Tina & Sammy
Member Since 2010
Yesterday's condo
It is way to early on a Saturday morning, and I didn't get much sleep last night due to the fact that I got up in the middle of the night test Sami, and then at 4:00 am this morning I had 3 kitties, not including the sugar kitty, trying to get me out of bed to feed them, even though I left plenty of food out last night and added more when I was up to test at 1:00 am.
I probably need to move her dose a little later in the morning so I can be more awake when I give her the shot. I was thinking I would go back to bed after Sami's test this morning so I went ahead and gave her the shot just after the test but before she ate. I didn't have any doubt that she would eat, but I wasn't thinking about the fact that the shot would be 30 minutes early. Plus, with the high numbers I decided to go ahead and increase to 1.5 units, which might have been wrong.
After waking up a bit more, still pretty tired and haven’t had coffee yet, I started to input the information into the spreadsheet I realized the fact that the shot was early, and according to protocol I probably should have waited at least one more day before doing the increase because Sami's nadir has been below 200. Plus, I am suppose to be moving her shot later not earlier because I have a dentist appointment on Tuesday evening and might not be home by 6:30 pm to feed and then shot at 7:00 pm.
I hope it wasn't a bad decision to increase today. What do you think should I really have waiting another day? I will be home all day to monitor her so I am not worried about going too low today. I am more concerned after her PM dose if she is lower than normal. I don't want to have to skip a shot tonight so it might be a long night if I have to stay up to monitor. Which means I really need to get some sleep during the day today just in case.
I need to go get some coffee so I can start the think straight.
It is way to early on a Saturday morning, and I didn't get much sleep last night due to the fact that I got up in the middle of the night test Sami, and then at 4:00 am this morning I had 3 kitties, not including the sugar kitty, trying to get me out of bed to feed them, even though I left plenty of food out last night and added more when I was up to test at 1:00 am.
I probably need to move her dose a little later in the morning so I can be more awake when I give her the shot. I was thinking I would go back to bed after Sami's test this morning so I went ahead and gave her the shot just after the test but before she ate. I didn't have any doubt that she would eat, but I wasn't thinking about the fact that the shot would be 30 minutes early. Plus, with the high numbers I decided to go ahead and increase to 1.5 units, which might have been wrong.
After waking up a bit more, still pretty tired and haven’t had coffee yet, I started to input the information into the spreadsheet I realized the fact that the shot was early, and according to protocol I probably should have waited at least one more day before doing the increase because Sami's nadir has been below 200. Plus, I am suppose to be moving her shot later not earlier because I have a dentist appointment on Tuesday evening and might not be home by 6:30 pm to feed and then shot at 7:00 pm.
I hope it wasn't a bad decision to increase today. What do you think should I really have waiting another day? I will be home all day to monitor her so I am not worried about going too low today. I am more concerned after her PM dose if she is lower than normal. I don't want to have to skip a shot tonight so it might be a long night if I have to stay up to monitor. Which means I really need to get some sleep during the day today just in case.
I need to go get some coffee so I can start the think straight.