1/23 Milo AMPS 232

Status
Not open for further replies.

Wendi and Milo (GA)

Member Since 2009
Okay, first off the only reason he is 232 is because he found out we were posting here today and he just wants to laugh while I eat noodles!

For those here that don't know us - We are from Saskatchewan, Canada. Milo was dx with DM in Aug 08, and I found this board that day. At the direction of some very special and knowledgeable people here we steadily increased his dose but were unable to regulate him. When we were up to 8.5u we went to our vet and asked to have an Acromegaly and a pancreatitis test done, his advice was to put Milo down. Our vet thinking I was absolutely crazy and had nothing better to do with my money finally agreed to draw the blood, send it out to Michigan and charge me $700. When both came back positive his response was to get advice from "those people" on the internet that told you to get the test. From that point on we were totally dependent on the direction and advice on this board.

By Jan 09 Milo was up to 13u plus 5u R and we got the news Milo had been excepted to be part of a Acromegaly study being done by Dr.Lunn at CSU. Joan & Maddie had gone just before us so we knew what to expect and we made the long trip to Colorado. It has been 1 year since the treatment and we are currently down to 4u, as of Aug 09 his tumor had shrunk by half, his Growth Hormone is now normal, and his IGF-1 has continued to drop (493 before tx & at 9 mths after 172). His 1 year follow-up is this Monday.

WCR = Happily disguising himself as tigger dancing_cat
Currently at 4u, but working on a dosecrease.
All p's present and accounted for.

Have to run with drooler to Saturday agility classes but will bbl to catch up.
Have a wonderful day everyone,
Wendi & Milo (aka Tigger)
 
wonderful to see how well milo is still doing.
he's like the poster boy for the success of that procedure. WTG, guys!!! :)
 
Hi Wendi and Milo! :smile: Happy one year anniversary! I hope Mr. ThickSkull has a fabulous one year checkup.

I didn't know that your vet charged you that much for the tests! That's criminal! :evil:
 
I didn't know Milos story - so glad to hear he is doing bettah!

Tigger tis not nice to make the bean eat noodles! :roll:
 
I am so glad you found this place and ignored your vet! It sounds like MIlo is doing great. I'm not sure if I'd want Gabby to have a bell to wake me up with!
 
Great update, Wendi. Good inspiration for new Acro Moms or suspected Acro Mums. There seems to be so much resistance from vets on doing the acro testing.
 
Wendi, this is an amazing story. You are such a great mom to move forward on your instincts, and to disregard the negativity of your vet's initial advice on the testing.

I hadn't remembered he had the same procedure that Maddie did, and that it had made such a difference for him. That's so great to hear. He's another one of the 'wonder cats' on this board.

Of course, I will never forget that he brought you home a duck (a mallard was it?) the day you could not find him!! Mr. great hunter he is, indeed.

So great to hear your update on your handsome Maine coon kitty. He sounds like he's doing just great.

Judith and Thomas (GA)
 
what a great update. Happy 1 year annifursary and good luck with continued dosecreases! And thanx for the info about lax a day. Found it and things are moving along great!
 
Wendi.. Thank you for the Milo update!
I'm glad to hear that he is doing so well.. awesome 5 p report :mrgreen:

and... 4 units?! Very cool!
 
Hi: Good to hear from you. Everytime I come on the board I think about the day Milo went duck hunting. I still laugh about that. Hope to see you a little more often but I know life has a way of "getting in the way".
 
good to see you, I've been wondering how Milo was doing!

I also remember the day you couldn't find him and we were so worried, then he came home with a duck. :lol:

I'm thinking Milo might already be ready for that dosecrease, you? The yellows could be bounces, the one on 1/21 definitely looks like that and the others could be too.
 
I just love hearing about Mighty Milo the Duck Hunter! He's such an impressive boy (thick head and all).
 
Wow, what an impressive story! Milo is an inspiration that all things are possible. And Wendi you are an inspiration that each of us should be informed and trust our instincts. The vet does not always have all the answers and it is up to us beans to look out for the best interest of our babies.
 
a bell hanging from the door for milo to bat at to wake you for snackus! don't let milo tell alex! :lol:
it's do good to hear from you wendi. milo is doing so very, very well!!!

hmmm, libby mentioned a dosecrease... what do you think? it does look like he's bouncing.
 
Thanks everyone!

It was great to catch up on alot of the Old Timer's today and peek in at a few of the new LLander's. Hopefully, this will become a scheduled occurance :smile:

Libby & Jill,
I agree he has been bouncing, and he is probably over due for a dose reduction, but . . . . little skeerd
Last time we started to decrease we got down to 3u and then he just started to big time bounce all over the place, which seemed to send him into a pancreatic flare up. We have spent the last couple months coming back up to 4u and just the last week or so he has started to get some nice blue/green days.
So, thats kinda why I have been holding off on the reduction, would just like to see a few all green days first.

So, I'm I wrong, would I see the all green days by eliminating the bounce with a reduction?

an old timer, uh
still have no idea what I'm doing most of the time :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top