1/26 Max AMPS 377~PMPS 388

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning
5th cycle at 5.5

I need to give a little bit of a recap from last night.
+3 PMPS 348
+6 PMPS 130 (1:00am)

The first test at +6 gave me a reading of 88. It was a huge struggle with Max because he is not used to me testing him in he middle of the night. I redid the test and got the 130.
So maybe max had been getting low at night whichh some have suspected and questioned (even vet #2)
Could this by why he is bouncing AMPS? Why don't these numbers settle down a bit and even off.
I am questioning myself if I did not leave enough time between dose changes(increases) and that's why I keep chasing the high numbers. I think maybe these nightime blues started happening in the last few doses ( I hope)
I also wonder why blue barley pops , okay almost never, pops up during the day. I know nightime is typically lower but shouldn't I see better in the daytime.

WCR: Max was very happy to eat his breakfast. He fought one of his sisters of "his" chair so he can be tested. Then he stole DH chair at the kitchen table. He is claiming the house as his.
Oh I almost forgot. Yesterday when I came hoe from work, max was at water fountain and then all of a sudden, peed right there on the kitchen floor (and no there was no catnip) urine was tested last week and all is neagtive. I do not know why he does that.

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/26 Max AMPS 377

ah-ha!!! YES!! Someone mentioned it I think yesterday or so?

Other than kitties going lower at night while we sleep, possibly cuz it's quieter, not a lot of activity, just a possibility, I always kinda thought they feel more relaxed , you know?

Good catch for that +6 overnite Randi!!

Oh I just thought of something about the pee on the spot, maybe a bit of a behavioral issue? Since tests came back fine last week.
How's the litter box? does he share it? I'm assuming it gets cleaned regularly, is it in a private location for them?

I am so psyched about that +6 last nite!

Good luck today with the new vet!
 
Re: 1/26 Max AMPS 377

Ronnie & Luna said:
Good catch for that +6 overnite Randi!!

Oh I just thought of something about the pee on the spot, maybe a bit of a behavioral issue? Since tests came back fine last week.
How's the litter box? does he share it? I'm assuming it gets cleaned regularly, is it in a private location for them?

Well I had set my alarm to get up which it did not go off. I woke on my own and almost did not go down to check him. Boy I'm glad I did.

For the litter boxes. I have 4 in the house, for the 3 cats. All in different places.
I so have been down the behavior route, special cat attract litter, cleaned all the time.
The one he mostly uses is not what you would call "private" It is in the middle of my basement near the carpet he destroyed, but no one is really downstairs all day so it is private.
I will discuss this with vet #3 today. I have researched and discussed this with vet #1.
It is an extremely difficult topic and one of the highest reasons for cats to be put down or given up. I might have to call the cat communicator again and see what's up.
 
Re: 1/26 Max AMPS 377

Randi,
What I thought when I saw that awesome +6 number (well done Max!!) was food.

You know how we see others (not us yet) using food to level off drops that are below comfy - well, if this dropping is happening as we are all happily asleep, then there is no chance to offer food to level off the drop. Then in the morn, it's oh crap, high again. Just wondering is all; I could be way off if food is already being left overnite like I do for Shadoe. I can do that because Booboo would literally STARVE before she would even sniff at wet food.

Just thought I'd mention food.
 
Re: 1/26 Max AMPS 377

Randi & Max said:
I need to give a little bit of a recap from last night.
+3 PMPS 348
+6 PMPS 130 (1:00am)

The first test at +6 gave me a reading of 88. It was a huge struggle with Max because he is not used to me testing him in he middle of the night. I redid the test and got the 130.
[/url]

I am not sure exactly how this works or how quickly BG can rise under stress, but could it be possible that the 88 was the actual number, and the 130 was a result of some variation and stress. Maybe someone can enlighten us.

Great job on the lower numbers anyway you look at it.
 
Re: 1/26 Max AMPS 377

Quick note from tbp....

Nice catch last night!
Good luck with the vet today!
No worry about the dosecreases.... most people are sticklers about the protocol around here. If the protocol is followed, you DON'T have to worry about the dosecreases (unless you don't test, but that's a different story althogether....)

I'll come back later to visit again.
 
We did not get a lot of testing today tdue to our "vet Interview"
I am not surprised that Max was pretty in pink today. Hehas been hanging out at the water fountain and appetite is okay.
Action in the LB, not the kitchen floor at least.

Vet visit went pretty well. Still not sure what I want to do. He did not feel that Acro or IAA testing was needed yet and that his dose could be at 6.5u right now. he seemed very interested in the board and what we do here but maintains that controlling and remitting cats is a very tough battle. I told him that I am up for the challenge.
Clinical signs to him are extremely important (cats are just not numbers, right)

Tonight was 6th cycle at 5.5, but caught some blue last night.
Thinking of the dosecrease.
 
Randi & Max said:
Vet visit went pretty well. Still not sure what I want to do. He did not feel that Acro or IAA testing was needed yet and that his dose could be at 6.5u right now. he seemed very interested in the board and what we do here but maintains that controlling and remitting cats is a very tough battle. I told him that I am up for the challenge.
Clinical signs to him are extremely important (cats are just not numbers, right)

Tonight was 6th cycle at 5.5, but caught some blue last night.
Thinking of the dosecrease.

Right. Cats are not just numbers!
And I bet you ARE thinking about a dose increase. I would too. The blues are few and far between and the pinks are not particularly low. I know what I would do, what are you going to do?
 
CD and BigMac said:
Right. Cats are not just numbers!
And I bet you ARE thinking about a dose increase. I would too. The blues are few and far between and the pinks are not particularly low. I know what I would do, what are you going to do?

I plan on waking up at 1:00am for a +6, assuming I fall asleep before then and see what that number is, especially since I went easy on testing today.

I think I will go to 5.75 (increase the .25) in the morning. I'm afraid to do a .5 increase since there was a teeny, weeny blue in this cycle. Vet #2 still is expecting me to be at 5.u, vet I interviewd today said I could go to 6.6 now if I wanted.

So, is it .25 or .5 in the morning?
 
Darn, I wish I were there in Montreal - I could sneak in and test Max for u so u can sleep and go to work well-rested!
I could be the Test Fairy :lol:
 
I like your reasoning of .25u raise because you had a few blues. Otherwise yes, the .5 would be appropriate. Now wait for your +6 test to see what Max is doing tonight. I always hope for good surprises and maybe Max can show you something. (fingers & toes crossed for something pretty...)

Funny about the two vets and their expectations of what the dose should be right now. Well, you are kind of splitting the difference, so that works!
 
Ronnie I like the test fairy idea. Add it to your list
And you don't have to leave a loon under Max's
Pillow.



I always seem to get confused between holding the dose for
10 cycles and the .25 vs .5 increase. I need to reread those
rules.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top