1/24 Karamelle AMPS 289 +4 245 +9 206 PMPS 155 +3 108 +4 96

Glad to see your post today.

Please don’t take it personally that you didn’t receive any replies yesterday. Sometimes that happens … doesn’t mean folks don’t care or aren’t watching. I looked in on you a couple of times but didn’t have anything to say … and opted to wait for today’s post rather than bumping yesterday’s to the top of the list.

Good job getting in the additional tests throughout the cycles. They will help you see what is happening and guide the dosing decisions. Scritches to Karamelle. :cat:
 
Nice to see more blue preshots showing up now.:cool:

Sorry you didn't have comments yesterday. Sometimes people look in and don't see questions. You can also bump up your post with a status update later in the day. That'll move the thread up the list on the forum.

And finally, you'll find that if you stop by on other people/cats threads, they'll stop by and see you. And if you read/respond to some of the other relatively new people, you might find they are asking the same questions or expressing similar concerns.
 
Karamelle threw up and small amount of bile before her PMPS and wouldnt eat after. I syringe fed her about 5 cc of Fancy Feast and gave her Cerenia and Mirataz. Hoping she will feel better. I did go ahead and give her the PM shot as scheduled. I will try and test as far out tonight as I can. +4 was pushing it last night. Its late for me to be up. At least she isnt super low to begin with but she did drop into blue after being in yellow all day. It could be she hasnt eaten as well today so hopefully the meds will help.
 
Nice to see more blue preshots showing up now.:cool:

Sorry you didn't have comments yesterday. Sometimes people look in and don't see questions. You can also bump up your post with a status update later in the day. That'll move the thread up the list on the forum.

And finally, you'll find that if you stop by on other people/cats threads, they'll stop by and see you. And if you read/respond to some of the other relatively new people, you might find they are asking the same questions or expressing similar concerns.
Thank you. Everything is all so new that I dont feel real qualified to say anything to anyone else. But I will make an effort to just comment something. I did actually comment on one persons thread that I thought was new, but she told me she wasnt new (just had a newly diagnosed cat), so I wouldnt really be of any help for anyone that knows what they are doing.
 
Even if you stop by and support/sympathize about things (such as bouncing) it helps. You don't need to provide help just yet.

Sorry about the bile throw up. Hope she keeps second dinner down.
 
  • Like
Reactions: JoM
@JoM I was just peeking in on your PM cycle and saw that Karamelle has dropped to 108 at +3. A dropping BG at +2 or +3 can be a clue that you’re going to have an “active” cycle — i.e., BG might continue moving downward and additional testing is warranted. (A flat yellow cycle can also sometimes be a clue that an active cycle is coming up).

Did you feed at +3 and is she keeping food down? Is there any chance you can get another test in this cycle to see whether the BG continues to drop and where it might bottom out?
 
Hi Jo, I hope Karamelle had a good cycle last night after she puked and the +3 lower number. Wishing you both a safe surf today :cat:
 
@JoM I was just peeking in on your PM cycle and saw that Karamelle has dropped to 108 at +3. A dropping BG at +2 or +3 can be a clue that you’re going to have an “active” cycle — i.e., BG might continue moving downward and additional testing is warranted. (A flat yellow cycle can also sometimes be a clue that an active cycle is coming up).

Did you feed at +3 and is she keeping food down? Is there any chance you can get another test in this cycle to see whether the BG continues to drop and where it might bottom out?
She wasnt eating well after the shot. I did do a +4 (It was 96) and was kind of panicking so I gave her some high carb dry but remembered that it doesnt work as fast. I gave her some Merrick Purrfect Bistro Duck 16%. This morning her AMPS, which i did early was 383. sigh.
What does that mean to have an active cycle? Should I be doing anything different?
 
What does that mean to have an active cycle? Should I be doing anything different?

an insulin cycle is the 12 hours from one shot to the next. Sometimes a cycle is pretty boring, not much movement in the numbers. This is often called an "in-active" cycle due to the lack of activity in the BG numbers.

The opposite of that is an "active" cycle where the insulin is dropping the BG more quickly or further and as the caregiver, you have to be more vigilant. Possibly test more frequently, monitor closely.



Regarding this morning's AMPS that is almost certainly a bounce from hitting that green 97 last night. Curious, why give high carb food at that number? With SLGS, a 97 is not normally a number that requires intervention with food. Every Cat Is Different of course, and you know your kitty better. Definitely a situation where I would have wanted to get another test in 30 minutes to an hour if it were me, and if you had to get to bed then giving some HC might be what you had to do.


-Kyle
 
an insulin cycle is the 12 hours from one shot to the next. Sometimes a cycle is pretty boring, not much movement in the numbers. This is often called an "in-active" cycle due to the lack of activity in the BG numbers.

The opposite of that is an "active" cycle where the insulin is dropping the BG more quickly or further and as the caregiver, you have to be more vigilant. Possibly test more frequently, monitor closely.



Regarding this morning's AMPS that is almost certainly a bounce from hitting that green 97 last night. Curious, why give high carb food at that number? With SLGS, a 97 is not normally a number that requires intervention with food. Every Cat Is Different of course, and you know your kitty better. Definitely a situation where I would have wanted to get another test in 30 minutes to an hour if it were me, and if you had to get to bed then giving some HC might be what you had to do.


-Kyle
As this is all new, Im learning. I really dont know what Im doing but with some trial and error, maybe I'll figure it all out at some point. Thanks for your response. Everyones opinions help a lot!!! I was at the vet with another cat yesterday afternoon and showed the SS to the vet. He was very happy with her numbers and said typically he likes to see them between 100-300. He didnt want to see anything in the green. I know you guys strive for lower, so I just need to learn more and work thru this the best I can. Maybe the longer I test and look for patterns, i will understand it better. Its tough for me to test in the middle of the night. I dont sleep well as it is and if I have to get up, it makes it worse. Thats why I fed the high carb food, in case she was going to drop lower. She didnt eat much of it. I dont really understand why its so high this morning.
 
I dont really understand why its so high this morning.

I'm sorry I used the term bounce as if you know everything already! shame on me.

a "bounce" is when a kitty sees some extra low numbers that the little kitty body is not used to seeing. That green 97 last night is a perfect example. After a lower number like that, often a cat's body will release hormones and things which pump up the BGs, it is a natural sort of self-defense mechanism of the feline body. Eventually, after enough time on insulin most cats' bodies get used to the lower numbers and stop doing this.

You'll see members posting about a bounce "clearing" -- this when the BGs settle back down and the body stops trying to pump up the BG. This can take a few days, see below.

Here is the official definition from the FDMB Glossary:

BOUNCE: When a cat’s BG numbers drop into a low range, drop fast, or drop into a range the cat is no longer used to, the liver and pancreas may respond by releasing a stored form of glucose along with counterregulatory hormones. This causes numbers to spike back upward. It can take up to 3 days/6 cycles for a bounce to clear.
 
Back
Top