1/25 Dillan Newly Diagnosed PMPS 437

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dillan420

Member Since 2010
Hello Everyone,
First of all I would like to thank everyone on this forum for all of their information and input that they have all compiled. This site has been my one source for a quick education on feline diabetes since Dillan was diagnosed with diabetes on Friday. When the vet checked the BG it had a reading of 29.7 (534) and the vet asked for us to leave Dillan there over night. In the morning when we came back, we were told Dillan's reading before his morning insulin was 23.7 (427). Since then we have been giving dillan 2 units of Lantus twice a day and have switched him from Hill's C/D (because he had crystals form 2 years ago, we kept him on Hill's C/D in order to avoid the chance of blockage again so we did not mind paying the extra in food in order to avoid the $600 vet bill) over to Hill's M/D. After reading the information on here I think I might be talking to the vet on wednesday, when we bring dillan in for his follow up, about a good wet food to switch over to.
We were finally successful in getting a new BG reading level tonight, but it was still high at 24.3 (437). I think what might have happened was that we double fed him in the morning so a full 1/2 cup in the morning instead of 1/4 cup of M/D. Does anyone know how much of an impact that this would possibly have on his BG levels? I realize that the best time to test is +6 Hours to see what his lowest BG level is on Lantus but I wanted to compare it to the vet's tests which were taken 2-3 days ago. But ever since we started giving him insulin injections his increased pissing and drinking stopped and he has seemed more alert therefore I think that the test tonight was alot higher then its been in the last couple days. So I was just wondering if anyone knows or could guess at how much a double feed would affect a BG level? Thanks again everyone for the continued support. The good thing tonight though I guess was that the first home test was completed :-D and I guess that I won't be going to the vet tomorrow.
 
Hi, WELCOME! and congratulations on completing your first test :-D
I really am kind of a newbie myself(4 months) and off to bed right now but wanted to give a welcome to you and Dillan and let you know that A)..you were noticed and B)..you will be getting so many answers to these questions, and many more...probably in a much more articulate way than I could give them. Plus...how to set up a spread sheet for Dillan and other ways to feel at home in Lantus Land. So sit tight, you will be getting your answers. Most important is that you are home testing and that you are here !

Nice to meet you!

Caryl and Alex :razz:
 
Hi there,
welcome to Lantus Land! Gonna throw some info at you but take your time digesting it all in.
We'd like to know what we can call you - first name?
Glad you found the board and that you have begun treatment!
Would you be able to tell us where you are located? Country/State/Province is fine.
Also one more question, Dillan's current weight?

I've included some links, these are Lantus Land "stickies" - u will find them up top, please read them when u have a chance. We also have a few other information threads that you will see highlighted with the "star" icon, please read those too.

Here in Lantus Land we follow the Tilly Protocol, which has worked well for many kitties! I've included the link also.

The last one is FDMB Health Links, including Dr Lisa's website on Feline Nutrition -lots of good valuable information to absorb in there.
You will find Janet & Binky's Food charts really helpful to help u make choices on canned food varieties.

Please do not make the food switch right away - you'll want to slowly transition Dillan, a sudden switch to wet food from dry can cause sudden BG drops.
Dry food will stay in cats system longer and it takes longer to clear out - and will keep BG levels high.

Glad you are home testing too! You'll want to set up a spreadsheet in Google Documents, instructions can be found in the Tech forum. As well as instructions for creating a profile.

Please read and continue to ask questions, in this forum we keep one thread (also known as a "condo") per cat,per day.
Anytime you have a reply or u add a reply yourself, your thread gets bumped to the top.

Take a look around at other "condos" and you will also see how everyone does their daily threads.

New to the group
viewforum.php?f=14

Storage shed
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=150

Tilly Protocol
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1581

Health links including Dr Lisa's Feline Nutrition/Transitioning from dry food/Janet & Binky's Food Charts/Hypo Tool Kit/Hometesting
viewforum.php?f=14

Others will be along thru the day to help you out!
We hope to see u posting often and we look forward to meeting Dillan and yourself! cat_pet_icon
 
Hi and welcome to Lantus Land!

I second everything Ronnie/Luna said.
Tizon had crystals too and after you read www.catinfo.org you'll likely be happy to switch food.
There is a lot to read, but please read it all and feel free to ask questions.

Also... worth mentioning, please make sure that you get yourself a hypo kit (also link in the stickies). A couple of cans of high carb wet food (like fancy feast grilled variety) is what you need.

See you around.
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!!

Everyone will tell you to "read the stickys." They really do give you the basics of the dosing protocol we use, the conventions for posting, links to the slang we use here, how to handle Lantus, and much more. The front end of this learning curve is overwhelming so the stickys are a good reference point.

Dillan420 said:
We were finally successful in getting a new BG reading level tonight, but it was still high at 24.3 (437). I think what might have happened was that we double fed him in the morning so a full 1/2 cup in the morning instead of 1/4 cup of M/D. Does anyone know how much of an impact that this would possibly have on his BG levels?
It sounds like you are feeding dry food. If this is the case, even if it is a relatively low carbohydrate (LC) dry food, it will still have an impact on blood glucose (BG) levels. The dry M/D is 13% carb. We encourage giving your cat a food that is less than 10% carbohydrate -- and most of us are probably feeding a less than 5% LC canned diet. In addition, dry food takes a considerably long time to be processed out of your cat's system. The link to the website by Lisa Pierson, DVM on feline nutrition is an incredible resource on what to feed and why. We are pretty adamant about feeding canned food unless there is a compelling reason not to. The link to Janet & Binky's Food Charts will give you a breakdown of the carbs in most of the popular canned as well as dry foods. A double helping of LC wet food may cause a food spike but with dry, it will cause a considerable spike that will take some time to drop.

I hope you will continue to post. There is information in the Tech Forum about how to set up a spreadsheet (SS) and how to link it to your signature. Having a SS will let you keep all of the information from your home testing in one convenient (and color coded!) place and it will allow you to share it with all of us here if you want feedback on dosing or any other issues that may come up. If you click on any of our posts, you will see the link to our kitties' SSs.
 
Hi, and welcome to LL!! I am no expert so won't give any advice on any of the comments... the other comments are from the folks in the know. This place is great - you'll get all the help you need. All here are so supportive. You are off to a great start!!

welcome aboard!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top