1/27 Cleo AMPS 62

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriscleo

Very Active Member
shot 15 min late to make sure she was rising.
yesterday afternoon's shot was 4.5 hrs late yet number was 195 and continued dropping all cycle. so either her shed was incredibly full or dose is too high. she never went below 53, tho, so she has not earned a dosecrease in my book.
because of steroid and dry food eating her dose was raised to 2u skinny a bit ago because she stopped having greens on lower doses and was trending higher. inappetance makes dosing tricky, tho. still, onco and IM vets both expressed concern that cleo needs to be more in green because of her cancer.

would appreciate any thoughts on how she's looking, spreadsheet wise. does her activity today look like dose is too high or shed is too full? happens periodically. she also has a very big shed normally but late shot normally causes high number at the next preshot, which didn't happen this time. she didn't eat a lot today but she mostly ate wet food (roasted FF + Merrick's Thanksgiving Day Dinner) and temptations 3x for snacks.
 
Nice AMPS!

Good morning Chris!
Are u around to monitor that number? A +1 to start.

By the way, not sure if u know this, but did u know u can delete those blank cells in ur ss?
I keep forgetting there's more SS in there :lol:
You can always make a note at the beginning - keep scrolling down there's more, or something.
Can't throw u any dose feedback, but just wondering if u'll be able to get any checks this morning.

I think Cleo is looking good thou!
 
Thanks, Ronnie. I'll be around to check her.
Don't want to remove those blank cells because I need to update that part! :) got so overwhelmed with 3 sick kitties and work that I didn't update spreadsheet but it needs to be done.
I expect Cleo's next preshot to be high, which normally happens after a late shot. We'll see, tho. Onset for us is usually around +1.5 so I'll check around then.
 
+1.5~116

nope, i know my baby. wouldn't have shot a 62 preshot except for the late shot yesterday afternoon.
don't think the lantus will be able to catch her today because of the shed depletion from yesterday. just giving prednisolone now and fluids in another half hr so i'll test again after that.
 
+4 ~ 99

had fluids about an hour after her shot. had a few snacks but not hungry. this is about half an hour before normal nadir so she's doing great this cycle considering the late shot yesterday.

+4.33 ~ acting wild and leaping around. WCR: happy kitty
 
+4~99

it's the specialty vets. her regular vets think diabetic cats should be between 170 and 250. :roll:
the specialty guys want her super regulated as much as possible so she has one less thing to deal with and we can focus on cancer treatment.
 
Really! Hooray for your specialty vets! I have the opposite experience. :roll: My regular vet (she knows me well) is fine with my management of Blaze's diabetes and her lower numbers, but the Ice Cream Maker at the vet school (when Blaze had an ultrasound for p-titis) about flipped when she saw all the green. Said since cats don't live that long we don't need to be concerned with tightly regulating them like we do humans. Skeery! That vet needed to be educated and I am not so sure I did it. I did tell them if you keep them in diabetic numbers they have no chance of remission and I got the blank look.
 
Re: +4 ~ 99

chriscleo said:
+4.33 ~ acting wild and leaping around. WCR: happy kitty

Awesome WCR! :-D

Looks to me like this new dose is working well for now. You may have to shave it in the future because of the 50's and 60's she is showing now that it has kicked in (sometimes those signal that a dose reduction number is coming up), but for now it is pretty. :smile:
 
PMPS 275

reaction to late shot yesterday afternoon plus some kibble (some inappetance).

yep, i'm hoping for a shave in the future, cassandra, but she was in the 200s way too often before i started going back up the scale. those 50s/60s make me think she needs to settle in this dose longer, and no need to go up again yet, but i'm not sure at all. appreciate your and others' thoughts regarding her recent numbers.

i have to pay more attention to how long it takes her shed to build back up and when low is about to hit again so i can figure out when i need to start playing with food or whatnot to keep her on a more even keel.

i like what the specialty vets said about getting her numbers lower BUT the other week i was in the waiting room with a woman whose dog was on levemir per prescription by harry's IM vet there. dog's numbers were bouncing all over and he was hospitalized repeatedly for ketones. jojo says dogs don't do well on lev, and i'm wondering what the vets were doing prescribing it for him. poor owner was in tears. they never told her about exercise and diet affecting BGs, either, so i'm glad i was there. SO, i'm guessing if you're an experienced diabetic owner your experience there is better than if you're new and need more guidance.
 
It is pretty amazing what even the IM specialists do and don't know. The IM vet when Gabby was hospitalized started her on Humulin N. My regular vet was really unhappy -- said it's better for dogs. The IM vet was great for the crisis but I'm glad he isn't Gabby's vet for long term management.

Great numbers for Cleo this morning. The bounce isn't quite as pretty, though!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top