1/26 Morris AMPS 369 PMPS 255 Jojo???

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brenda and Morris

Member Since 2009
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3953

Good morning LLanders! ~O)

Not a terribly good number here to start the day, especially since I took up all the bad food yesterday afternoon. He's eating on his own, not a lot, but some...EVO lc dry, some raw chicken, cooked chicken and lc canned FF and Merricks. I'd say he's eating about 3 Tablespoons of food a day and lots of water....not very much for a kitty his size but it looks to me like he has put on some weight.

He slept in the bed the entire night last night, which he hasn't done in years. o:-) I didn't have the heart to get him up at +8 to test but he got up himself at +9 so I tested him and he was 408...rebound from the 90 yesterday??? Hope so! And hope it clears quickly.... we'd like to see some green again today! haha_smiley

Again, he seems better each day so the thoughts, prayers and vines are helping. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

Glad your boy is feeling better. Your heart must have soared to have him in bed with you last night.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

Aww....good Morris...sleeping with his Mama....so sweet! :YMHUG:
that's good that he is eating...hope the amount is better today...
but it does sound as if he is feeling much better Brenda! :thumbup
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

Brenda you are doing such a fantastic job with Morris--So happy he's eating real food!! Hope he gets better & better!! and those sleepy beautful kitties--Hugs from us :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

While the number may be all that welcome, it all comes down to the cat.
And by Morris being on the bed, that act alone makes the down feelings about numbers fade.

It's good to hear that Morris is starting to eat better, on his own and good food.
Let's hope Morris keeps improving now, just a little bit every day.

Have yourself a great day, and scratches for Morris.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

Brenda, so glad Morris is eating a bit more each day (remember when we wanted them to not eat so darn much).

He's sleeping with you to let you know how much he loves all you do for him and he wants you to feel better too.
 
Re: 1/26 Morris AMPS 369

Amy and Pedro said:
Brenda, so glad Morris is eating a bit more each day (remember when we wanted them to not eat so darn much).
Yes, it's hard to believe I once had him on a diet...now the vettybean wants him to gain weight! grr_red

He's sleeping with you to let you know how much he loves all you do for him and he wants you to feel better too.
It really seems to be true that he realizes I am just trying to help him when I pry open his mouth and throw a pill down there, or even when I was syringe feeding him. He didn't avoid me or get mad at me...course he wasn't sleeping with me either, and I really appreciate that he is now...that way I don't have to wake up and wonder where he is and if he's OK, I can just go back to sleep. I-)

His being so sick has once again brought us closer together, just as the diabetes for (nearly) his entire life brought us closer together to begin with....I think I'm gonna cry! :cry: ;-)
 
Re: 1/26 Morris PMPS 255

PMPS is lower than AMPS but I still went ahead and increased the dose to .75u. He's switched all the way back to low carb now, and trying to get him on raw now that I found a local supplier. The raw is also supposed to be better for the bowel problem.

The puddingpoos continue although he is eating better each day. I decided to start him on the probiotics again and plan to take another stool sample to the vet on Friday for testing to see if the "mix" of good vs bad bacteria has changed any. He's had 3 days of pills and 5 days of transdermal Flagyl as well as the Panacur so I would think I'd see some firming up of the stool by now. Actually, it IS firmer...last week it was straight liquid and now it is pudding, but neither is good. Jojo, if you stop by, can you tell me if this is normal???? Will he have to complete the entire 20 days of Flagyl before I see improvement??? What else can I do???

Tomorrow is another day...hope all is well with you all!
 
((Brenda)) I'm glad to hear Morris is making progress. Each day sounds like a step forward.

I transitioned Gabby to raw a few months ago. Well, let me restate that...I switched her to raw. Given Morris' issues with liquipoo, I'd really suggest making a slow transition. Gabby did have problems with diarrhea after starting raw but it was an abrupt change vs. a transition because she really liked it! I beliebe Dr. Lisa's site discusses the transition. Once those couple of weeks passed, there were no poo problems. Be aware that there will be less poo since more of what's being eaten is being absorbed and there is less odor.

I initially purchased a frozen brand recommended on Dr. Lisa's site. My guys did not like Natural Instinct raw. I've started making my own. I buy a premix for the vitamins and supplements that are needed and just grind up chicken and freeze it in a measured out quantity. My guys still get bites of FF as snacks but their major meals are raw.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top