1/25 Penny AMPS 404 +4/236 +6/238 help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Robyn and Penny

Member Since 2013
I've been holding off on a dose increase because I felt she needed some time to level off but even based on her nadirs in the 100s, I still need to increase, but I feel like she's bouncing like a beach ball! What would you do? SS in signature.

Just saw the last comment about bringing her down a little before increasing again. I was thinking of going back to 1u and holding for a few days to see what happens. I feel like her liver just does not want to help her pancreas and kidneys. Can't we have some unity? lol

Here's her previous thread:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/penny-amps-395-3-5h-256-6h-236.131934/#post-1358760
 
Oops I've posted in the previous thread, here's what I said:

I don't think that's what Kay was suggesting, just giving you an example of what she does with Mikey. You're not seeing anything to suggest a decrease but half the picture is missing. You need to be getting more night tests to see what Penny is doing before any sound decisions can be made. Most people try to at least get one before they go to bed.

Kay wasn't suggesting a reduction for Penny

Haha you are right about the liver not being a friend in this situation, but in it's defence it thinks it is doing the right thing - you just need to reeducate him :)
 
I tried having a talk with her liver today! lol!!

I took a few before I go to bed, which is around +4, so maybe I will again tonight or tomorrow. Should I hold off on the increase till she levels out for more than a stinkin day?

I re-read Kay's comment and yeah, I misunderstood. I was thinking I increased her to 1.25u before letting her level out at 1u so wasn't sure if I should start over from there. Ugh...she was not this hard to regulate the last time!
 
It can be harder second time around :mad:

I just noticed from the comments in your spreadsheet that your using levemir not lantus (interesting because her numbers look lantusy!) it would be helpful to add that info to your signature.

I would hold the dose get some of those before bed +4s in the next couple of cycles (and forever after!) and then take it from there. With the additional data one of the levemir gurus will be able to help you formulate an appropriate plan.

At this stage of the game with Penny I wouldn't be waiting for her to level out before increasing just follow the protocol standard, but to do that you do need some night data too. If it turns out she needs the protocol adjusted somewhat that will come out in due course. It's normal for them to bounce around in the early stages so I don't think you're seeing anything that says mess with the protocol at this point.

ETA: just had a look at her first spreadsheet - she was indeed wondercat and very easy to get OTJ! I think she'll make you work harder this time ;)
 
Last edited:
I thought I had Lev in! I will update my signature lol Thanks VM!

She does look Lantus-y, don't she? Her liver is really giving me a run for my money! lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top