Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109
no need to apologize, dyana. i gave kat the instrux from the sticky about how important it is to get a +1 and +2 after shooting your lowest preshot ever so you can get an idea where the cycle is heading.
TheBowHuntress said:
Jill & Alex said:
"Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading."
read on to review "how to handle low numbers" should you need the info today.
PS = 94
+2.25 = 109
Based on the quote above,I think I did the right thing. Should I allow him to each until he is full?
well, not really. :mrgreen:
with lantus:
a +1 will give you an idea if kitty has a food spike. in the future (if you get that +1), you'll have an idea of how much YOUR kitty spikes after eating a meal. this will become important when shooting low preshot numbers. in other words, if the preshot number is 50 and you know YOUR kitty usually spikes about 75 points from a meal... you'll know kitty will probably rise to about 125 BEFORE the insulin has a chance to "kick in" (onset).
edited to add: if the +1 is lower than the preshot number it means you're working with excess carryover/overlap. it'll be necessary to bump kitty's numbers up a little with food before onset occurs if the preshot number was low. it also means you're in for a very active cycle. monitor closely.
a +2 will build upon the information from the +1 reading. if the +2 is lower than the +1, but around the same as the preshot number... you'll know onset is already occurring and it's likely to be an active cycle... so remain alert and monitor. if the +2 is higher than the preshot number, either onset has yet to occur OR kitty is headed upwards. in the latter case, you might want to grab a +3 just to make sure kitty is going up. if he is, you'll know you probably won't have to monitor as closely as you would if the numbers are headed down.
the +1s and +2s are called the "forgotten spot checks" because caregivers are often more concerned about nadir, but they'll yield a whole lot of information... especially when faced with the decision to shoot low or whether it's safe to go about your day without closely monitoring kitty.
make sense? if not, ask any questions you may have. i can't get back here til later, but there are others available to answer questions.
that +2.25 number and preshot number are close enough that i would retest again around +3.5 to see where gobbles is headed today.
ps --- the other "forgotten spot checks" are the +10s and +11s. read about those in the "becoming data ready" section of the
STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS.