1/23 Shakes - AMPS 194!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
Hi everyone,
I went a hair lighter yesterday morning and night and this morning I have a 194.
Not sure if that is the reason but happy anyway
Afraid to shoot because he is very sensitive so I will wait one hour after eating
and take blood again
Thanks and have a good day!
Shakes and Denise
 
Good morning Denise. You are clearly an early bird here. I'm not sure who is routinely around when you are first posting. I'd like to make sure you know where some of the resources are in case you need information and no one is around yet.
When you say you went a "hair lighter" yesterday, could you say a little about what you mean? We routinely will shave a bit off of a dose (i.e., a "fat" or "skinny" dose). However, there is nothing you your SS that indicates you made an adjustment to Shakes' dose. It's very helpful if you can keep any dose-related information on your SS so that those of us who open lots of SSs don't have to try to remember what even small adjustments you've made (which in my case would cause my brain to explode). If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see an example of how I list the changes in my dosing.

I really think that you would have been OK to shoot the 194. If you look at the Data Ready sticky, numbers above 150 are generally safe to shoot. Stalling for an hour is fine, but from your SS, it doesn't look as though you've shot. Please remember, if you delay a shot, your PM shot will be 12 hours from whenever you actually gave Shakes his insulin this morning.

I'd also encourage you to look over the Tight Regulation Protocol guidelines. For a cat within a year of diagnosis, a dose is not reduced unless the cat's BG numbers drop below 50.
 
I think you are in the early riser competition with Nicole and Baby! :mrgreen:
I love the name...Shakes. :mrgreen: Makes me want a shake now. Hmmmmm... :lol:

You mentioned you were going to feed and check again in an hour. Since I havent been to your condo before (Im going to look back after posting this), Im not sure if this has been discussed.... When you are 'stalling' a shot (for whatever reason), you will also want to try and withhold food. Feeding may cause the BG to go up and give you a false sense of security, as the number could actually be related to a food spike rather than a true number.

Its a learning process for sure. Hope everything got figured out and your day is going well.

ETA:
Here is a link to 1/22 condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34986
and what I think was your first condo in LL???: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34986
*In case you have questions later today, it will make it easier for people who may be able to help to have these links at the tip of their fingers. :mrgreen:
 
Nice morning start for Shakes.

When Curry was first diagnosed I would test and feed. Then 30 minutes later shoot. The vet initially told me that just to make sure Curry was eating and holding down her food. I then later switched to test, feed/shoot...all w/in a 10 minute period. Sometimes I'll even sneak in her shot right after I test her....she alwys anticipates me shooting her while she eats and will stall eating since she knows I'm gonna shoot her. Silly kitty. We all eventfully figure out a routine that works for us and our kitties.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top