no eating when i shove/mix food.. when do i test again?Libby and Lucy said:you just want to get a little food into him, with a little carbs. If that works, go for it. Does he usually eat if you shove the dish under his nose, or mix the food up a little so he thinks it's fresh?
+4.5 = 64Dyana said:I think you posted your +4 at 1:25pm, and it 2:00pm now, so please get a +4.5, which would be now.
xanaxDyana said::lol: What's a vitamin x?
2:30 -- will give him a bit moreDyana said:That's another nice number. Barely any drop, and very close to that 72. You can give him another bite of low carb food, if you like.
This is what I usually do:
Above 100 - test every hour
Between 60 to 99 - test every half hour
Below 60 - test every quarter hour
You're going great! Next test is when?
2:30 - +5 = 64Dyana said:That's another nice number. Barely any drop, and very close to that 72. You can give him another bite of low carb food, if you like.
This is what I usually do:
Above 100 - test every hour
Between 60 to 99 - test every half hour
Below 60 - test every quarter hour
You're going great! Next test is when?
I had to run out for 20 minutes--could not be put off. His +6 = 74 . I gave him a snack of about 1 T. FF LC. What now? I was supposed to go see my daughter up at college, take her out to eat for her 21st birthday (3 hour round trip w/meal) and I always make sure I see her on that special day. I thought I'd take him with me, but can't do that--it is frigid cold out here and besides, he freaks out in the car. I have no idea what to do. I planned on being gone already, but told her I would come late (which will be his +7.5, +8 and be back by about +10.5, +11). I seriously assume we will lower his dose tonight...???Dyana said:Did you get a +5.5?
can he have more to eat?Dyana said:He'll probably be up by +7.5. I think you'll be fine.
Happy 21st Birthday to your daughter! That is a Special Day![]()
that's really cute! .from my understanding, the insulin should be wearing off--his nadir is on average +6 though his numbers have been kinda zonky later...i really am scared to give him the 1.5 U. again--today's 1.5 shot was 14th in the cycle since dosage decrease (from 1.75)...it would really, really make me feel better to decrease .25-.50. your thoughts? though i know the ultimate decision is my ownDyana said:Nice.
Goobles is surfing
Great job today! What a fantastic cycle for Gobbles. He settled into a nice green number and surfed there for hours, just like Lantus is supposed to do. :smile:TheBowHuntress said:i really am scared to give him the 1.5 U. again--today's 1.5 shot was 14th in the cycle since dosage decrease (from 1.75)...it would really, really make me feel better to decrease .25-.50. your thoughts? though i know the ultimate decision is my owni would love to hear your opinions!
I want to stay in tight regulation so i assume that means no dose reduction ? because the lantus is working ...correct? btw, +11.5 = 241Libby and Lucy said:With Tight Regulation, the goal is to get them into numbers where the pancreas' beta cells can heal (about 50-120) and keep them there as much as possible. The protocol calls for dose reductions when a newly diagnosed cat falls below 50. Remember that just a few days ago you were concerned about Gobbles running so high. Well, he's not high anymore. :mrgreen: This is exactly what you have been working toward.
thank you! had a lovely dinner at Rocknes' with my little girl (well, 21 years young). My husband would agree with you, for this not to "take over my life" as that is what it has been here lately...I just want Gobby better +11.5 = 241Carl & Bob said:Be safe on the road, and have a great visit!
Carl
Gosh, I did. +11.5 = 241 -- I (& Gobby) want to stay on the tight regulation train. So I assume I will keep the dose (at 1.5) and keep testingDyana said:Have a good time with your daughter![]()
Yes, it certainly does. I will keep meter variance in the back of my mind. So, for example: its time for an AMPS: I get 70 (about 56-74) and test maybe +1, I get 90 (74-106 so actually could be close to the AMPS) .So then I test at +10 and get 300 (could be about 240-360). Gotcha!Marje and Gracie said:Great job and I see he zoom zoomed at the end of his cycle.
The meter you use can vary up to 20% from test to test. I've found that with my meters, if I retest right away, I get a lower number although its usually within meter variance. I don't retest unless I get a really low number or I get a number that is out of context with the previous numbers. So if a test is 70 and an hour later, I get a 300, I will retest.
To tell you the truth, I just don't get wrapped up in meter variance. If a new member's cat goes from 300 to 350 in two hours at mid cycle and they want to know why kitty is going up, I will point out that really, the cat is flat with 20% meter variance taken into account.
Does that answer your question?