1/25 Chloe lab results in, pancreatitis?

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Roberta and Chloe, Jan 25, 2021.

  1. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
  2. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    looks like I should raise the dose now
     
  3. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    You are following SLGS, which indicates that you hold the dose for 7 days (unless a reduction is earned), followed by a curve to determine whether to adjust the dose.
     
    tiffmaxee likes this.
  4. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
  5. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    You know what Tanya said is right. ;)
     
  6. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  7. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Of course. You might want to remove that link.
     
  8. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    My Drive - Google Drive
    If you open the link, it goes to the email. Click on the attachment icon to see the attachments. Is there some way to get it to go on the tabs page without having to copy in the results manually?
     
  9. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    No. You need to enter everything manually. Make sure that your ranges match the ones on the tab. I’ll look at your labs. It went to gmail and there were quite a few so I thought it was an error.

    ,I can’t open it. I get a 404 error.
     
  10. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    okay, I'll just do the pancreatitus test for now.
     
  11. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Chloe - email removed by moderator for security reasons.
    It was a PCL test and I can't find that in TABS
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 25, 2021
  12. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
  13. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    Finally! I had to convert it to PNG or PDS or whatever. The paragraph I'm referring to is near the bottom. PrecisionPSL = 46. What are the clinical signs of pancreatitis?
    @tiffmaxee
     
  14. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Her white count is high also which can be from inflammation since it’s likely she could have pancreatitis. Symptoms are different from cat to cat and even episode to episode. Max became inappetent due to nausea. Many cats are in pain. Some have diarrhrea and some vomit. Sometimes people say their cat just isn’t acting right. For nausea I gave Max ondansetron mostly but sometimes cerenia. It’s best to feed lots of small meals instead of big ones. There’s a great pancreatitis handbook that Marje put together. It could explain Chloe’s rising bg.
     
  15. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
  16. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    View attachment 59531
    If you look at her SS, her PMPS was over 500 so I thought it was the stress from the vet visit. She seems a bit unsteady on her legs recently and sits in the loaf position a lot, which may indicate pain.
     
  17. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    That probably is pain. You might need to get pain medication from your vet. I used buprenorphine. Others use it and gabapentin. What did your vet suggest you give her?
     
  18. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Chloe was at the vet for the facial abscess too right? @tiffmaxee

    How is that healing up Roberta?
     
    Roberta and Chloe likes this.
  19. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Yes. I forgot that. It explains the high white count.
     
  20. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    It seems to be healing up well. The holes are dried up. The vet gave her an antibiotic shot. The vet was worried about her weight loss, but didn't mention pancreatitis. I split one 5.5 can of cat food between Chloe and Fuzma and neither of them finished their portion. Every so often, I take Chloe's bowl and wet it a bit and scape it to the middle. She'll eat a couple more bites. I will take her BG again in a couple hours. It's in the blue right now.
     
    thebigfuzz likes this.
  21. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    Glad the abscess area is healing well. Sounds good on the next test too.
     
  22. Olive & Paula

    Olive & Paula Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2015
    Pancreatitis looks very likely, and infection somewhere. Did Dr give any meds for home?
     
  23. Roberta and Chloe

    Roberta and Chloe Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2020
    no, she said the shot was enough. But now Chloe is hypo.
    @Olive & Paula @tiffmaxee
     
  24. thebigfuzz

    thebigfuzz Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2012
    I hope Chloe stayed up and is ok this morning? I’m glad to see you tested a few times overnight, but if you start getting a regular +2 test, I wonder if you can’t catch an active cycle warning before she goes so low again.

    A 0.25 reduction was earned and should be taken this morning.
     
    Roberta and Chloe likes this.

Share This Page