1/23 Magnolia PMPS 151 Shot full dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sara & Magnolia

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's Condo


Happy Caturday LL!

WCR: Happy, Purry, Lovey. 5 P's are good. BUT, she is not hungry. She only ate half of her food overnight. She did not wake DH begging for food this morning. She did not eat her 7am breakfast. I had to put a salmon treat to get her to eat her food with her shot. I know I've been complaining about the bottomless pit, but I wish she'd pick a middle ground. This is a lower AMPS number, maybe her appetite is diminishing with lower numbers? Or maybe she doesn't like the wellness turkey. I opened a new can last night, and she ate it when I gave it to her at 9:30 and 11:30, but maybe she doesn't like it as much as the chicken?

The answers to Cassandra's questions from last night:

Maybe the shedding is because of how dry it has been this winter?
Absolutely could be. It's crazy dry here.

Do you brush her?
Between DH and me, she is brushed at least once a day, sometimes more.

You may also notice her coat becoming better as her numbers improve.
Yes, when dx'd, her coat was dry and dull. It has improved dramatically already.

Do you mix any water in with her food? Does she drink water at all?
We do mix in water with her food. I've been wondering if she drinks enough. Prior to dx, since she was a kitten, she was a big water lover. She was always in the bathroom waiting for fresh water (where her water bowl was). She's hardly ever in the bathroom anymore, but we now have another water bowl next to her food bowl in the kitchen, so that may be why. Maybe I should monitor the water bowl to see if she is drinking it.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia AMPS 235 +5 107

+5 107! This is the lowest number I've ever seen! Hooray!

ETA: changed +6 to +5, wrong hours in my brain.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia +11 132

A recap of today:

AMPS 235 shot 4.75
+5 107
+7.5 108
+11 132

I have to shoot in an hour. Any thoughts or advice would be greatly appreciated. This is a great breakthrough, but I've never seen such low numbers and I'm not sure what to do.

Thank you!
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

I don't have dosing advice, but wanted to comment that this looks like a terrific cycle for her, your efforts are paying off. I hope the lower numbers aren't from lack of food. Lower BGs CAN make them less crazy for food but she still needs to eat regularly.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

I should have added that. She's been eating good all day. She's not as ravenous as she has been. She isn't inhaling her food. She chews it a bit first, but she's had 5oz wellness turkey today and she is already looking at me waiting for her 9:30 dinner. Thank you Nina.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

The basic questions....

Do you have strips on hand and HC? Are you going to be home to monitor this evening?
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

Yes I have strips and HC (fancy feast with gravy). Yes I am home to monitor.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

I think I have BOS to shoot the full 4.75.

It's the what to do after that I'm not sure of. How often do I need to test? When do I start testing? HC food is necessary under 50?
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

If the +12 is a rise from the +11, or very close in range, then you are fine to shoot if you want to. Do not feed until you shoot. Then test again at +1 and we can help you decide when to test again after that.
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia-PM Dose Help Needed +11 132

awesome, look at Magnolia go! I agree with everything Cassandra said. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/23 Magnolia PMPS 151

I shot the full 4.75. I will test at +1 and post the results. Thank you for your guidance! I think I just needed a little reassurance. It's good to know I have backup.
 
PMPS 151 +1 139, +2.5 167

I didn't know when to test, but thought I'd get another one in now. These numbers don't make sense to me. She hasn't eaten since PMPS.

Anyway, it all seems well. I think I can feed and go to bed?

Recap:
AMPS 235 shot 4.75
+5 107
+7.5 108
+11 132
PMPS 151
+1 139
+2.5 167
 
Re: PMPS 151 +1 139, +2.5 167

Sara TZ said:
I didn't know when to test, but thought I'd get another one in now. These numbers don't make sense to me. She hasn't eaten since PMPS.

Anyway, it all seems well. I think I can feed and go to bed?

Recap:
AMPS 235 shot 4.75
+5 107
+7.5 108
+11 132
PMPS 151
+1 139
+2.5 167


u might want to make sure she eats a bit before u go to bed, if she hasn't eaten since PMPS...are u able to set ur alarm for a spot check?
 
I just gave her 1oz now and she gobbled it up. The hungry hungry hippo is back. DH gets home from work sometime in the next hour. He will check on her and feed her again. We mix about 1oz of food with 1/2 water for her overnight. I can set an alarm if necessary, should I? When should I check her?
 
I'm thinking +5 or +6 - if she were my kitty, it is a nice day of blues thou...some kitties will go lower at night, so I'm wondering if she might go green in there.

anyone else? feedback?
 
Right. I'm the perfect person to ask about whether or not to get a test in. You have two of the confirmed testaholics you're asking! I hope you're giggling Sara 'cause you know I'm gonna say, "Sure. Get a test in!"

I really can't tell from your SS when Magnolia's nadir is. Do you think there's the possibility of your doing a full curve in the near future? It will give us a getter sense of where the nadir is and if you need to do a mid-cycle check, you'll better know where to check.
 
Crickets, eh? It is Saturday night...

I'll get a check at +4.5 and go from there. I'm still awake, DH just got home, fight club is on, I can stay awake another hour.
 
Our messages must have crossed Sienne.

I'll get the check. I might be joining your 12-step group soon. If her +4 is low, I'll get another. I went through A LOT of strips tonight. I think her nadir is around +5 but that's my uneducated guess.

Before she had these beautiful numbers today, I had actually planned on doing a curve tomorrow, rather than increasing to 5 and having to go through NDW for 6 cycles, I was going to hold off another day on the dosecrease and get a curve. I do have a question. Her ex vet told me a curve was checking every 2 hours from the time of her shot to 6-8 hours later. I don't think that will suffice. What's a real curve? Every hour?
 
A curve can be every 2 or 3 hours. I tend to prefer every 2 hours, especially if this is the first couple you're doing. It should cover the 12-hour cycle. I think some vets will only do an 8-hour curve since that gives a bean time to get their cat to the office and pick the kitty up. There's info on how to do a curve[/color] on the link I included.
 
+4.5, 243

Thanks for the info. I'll have lots of data tomorrow.

243 at +4.5. These numbers are quite nonsensical. Like a Dr. Seuss rhyme. I really hope today wasn't a fluke.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top