1/26 Angel's amps~318,+6~78,pmps~151

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lynn and Angel

Active Member
search.php?search_id=egosearch

Looks like Angel ate almost nothing overnight...left out food was barely nibbled. Ate well this am when he got some fortiflora sprinkles. That stuff is such an enticement for all my cats.

I've been thinking about something... I get at least one tiny bubble every time I draw out my Lantus. Sometimes I have an extra hard time removing it and perhaps I get too aggressive with my thumping and jiggling. I'm wondering if I'm ever messing up the Lantus structure - after treating the carts so protectively and delicately and then to aggitate that tiny amt in the syringe might be damaging and explain some of Angel's inconsistencies. I noticed that last night I spent a long time getting out a bubble and then his numbers just went up. He should have been breaking rebound and coming down. I was so careful this morning with it. I'm probably being over analytical but we do try and think of everything to explain what's going on with our cats!
 
Re: 1/26 Angel's amps~318

Lynn and Angel said:
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/search.php?search_id=egosearch

Looks like Angel ate almost nothing overnight...left out food was barely nibbled. Ate well this am when he got some fortiflora sprinkles. That stuff is such an enticement for all my cats.

I've been thinking about something... I get at least one tiny bubble every time I draw out my Lantus. Sometimes I have an extra hard time removing it and perhaps I get too aggressive with my thumping and jiggling. I'm wondering if I'm ever messing up the Lantus structure - after treating the carts so protectively and delicately and then to aggitate that tiny amt in the syringe might be damaging and explain some of Angel's inconsistencies. I noticed that last night I spent a long time getting out a bubble and then his numbers just went up. He should have been breaking rebound and coming down. I was so careful this morning with it. I'm probably being over analytical but we do try and think of everything to explain what's going on with our cats!


Hi Lynn,
don't know if u have practiced with some of the used syringes, working onthe technique to get the bubbles out, but that may help.

Also, if u can, draw in a bit extra juice so u have a bit of wiggle room to tap out the bubbles. I know I could get away with a little bit of a bubble, with light tapping, I don't think I've ever heard of ruining ur lantus by tapping too much, I guess if u were standing there for over 1/2 hour trying to tap it out..
if u can afford to re-do a fresh syringe after several attempts to tap out annoying bubbles, then go start a new one with a fresh syringe.

Hope Angel eats a bit more today.
Have a good day Lynn :razz:
 
Re: 1/26 Angel's amps~318

Good point - I have that problem as well sometimes with the air bubble. The general recommendation is to draw a tiny bit more air in the syringe AFTER you have drawn out the insulin, give one sharp finger-flick tap, and twist the syringe as you slowly push the air out. I do sometimes have to flick more than once, now you have me pondering! Sometimes when I cannot get the tiny air bubble out I will compensate by leaving a bit more insulin in the syringe.
 
Re: 1/26 Angel's amps~318

sorry lynn, no advice here on the bubble tapping protocol. Just wanted to say I understand trying to find something that could be the reason why our kitties numbers are always so high. Hope angel comes down for you today!
 
Re: 1/26 Angel's amps~318,+6~78

Quick run home at lunch time and we have green! And he demanded some outside time while I grab something to eat.

And Tammy and Roni, thanks...all the tips you mentioned I've been doing for almost a year... I just tend to think that maybe I tap to aggressively and impatiently sometimes. I also think maybe I draw in too much extra air leaving more deadspace at the top to squeeze out than I really need. Anyway, note to self to be more gentle.
 
1/26 Angel's pmps~151

Looking good so far starting the 3rd cycle of his decrease. My college daughter is popping home for a quick visit and bringing a male friend. We're going out to eat in about an hour so not sure what time spot check will be. Since he's Angel he is out in the back yard right now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top