1/24 GOBBLES +8~154 +11.5~241 PMPS 387 ? METER VARIANCE?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 Stalling

Wow - Gobbles likes to start the day green!
Great that you didn't feed so you can retest to see where he's headed :smile:
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 Shoot???

Hi again Kat :smile:

I can only tell you what I'd do... if I was home to monitor, supplies in stock etc.
You may very well want to wait for someone with more experience to weigh in.

To my eyes it's an obviously rising number (with no food on board) so I'd shoot..
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 Shoot???

As long as you didn't feed at +11.5, numbers are rising.

Asking what is a good number to shoot depends on you. I'll shoot anything above 50 but I've been at this a lot longer and know how to manage Gabby's numbers. If you're comfortable shooting the 107, then shoot. Personally, I'd shoot. You saw the same pattern yesterday and numbers were rising.

As long as you have plenty of strips, high carb food, and are around to monitor, you're fine to shoot.

FYI: I think the 75 at +11.5 belongs on the line from 1/23 on your SS.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 Shoot???

10 points is meter variance. If you shoot, you'll be feeding which will bump numbers up. Onset won't be for at least 1 hours.

It's your call. You need to decide what you're going to do.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 Shoot???

Sienne and Gabby said:
10 points is meter variance. If you shoot, you'll be feeding which will bump numbers up. Onset won't be for at least 1 hours.

It's your call. You need to decide what you're going to do.
He is only at 94...I updated it above.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 Shoot???

Quick note;
You can put the updates in your new post, people often don't re-read the first post if they've
been following the thread ;-)

AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)

Last 3 numbers well within meter flux
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 92 Shoot???

AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)

Now what? Don't know what to do here. I have a very hungry kitty :(
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 Shoot???

Bruce & Simon said:
Quick note;
You can put the updates in your new post, people often don't re-read the first post if they've
been following the thread ;-)
Last 3 numbers well within meter flux
you mean like i updated below? or would it be where my original post started?
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 92 Shoot???

TheBowHuntress said:
AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)

Now what? Don't know what to do here. I have a very hungry kitty :(

hi kat. normally, i would yell "shooooooooooooot", but i'm running late for work already and can't stick with you today if you "shoot low to stay low"... assuming you'll be around to monitor, have plenty of strips, and hc to guide the numbers if necessary.

what i can tell you is this:
circumstances like this morning is why we collect data. go back and look at gobbles' spreadsheet to see what has happened every time you've stalled or skipped a shot.

you want to see lower preshot numbers, but you have to be prepared to deal with the curve.

it's your decision.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 92 Shoot???

AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)
94 (+13.0)
fed 2 nibs of cooked, fresh chicken
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 92 Shoot???

Recap:

AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)
94 (+13.0)
fed 2 nibs of cooked, fresh chicken

seems to be a pattern....i am pulling my hair out here....I can be home until 3:30 (would be +6 if given shot at 9:30)
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 92 Shoot???

TheBowHuntress said:
AMBG 75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)
94 (+13.0)
fed 2 nibs of cooked, fresh chicken

so you're an hour past shot time. the depot is draining as we speak. onset won't be for another couple of hours. look to see what happened the other days you've stalled or skipped.

given your schedule, what do you want to do?


gotta run. i'll check in later...
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMBG 75 107 96 94 92 94 Shoot???

I would shoot, if I were you, but it's your decision. Look at your ss from yesterday. He was rising fine after he was fed.
 
1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

Shot 1 hour, 5 minutes late (@9:20 AM) and I'm going to use +13 on my SS (as it was only 5 minutes past 13)


Recap:

75 (+11.5)
107 (+12)
96 (+12.25)
94(+12.5)
92 (+12.75)
94 (+13.0)
SHOT @+13
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

happy to see you didn't stall any longer!

homework
now it's time for you to review the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS.

note the next step advised in that sticky:

"Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading."

read on to review "how to handle low numbers" should you need the info today.


have a good day! catch up to you later...
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

I've read it a few times but kinda freaked when I kept getting numbers in the 90s....came real close to shooting at +12...I am learning...my guess is that he will be kinda high at PM shot time
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

Congrats on shooting :mrgreen:
It's good that he hadn't really started to shoot up when you shot, still some overlap left.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

Great job!!!!

Look back over his numbers. When you got a rise from 75 to 107, that would have been the best time to shoot. He's been surfing since and you ended up stalling for an hour that you will now have to make up. Since the 107 was not a dropping number, then it's most likely that after you feed him, you'll see a rise. But, as Jill said, it's imperative to get that +1 and +2 because I bet Gobbles hasn't read the Stickys! :lol: :lol:

And Jill's other point is also extremely important. Study his SS. Look and see what his patterns have tended to be. That's what we do when we give you suggestions. It's hard to pick the patterns out at first but it's important that you get to know his. And yes, they can change but if they do, you'll know it because you took the time to learn what his original pattern was. KWIM?

You were very smart to get that +11.5. Look how much data it gave you! You could see that in 30 minutes, without food, he came up quite a bit. As you start out shooting lower numbers, that is what you look for..that little rise (assuming no food). If he had dropped a little (more than meter variance), you still could have shot but I would have wanted to be sure someone was able to be with you. I don't ever suggest a new member shoot a lower, dropping number without help. But once you learn to do it, it allows you to take advantage of carryover and overlap. You can find the definitions to those in the New to the Group sticky.
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

Good work this morning, Kat. :-D :thumbup

Keep an eye on Mr. Gobbles!

Ella & Rusty

Hey Gobbles, Welcome to the Green Lagoon! Surf safe!

Rusty, LagoonMeister
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

Where is that +1 test? And his SS shows a +2, not +2.25 test.

It's really important that when you shoot low, until you have more data, that you get a +1 and +2 test, ok? :-D
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

Marje and Gracie said:
Where is that +1 test? And his SS shows a +2, not +2.25 test.

It's really important that when you shoot low, until you have more data, that you get a +1 and +2 test, ok? :-D
I had some things to do. I should of reviewed the "shoot low" sticky (again, again) and seen your post, but I didn't; so very sorry. I did not get a +1. OMG. Should I let him eat until his little belly is full? I have to leave here later, which will be +6.5. I really wanted to not stall too long because of his nighttime PS.
 
Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

I'm sorry. I should have reminded you to get a +1. I thought about it after I posted, and almost went back and posted again, but then just thought you would know :roll: It's my fault, not yours. Now, you know what to do, in the future.
I think you did a great job of making the decision to shoot this morning :thumbup

As far as feeding him until his belly is full; what times does he get his normal meals? I would just feed him like you regularly do.

Now, what time are you going to do your next test? ;-)
 
Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

Dyana said:
I'm sorry. I should have reminded you to get a +1. I thought about it after I posted, and almost went back and posted again, but then just thought you would know :roll: It's my fault, not yours. Now, you know what to do, in the future.
I think you did a great job of making the decision to shoot this morning :thumbup

As far as feeding him until his belly is full; what times does he get his normal meals? I would just feed him like you regularly do.

Now, what time are you going to do your next test? ;-)
he's a grazer, and probably would of eaten again, about this time of the day. He ate right after his shot, which was 9:20...
 
Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

Morning guys sorry I missed all the action this morning!! Nice shooting! It is always scary shooting a green in the beginning but you did great! Have a good day!
 
Re: 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS 94

TheBowHuntress said:
Jill & Alex said:
"Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading."

read on to review "how to handle low numbers" should you need the info today.
PS = 94
+2.25 = 109

Based on the quote above,I think I did the right thing. Should I allow him to each until he is full?


I'm not sure I understand what you mean about doing the right thing based on what Jill posted. The info jill posted came from the sticky and it's stating that you should get a +1 and +2 when you shoot your lowest number. :-D
 
Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

Oops, sorry, almost fell into that quotation whirlpool :lol:

Just wanted to say Lovely +2.25 :-D
 
Re: ? 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109

no need to apologize, dyana. i gave kat the instrux from the sticky about how important it is to get a +1 and +2 after shooting your lowest preshot ever so you can get an idea where the cycle is heading.


TheBowHuntress said:
Jill & Alex said:
"Perhaps the most important guideline in shooting low is that any time you shoot your lowest ever number, you should get a +1 and +2 to give you an idea of how the cycle will go. If the +1 is not higher than PS, or if +2 is much lower than PS, that means “pay attention” over the next few hours. Those tests will also help you become even more data ready for the next time you are presented with a low preshot reading."

read on to review "how to handle low numbers" should you need the info today.
PS = 94
+2.25 = 109

Based on the quote above,I think I did the right thing. Should I allow him to each until he is full?
well, not really. :mrgreen:

with lantus:

a +1 will give you an idea if kitty has a food spike. in the future (if you get that +1), you'll have an idea of how much YOUR kitty spikes after eating a meal. this will become important when shooting low preshot numbers. in other words, if the preshot number is 50 and you know YOUR kitty usually spikes about 75 points from a meal... you'll know kitty will probably rise to about 125 BEFORE the insulin has a chance to "kick in" (onset).

edited to add: if the +1 is lower than the preshot number it means you're working with excess carryover/overlap. it'll be necessary to bump kitty's numbers up a little with food before onset occurs if the preshot number was low. it also means you're in for a very active cycle. monitor closely.

a +2 will build upon the information from the +1 reading. if the +2 is lower than the +1, but around the same as the preshot number... you'll know onset is already occurring and it's likely to be an active cycle... so remain alert and monitor. if the +2 is higher than the preshot number, either onset has yet to occur OR kitty is headed upwards. in the latter case, you might want to grab a +3 just to make sure kitty is going up. if he is, you'll know you probably won't have to monitor as closely as you would if the numbers are headed down.

the +1s and +2s are called the "forgotten spot checks" because caregivers are often more concerned about nadir, but they'll yield a whole lot of information... especially when faced with the decision to shoot low or whether it's safe to go about your day without closely monitoring kitty.


make sense? if not, ask any questions you may have. i can't get back here til later, but there are others available to answer questions.


that +2.25 number and preshot number are close enough that i would retest again around +3.5 to see where gobbles is headed today.



ps --- the other "forgotten spot checks" are the +10s and +11s. read about those in the "becoming data ready" section of the STICKY: LANTUS & LEVEMIR - SHOOTING & HANDLING LOW NUMBERS.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

kat, take a deep breath and exhale slowly, ok. no need to panic. you're in control.

go ahead and give gobbles a small low carb snack and retest in 30 - 45 minutes.

i'll go look for someone to help guide you...
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Jill & Alex said:
kat, take a deep breath and exhale slowly, ok. no need to panic. you're in control.

go ahead and give gobbles a small low carb snack and retest in 30 - 45 minutes.

i'll go look for someone to help guide you...
a low cab snack? or do you mean HC? I have FF high carb, and treats
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

low carb. no need for high carb now.
all we want to do is try to get him up on a surf board. not send him to the moon.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

libby will be checking in shortly.
i'm still looking for others who might be available, too.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

I'm here.

Just a couple teaspoons of low carb, then re-test in 30 minutes, ok?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

Jill & Alex said:
low carb. no need for high carb now.
all we want to do is try to get him up on a surf board. not send him to the moon.
He's not hungry. I COULD get him to eat a little raw/cook ground venison w/a nibbet of american cheese in it (the wrapper on cheese says 2g carb per serving)..ok?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

I'm around.
Kat, the 70s are really nice healing numbers for the pancreas. You want her in these numbers as much as possible.
Giving her some low carb food now will help her to stay in these numbers, hopefully.
If you were to give her some high carb food now, she would start to rise much quicker and not surf along in these healing numbers.
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

you just want to get a little food into him, with a little carbs. If that works, go for it. Does he usually eat if you shove the dish under his nose, or mix the food up a little so he thinks it's fresh?
 
Re: HELP! 1/24 GOBBLES AMPS~94 +2.25~109 +4~72

He scarfed the venison/cheese nugget down....and mommy took a "vitamin X"...
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top