1/24 GOBBLES +8~154 +11.5~241 PMPS 387 ? METER VARIANCE?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

ok, see you in 30 minutes.

Now that Dyana is here to help you, I'm going to get back to work. Thanks Dyana!
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

the cheese was miniscle-at least 1/100 of a slice...the label said 2% carb so I figured if it would make him eat it would not be a big deal...no sugar ingredients evident in what I read in "ingredients" on the label...he inhaled it...so test again when?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Libby and Lucy said:
you just want to get a little food into him, with a little carbs. If that works, go for it. Does he usually eat if you shove the dish under his nose, or mix the food up a little so he thinks it's fresh?
no eating when i shove/mix food.. when do i test again?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

I think you posted your +4 at 1:25pm, and it 2:00pm now, so please get a +4.5, which would be now.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

That's another nice number. Barely any drop, and very close to that 72. You can give him another bite of low carb food, if you like.
This is what I usually do:
Above 100 - test every hour
Between 60 to 99 - test every half hour
Below 60 - test every quarter hour

You're going great! Next test is when?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Dyana said:
That's another nice number. Barely any drop, and very close to that 72. You can give him another bite of low carb food, if you like.
This is what I usually do:
Above 100 - test every hour
Between 60 to 99 - test every half hour
Below 60 - test every quarter hour

You're going great! Next test is when?
2:30 -- will give him a bit more
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Please keep your Subject Line in your first post updated with your most recent numbers. If you run out of room, just remove some of the previous tests. That's so everyone following and people helping can see at a glance from the list of condos, how Gobbles is doing currently.

So, instead of Help! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~74,
replace that with Help! GOBBLES AMPS~94 +4~74 +4.5~64
(you don't have to have the "Help!" in there, but I understand) :)

I know it's a lot of work, but it helps us to help you.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64

Yes, that's fine.

Only feed him a bite or two.

We don't want him full, if we need him to eat, later.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Dyana said:
That's another nice number. Barely any drop, and very close to that 72. You can give him another bite of low carb food, if you like.
This is what I usually do:
Above 100 - test every hour
Between 60 to 99 - test every half hour
Below 60 - test every quarter hour

You're going great! Next test is when?
2:30 - +5 = 64
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

Nice.
Goobles is surfing
7_3_205.gif


I'm taking my cats out for a quick walk. I'll be back at your +5.5.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

I see he's at 74 now.
What a nice string of pancreas healing numbers.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

Dyana said:
Did you get a +5.5?
I had to run out for 20 minutes--could not be put off. His +6 = 74 . I gave him a snack of about 1 T. FF LC. What now? I was supposed to go see my daughter up at college, take her out to eat for her 21st birthday (3 hour round trip w/meal) and I always make sure I see her on that special day. I thought I'd take him with me, but can't do that--it is frigid cold out here and besides, he freaks out in the car. I have no idea what to do. I planned on being gone already, but told her I would come late (which will be his +7.5, +8 and be back by about +10.5, +11). I seriously assume we will lower his dose tonight...???
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

He'll probably be up by +7.5. I think you'll be fine.

Happy 21st Birthday to your daughter! That is a Special Day :-D
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

Dyana said:
He'll probably be up by +7.5. I think you'll be fine.

Happy 21st Birthday to your daughter! That is a Special Day :-D
can he have more to eat?
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

Yes, a few bites of low carb is fine.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

should I get a +7? +8? I hate to keep sticking him, but if i must...i know i have to! so when would be a good time?
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

+7 or +7.5 I think would be fine.

I have to run to get J.D. some probiotics. I'll be back in about 45 minutes.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

Dyana said:
Nice.
Goobles is surfing
that's really cute! .from my understanding, the insulin should be wearing off--his nadir is on average +6 though his numbers have been kinda zonky later...i really am scared to give him the 1.5 U. again--today's 1.5 shot was 14th in the cycle since dosage decrease (from 1.75)...it would really, really make me feel better to decrease .25-.50. your thoughts? though i know the ultimate decision is my own :) i would love to hear your opinions!
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

I'll post more when I get back, because I really must run off... but, he had some really nice healing numbers today, and just recently. He has a good chance of getting off of insulin.. I'll leave that thought with you ;-)
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

Kat,
What you'll have the chance to do today is what people here call the "out the door" and "in the door" tests. Check him between +7 and +7.5, then go spend a relaxing visit with your daughter (and wish her a Happy Birthday from us!). Then when you get home at +11 or whenever, test him again. Assuming his number is up at the "out the door" test, he should be just fine while you're gone. And DON'T spend the whole time you're away worried and stressed out over him. Don't worry about what you're going to shoot tonight. Enjoy a 3 hour break!

If you test at +11, that's plenty of time to post the number here and figure out what comes next. Don't let this take over your life. :smile:

Carl
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

Be safe on the road, and have a great visit!

Carl
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~ +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74 +8~154

Have a good time with your daughter :-D
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

TheBowHuntress said:
i really am scared to give him the 1.5 U. again--today's 1.5 shot was 14th in the cycle since dosage decrease (from 1.75)...it would really, really make me feel better to decrease .25-.50. your thoughts? though i know the ultimate decision is my own :) i would love to hear your opinions!
Great job today! What a fantastic cycle for Gobbles. He settled into a nice green number and surfed there for hours, just like Lantus is supposed to do. :smile:

You're asking about a dose reduction. This is the point where you get to make a decision. Tight Regulation or Low/Slow?

With Tight Regulation, the goal is to get them into numbers where the pancreas' beta cells can heal (about 50-120) and keep them there as much as possible. The protocol calls for dose reductions when a newly diagnosed cat falls below 50. Remember that just a few days ago you were concerned about Gobbles running so high. Well, he's not high anymore. :mrgreen: This is exactly what you have been working toward.

If Tight Regulation is not your goal, then the SLGS approach would encourage you to reduce the dose whenever the nadirs get lower than you want them to be. Then you wait and see if he can bring the numbers back down on a lower dose, or not. The goal for SLGS is to keep them mostly over 100 but under renal threshhold.

We can support you either way, you just need to let us know what you want to do so we can give you the appropriate advice. And either way, whenever you do reduce the dose, always be prepared to increase to the last good dose if the reduction fails.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64

Libby and Lucy said:
With Tight Regulation, the goal is to get them into numbers where the pancreas' beta cells can heal (about 50-120) and keep them there as much as possible. The protocol calls for dose reductions when a newly diagnosed cat falls below 50. Remember that just a few days ago you were concerned about Gobbles running so high. Well, he's not high anymore. :mrgreen: This is exactly what you have been working toward.
I want to stay in tight regulation so i assume that means no dose reduction ? because the lantus is working ...correct? btw, +11.5 = 241
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74

Carl & Bob said:
Be safe on the road, and have a great visit!

Carl
thank you! had a lovely dinner at Rocknes' with my little girl (well, 21 years young). My husband would agree with you, for this not to "take over my life" as that is what it has been here lately...I just want Gobby better +11.5 = 241
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~ +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74 +8~154

Dyana said:
Have a good time with your daughter :-D
Gosh, I did. +11.5 = 241 -- I (& Gobby) want to stay on the tight regulation train. So I assume I will keep the dose (at 1.5) and keep testing :) btw, after his +11.5 he gorged as he hadn't eaten for a while and was really very hungry--FF LC
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES +4~72 +4.5~64 +5~64 +6~74 +8~154 +11.5~241

Yes, stay with his regular dose. :) You did good today. I'm glad you had a nice time with your daughter.

In the future, try not to feed the last two hours before shot time, k? If you feed at +11.5 it makes her BGs go up, and the +12 will be influenced by the food she just ate and you don't get a true number, or you don't know whether if without food she was surfing, rising, or dropping. I know it doesn't pertain so much tonight, but in the future, it will.

Have a good night :cool: !
 
What are the parameters for "meter variance"? I don't quite understand if that is a % of a #. If it matters, I use a ReliOn Prime....
 
Great job and I see he zoom zoomed at the end of his cycle.

The meter you use can vary up to 20% from test to test. I've found that with my meters, if I retest right away, I get a lower number although its usually within meter variance. I don't retest unless I get a really low number or I get a number that is out of context with the previous numbers. So if a test is 70 and an hour later, I get a 300, I will retest.

To tell you the truth, I just don't get wrapped up in meter variance. If a new member's cat goes from 300 to 350 in two hours at mid cycle and they want to know why kitty is going up, I will point out that really, the cat is flat with 20% meter variance taken into account.

Does that answer your question?
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Great job and I see he zoom zoomed at the end of his cycle.

The meter you use can vary up to 20% from test to test. I've found that with my meters, if I retest right away, I get a lower number although its usually within meter variance. I don't retest unless I get a really low number or I get a number that is out of context with the previous numbers. So if a test is 70 and an hour later, I get a 300, I will retest.

To tell you the truth, I just don't get wrapped up in meter variance. If a new member's cat goes from 300 to 350 in two hours at mid cycle and they want to know why kitty is going up, I will point out that really, the cat is flat with 20% meter variance taken into account.

Does that answer your question?
Yes, it certainly does. I will keep meter variance in the back of my mind. So, for example: its time for an AMPS: I get 70 (about 56-74) and test maybe +1, I get 90 (74-106 so actually could be close to the AMPS) .So then I test at +10 and get 300 (could be about 240-360). Gotcha!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top