1/25 Miss Kitty AMPS 403; +3 323; + 5.5 194... PMPS 129/138/145/154@+13; +1-173; +2-134; +3-98; +4-115; +6-148

Olivia & Miss Kitty

Member Since 2025
UPDATE: After 20 minutes she was up to 138. After 40 minutes total she is up to 145. Safe to say she’s tending up? Should I give a reduced dose based on how far she “normally” drops? ( I know some days lately she’s flatter than others).

Ok. I am shocked. I'm not sure what happened this afternoon (I wasn't home but felt comfortable leaving when her +5.5 was in the high 100s, it usually doesn't drop much after that).

Her AMPS was 403 and her last BG check was 194 at +5.5. I don't know if she continued to drop and got back up to 129 or if she is just still dropping. But I am stalling to find out.

She has not been interested in eating much today, honestly. I did plan to go out to find appetite stimulant today but the store didn't have any. Turns out she isn't not hungry... my husband (not being as educated about this) fed her a can of the "grilled in gravy" cans from our hypo stash and now that's all she wants. She IS hungry now and I did grab some of the FF savory centers because I was told they are low carb. But again, we're stalling.

I know I am looking to see which direction her BG is going. I know to stall again for a bit if her BG is still going down... but how long do I do that? At what point do I determine it's OK to not give her the shot? I am nervous that 129 is so low consider how much she drops from 300s and 400s on a normal day :(

Previous forum posts:
1/23 Miss Kitty AMPS 285; +1-315; +2-238; +3-177; +4-140; +5-121; +6-112; +7-142
1/21 Miss Kitty PMPS 216; +3-131; +6-137
1/20 Miss Kitty - PMPS 209; +1-220; +2-157; +3-124; +4-114; +5-141
 
Last edited:
I am nervous that 129 is so low consider how much she drops from 300s and 400s on a normal day :(
You can't think like this (I understand it's hard) but generally, when shooting lower numbers, there isn't the big "swing" from high to low.

Can you test tonight as long as may be necessary? Do you have everything you might need for a hypo? If the answers are yes to both, I'd go ahead and give the 1.25

If you want to see what shooting a low number looks like, feel free to look at China's spreadsheet (she was my first diabetic) or Garfield's (my current). China's is the best. She was the most tightly controlled cat on this board for quite some time. China's SS 2018

ETA: You can order Forti Flora on Chewy, Amazon and lots of other pet websites.
 
Last edited:
You can't think like this (I understand it's hard) but generally, when shooting lower numbers, there isn't the big "swing" from high to low.

Can you test tonight as long as may be necessary? Do you have everything you might need for a hypo? If the answers are yes to both, I'd go ahead and give the 1.25
It’s going to be difficult to stay up and test often, as I’ve got a very busy work day tomorrow. I do have some HC food, some karo syrup, and plenty of test strips/lancets.

Unfortunately I don’t know if I’d be able to safely get to an emergency vet overnight or early morning if I needed to with the threat of black ice on the roads here.

So it’s a pretty low chance she could go critically hypo?
 
So it’s a pretty low chance she could go critically hypo?
Unfortunately, there's no way to answer that 100% truthfully, but generally, shooting low numbers is how Lantus works best! Since her glucose is heading up and it's about an hour? past her usual shot time, I think it would be fine. Get a +1 and +2 and go from there. A lot of times that +2 can almost predict where she's going to go later in the cycle so you can make a decision to either stay up or set an alarm.

On your spreadsheet, you'd put ## @ +13 in the PMPS cell....that tells us what number you actually shot and that you stalled for 1 hour. You can leave the other numbers in the PMPS cell too, just put the latest number (the one you actually shoot) last.
 
Unfortunately, there's no way to answer that 100% truthfully, but generally, shooting low numbers is how Lantus works best! Since her glucose is heading up and it's about an hour? past her usual shot time, I think it would be fine. Get a +1 and +2 and go from there. A lot of times that +2 can almost predict where she's going to go later in the cycle so you can make a decision to either stay up or set an alarm.

On your spreadsheet, you'd put ## @ +13 in the PMPS cell....that tells us what number you actually shot and that you stalled for 1 hour. You can leave the other numbers in the PMPS cell too, just put the latest number (the one you actually shoot) last.
Thank you!

I know this is probably because she’s been on a hunger strike to get that grilled in gravy food again, but I’ve been getting increasingly optimistic with her numbers.
 
Don't forget...because you shot an hour late tonight, you need to adjust your shot times tomorrow. You can shoot 15 minutes early per cycle, or 30 minutes once a day to get back to your chosen shot time.
 
I’m getting numbers every hour. I’ve hardly slept so far :/ I know I’m overreacting, but still nervous.

And it was closer to 1 unit. Still more than 1 but closer to 1 than 1.25. I put it in as 1 with a more. I’m not sure what to put in there… 1.12? That’s about halfway between.

Also I just gave her some of her “midnight snack” after the +3 reading.
 
Last edited:
Sometimes we refer to those as fat/skinny doses, so a 1f.
98 is a safe number. She’s having a nice little surf in the blues/greens! I know it’s a little nerve racking when they begin going a bit lower, but I think she’s fine.
Was her snack LC?
I would test her again at +4.
Remember: food is the tool we use to bump them up when they get into lower numbers.
 
Last edited:
I put it in as 1 with a more. I’m not sure what to put in there…

A tiny bit over is a "fat" dose, a tiny bit under is a "skinny".....so you gave 1F

Looks like the snack at +3 was all she needed! See how nicely she's surfing in those good, healing numbers? That's what we want! Keeping her in healing numbers long enough for her pancreas to (hopefully) get back to full time work!
 
A tiny bit over is a "fat" dose, a tiny bit under is a "skinny".....so you gave 1F

Looks like the snack at +3 was all she needed! See how nicely she's surfing in those good, healing numbers? That's what we want! Keeping her in healing numbers long enough for her pancreas to (hopefully) get back to full time work!
I updated the spreadsheet. Sorry for my delay in response.

Thank you for providing your guidance tonight!

I think we’re all good now, so I’m going to go ahead and go back to sleep and I think she’s fine until morning.
 
Sometimes we refer to those as fat/skinny doses, so a 1f.
98 is a safe number. She’s having a nice little surf in the blues/greens! I know it’s a little nerve racking when they begin going a bit lower, but I think she’s fine.
Was her snack LC?
I would test her again at +4.
Remember: food is the tool we use to bump them up when they get into lower numbers.
Hi there! I was hoping some of her snack (it was LC) would just slow the drop rather than kick it back up.

She’s trending back up again after it. And now 140s at +6. I think we’re clear for tonight so I’m going to get some better sleep if I can.

One day she’ll have that low PS in the morning and we can do this during the day rather than all night.
 
Back
Top