JoM
Member Since 2023
Yesterday, although I received no replies. 1/23 Karamelle AMPS 307 +6 292 +9 244 PMPS 250 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB +4 after PMPS was 266
Staying yellow so far today.
Staying yellow so far today.

Thank you. Everything is all so new that I dont feel real qualified to say anything to anyone else. But I will make an effort to just comment something. I did actually comment on one persons thread that I thought was new, but she told me she wasnt new (just had a newly diagnosed cat), so I wouldnt really be of any help for anyone that knows what they are doing.Nice to see more blue preshots showing up now.
Sorry you didn't have comments yesterday. Sometimes people look in and don't see questions. You can also bump up your post with a status update later in the day. That'll move the thread up the list on the forum.
And finally, you'll find that if you stop by on other people/cats threads, they'll stop by and see you. And if you read/respond to some of the other relatively new people, you might find they are asking the same questions or expressing similar concerns.

She wasnt eating well after the shot. I did do a +4 (It was 96) and was kind of panicking so I gave her some high carb dry but remembered that it doesnt work as fast. I gave her some Merrick Purrfect Bistro Duck 16%. This morning her AMPS, which i did early was 383. sigh.@JoM I was just peeking in on your PM cycle and saw that Karamelle has dropped to 108 at +3. A dropping BG at +2 or +3 can be a clue that you’re going to have an “active” cycle — i.e., BG might continue moving downward and additional testing is warranted. (A flat yellow cycle can also sometimes be a clue that an active cycle is coming up).
Did you feed at +3 and is she keeping food down? Is there any chance you can get another test in this cycle to see whether the BG continues to drop and where it might bottom out?
What does that mean to have an active cycle? Should I be doing anything different?
As this is all new, Im learning. I really dont know what Im doing but with some trial and error, maybe I'll figure it all out at some point. Thanks for your response. Everyones opinions help a lot!!! I was at the vet with another cat yesterday afternoon and showed the SS to the vet. He was very happy with her numbers and said typically he likes to see them between 100-300. He didnt want to see anything in the green. I know you guys strive for lower, so I just need to learn more and work thru this the best I can. Maybe the longer I test and look for patterns, i will understand it better. Its tough for me to test in the middle of the night. I dont sleep well as it is and if I have to get up, it makes it worse. Thats why I fed the high carb food, in case she was going to drop lower. She didnt eat much of it. I dont really understand why its so high this morning.an insulin cycle is the 12 hours from one shot to the next. Sometimes a cycle is pretty boring, not much movement in the numbers. This is often called an "in-active" cycle due to the lack of activity in the BG numbers.
The opposite of that is an "active" cycle where the insulin is dropping the BG more quickly or further and as the caregiver, you have to be more vigilant. Possibly test more frequently, monitor closely.
Regarding this morning's AMPS that is almost certainly a bounce from hitting that green 97 last night. Curious, why give high carb food at that number? With SLGS, a 97 is not normally a number that requires intervention with food. Every Cat Is Different of course, and you know your kitty better. Definitely a situation where I would have wanted to get another test in 30 minutes to an hour if it were me, and if you had to get to bed then giving some HC might be what you had to do.
-Kyle
I dont really understand why its so high this morning.