1/24 Cosmo AMPS 389 Newbie

Hi and welcome Karen and Cosmo to the group.:)
This is a great community with lots of experienced people who are happy to help and support you.
As you are following TR you will be able to increase every 3 days if needed. I can see the other group did not have you increasing fast enough.
Are you giving snacks during the cycles as well as the preshot meal?
 
I do feed ground up chicken, Turkey or tuna between meals. He also gets a small amount of Wysong Epigen 90 for snacking.
 
Use the remarks column of the SS to add anything that might help us, or you, such as results of Ketostix tests, if Cosmo is eating well, not well, when he has snacks, if he’s active, lethargic, if his bowels are normal or not. We look at the SS each time we help you, and everything helps us help you.
 
Good Morning Karen and Cosmo and WELCOME to the LL&B Forum!

I agree with Bron, you've been holding the dose for too long and now it's time to get moving. I'm not sure about the dry food as treats either. I'm not familiar with that food or the contents...

Have you tried freeze dried foods to use as treats (like freeze dried chicken, salmon, etc) I get it from Amazon. Also I use this one for treats: https://www.petsmart.com/cat/food-a...treats---beef-and-crab-58868.html?cgid=200146 Luci loves those things and will jump up onto her testing towel to get one or two! I tend to avoid dry food in any form except a little Elsey's when I have to leave the house for a long day - then she'll get some of that in her auto-feeder. It helps to get her through the day with no issues.

Looking forward to seeing your posts and hopefully some better numbers from Cosmo soon! He's such a cutie!!
 
Welcome, Karen! I'm glad you have found us, as Bron said, there are many experienced Lantus users here who eat, breathe and sleep feline diabetes :). I see you've had some interesting dosing shifts in the past, but hang in there, and hang in here, we can most definitely help you and Cosmo get to better numbers.

I agree with Sue, if Cosmo isn't necessarily desperate for dry, I'd second the suggestion to replace it with freeze dried treats instead.

I see that Cosmo has been coming down a little all day...hoping that means you will see blue by this evening's preshot :cool:

Please let us know how we can help, and if you have any questions. Again, welcome!
 
Flat yellow today! That looks like an improvement already. Be watchful tomorrow...oftentimes, but not always a flat yellow day can lead to an active cycle.
 
Great info in the remarks column thanks. That’s good there are no ketones.
Active cycle means the BGs drop down lower into more normal numbers. We often see an active cycle after a cycle of yellow BGs. Not always.
Bouncing is when the BGs drop too fast, too low or lower than the cat has been used to. The body panics and dumps stored glucose and regulatory hormones into the system that sends the BG up high. Bounces can last 1 to 6 cycles and there is nothing you can do but wait it out. Bouncing is common in unregulated cats and newly diagnosed cats. Some cats are bouncier than others.
 
Does active mean bouncy? Or high?

It's often, but not always a predictor for seeing better numbers - active cycle = blues and possibly a green or two. Because you recently increased it appears by seeing a nice string of lower numbers that he's responding to the additional juice. Let's see what happens today :)
 
Back
Top