1/26 Indy AMPS - 228 PMPS - 88

Jessica & Indy

Member Since 2025
Hello!

EDIT: Indy 1/25

I know my signature says SLGS but that is because I don't want Indy's numbers setting off the libre alarm at 50-55 on a consistent basis. I am wanting to go closer to TR. But I don't know how to go about that without worrying about the stupid alarm.

I feel like yesterday was a good day for him. He stayed in the green for 6ish hours yesterday which was awesome! It happened so early in the cycle I was a little scared he was going to drop too low but he maintained well.

Any advice is greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Not sure what your question is? Looks like you are following SLGS but using a lower reduction point. Which might be an OK idea given that you are using the Libre for testing. Did you manage to double check any of yesterday's greens with the Onetouch? When following SLGS, you hold the dose for 7 days, unless he drops under 90, or whatever your reduction point is.

Next time. you see a preshot you don't feel comfortable shooting, double check it with the Onetouch. Your spreadsheet says you did that on the 23rd. Was it exactly the same number on the BG meter? People following TR, and experienced people with data following SLGS would be able to shoot a 94. Lantus is great at giving you nice flat cycles when you shoot lower numbers. It's great you did get a +1 and a +2 after that 94, because those were probably before his onset and showed you what his numbers might have done for the first couple hours even if you had shot a larger dose.
 
I guess I do not understand when it is TR vs SLGS at this point since my reduction point is *almost* to the TR reduction. I read through the protocols again today and didn't understand when to do increases. For example, let's say today was his 7th day at 1u. His nadir was 105. Under SLGS he would stay on this dose because it was almost 100. But under TR I just read about nadirs under 200 after the first week. I feel like I am missing something important.

I did not confirm the greens yesterday. The 94 at pre shot time was actually 20 points lower than what the libre was reading at.
 
Follow up. Just re-read it again. So on TR we hold for 3-5 days and do increases until it goes too low (after 3-5 days with each dose)?
 
The length of time between increases is different between TR and SLGS. The length of time you hold or TR depends on the nadirs (plural) you are seeing. And if he gets tightly regulated, you stop increasing. He can also earn a reduction if he goes a week in mostly greens.

The 94 at pre shot time was actually 20 points lower than what the libre was reading at.
Important information, could you put that in the Remarks for that day instead of just saying you confirmed it. Everybody seems to have difference experiences when comparing Libre's and human meters, so good to know if the trend for you is Libre reading higher in lower numbers. Cause if so, then that reductions under 60 Libre might be dangerous, regardless of dosing method used.
 
Yeah it is weird. This is our first time using the libre 3+ due to an unforeseen issue with the 2+. The 2+ tended to be more on target with the one touch. We should be going back to the 2+ on Friday.
 
I wish I were in any position to give advice, but given how I've struggled to bring Gen's numbers down at all, I don't think I have any good tips on managing lower numbers with the Libre. (Maybe things will change once he's had his surgery ... and once we're hopefully able to switch to TR.) From @Monster's Mom's experience, it seems like if you successfully get kitty's cycles down into all blues and greens, the Libre could just lose efficacy altogether. I don't know if we've had any other cats go OTJ while using it, for comparison?
 
In my experience with the Libre 3 plus is the first few days it reads 20 to 30 pts higher, then starts to come closer together with the meter, but it would usually be higher than her meter check, unless it was in the 50s, then it would be reading lower. I have both readings in the SS, when I meter checked her it had a "C" and an "L" for the Libre next to it. If nothing next to it, such as all overnight numbers, it's a libre reading. That was more clarifying for me to look back and compare the numbers side by side. Personally, I wouldn't use the Libre to determine her dose. I always did a meter check at least 4 times a day. The Libre would just tell me what she was doing in between or while I was at work. With as much as they were failing on me, I just don't trust it without ear pokes. I was hoping her last one I put on her would last the full 2 weeks but it failed on day 5, like the most others did and now with her going OTJ I don't plan on using another one anytime soon.
The good news is I hear the 2 plus are more reliable and I imagine I would try to get one of those if I use one again and compare.
 
Looks like we will be shooting our lowest number yet. Wish us luck! We are at 105 and t-minus 30 minutes to shot time.
 
I'm not up much longer, but try to post your +1 and +2. Those'll give you an idea how the cycle will shape up and people watching a clue if you need help. Good luck.
 
He has had access to his food since we gave him his shot. Was not able to confirm the +2 with the Onetouch. It is 1am and I don't have my contacts in....lol. Indy is acting normal though and happily ate. It is now reading 74.
 
He's giving you an active cycle rather than heading up from an end-of-cycle nadir like he usually does. They do like to keep us on our toes!
 
I did not confirm the greens yesterday. The 94 at pre shot time was actually 20 points lower than what the libre was reading at.
Hi Jessica, I agree, if you get a lower bag than you are used to, it’s always good to double check.
Especially since you are using a different meter than you are used to.
And be sure to put both numbers in your cell
Such as:
94 L/ 74 O
(Or however you’d like so it’s clear)
I would be cautious since the Libre seems to read differently than you are used to with the Libre 2.
 
Good news, the alarm didn't go off again.

Now I just have to decide whether to hold the dose like TR or take the reduction because the alarm went off.
 
Now I just have to decide whether to hold the dose like TR or take the reduction because the alarm went off.
Since she is on a diet of LC wet and you are monitoring enough for TR, it might be a good idea to follow TR. She's looking like she wants to get with the program - flatter cycles, more greens etc. Would help to hold the dose.
 
With the libre 2+
Do you take reductions based on the Libre or a blood test?

I did it with that, because it was more accurate. If it has been during the day, then I would have done a blood test. This 3+ is weird. It has been reading higher than the blood test the two times I tested.

I am able to barely get one ear prick test done with Indy ....he hates having his ears messed with and it takes me a good 5-10 minutes to get a test done. I am just stubborn and make it happen.
 
Back
Top