sorry to hear of your loss of sweet Buddy. He was a really beautiful boy and sounds like such a sweet boy who enjoyed the life you gave him. I'm sorry his grandmother is gone, too.
You've had your share of sad losses. It's just so hard :(:(:(

I'm really hoping things get better with Jack. The pancreatitis attack must have been just awful. You are really a warrior, I don't know how you juggle all of the medical conditions and care for all of your herd. I have so much admiration for your strength and energy.:bighug::bighug:

He's a tough one but you manage his care with grace and smarts. Hang in there!!

Thanks for the update for Sable. I am praying it goes well and weather is not an issue! That's the last obstacle you need that day.
Please let me know how it goes. I hope his stay is very short at the clinic.

Loving the beautiful photos you have shared. Thank you for sharing your beautiful group with us.
Sending you much love and prayers for all good things and good health :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Christine, I am sorry to read about Buddy. So many losses. There were 3 just this month on the forum, Raven, Chispa, and Bella, and Kit and Mikan in December.
Buddy was beautiful, and so much loved too.
I hope Jack will decides he likes to eat something that is not too bad for him. Lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Sorry sorry you've had recent losses in your life. :bighug::bighug:. Good luck with the travel for the I-131.
have 2 vets telling me that the super high carb prescription CD kibble the kittens have to eat is good for him because it's high in fat and easy to digest and to just adjust the insulin.
Interesting, typically diet doesn't make a difference in feline pancreatitis. Older guidelines were that lower fat food is better.
the vet indicated he probably triggered the attack by not eating enough.
It's the other way around. Pancreatitis causes nausea with leads to not eating enough.
A Primer On Pancreatitis
 
Oh no, Christine -- I am so very sorry for your loss of beautiful Buddy. How lucky he was to find a home with you. I understand the hole in your heart, and I hope that in time it will feel less like a void and more like a place to store your most special memories.
Thank you for the beautiful photos. I'll be thinking of you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Christine, I am sorry to read about Buddy. So many losses. There were 3 just this month on the forum, Raven, Chispa, and Bella, and Kit and Mikan in December.
Buddy was beautiful, and so much loved too.
I hope Jack will decides he likes to eat something that is not too bad for him. Lots of :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Oh sad, I did not know Raven. Too much loss lately. Will add her to my prayer list. :bighug:
 
Sorry sorry you've had recent losses in your life. :bighug::bighug:. Good luck with the travel for the I-131.

Interesting, typically diet doesn't make a difference in feline pancreatitis. Older guidelines were that lower fat food is better.

It's the other way around. Pancreatitis causes nausea with leads to not eating enough.
A Primer On Pancreatitis
Thanks for the pancreatitis info! I don't know about the food- I don't know that THEY know...his bloodwork was good, I just don't know. Either way, the diet & appetite need to be addressed. I have an appetite stimulant on hand but don't like to rely on that. Thanks again for your input :bighug:
 
Oh no, Christine -- I am so very sorry for your loss of beautiful Buddy. How lucky he was to find a home with you. I understand the hole in your heart, and I hope that in time it will feel less like a void and more like a place to store your most special memories.
Thank you for the beautiful photos. I'll be thinking of you. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you. :bighug:
 
Back
Top