1/23 Fluffy AMPS 65, +1-188, +3-320, PMPS 242, +1-400, +3-454

How is your cat?

Fluff's BG was at 65 and I wasn't sure if to shoot full, half or none dose. See above posts
My kitty is finished with surgery and I can pick him up later today. Squamous cell carcinoma on his nose we think.

I see your message above now. Thanks. I hope you can test him today a little bit. I’m glad his BG came up so you could shoot.
 
I see you did a few tests. Thank you for putting then on the spreadsheet :)It looks like he’s started a bounce from that green. Did he get his usual snacks last night?
 
Oh. Very good. That is not too hard to get back on schedule then.
I see you did a few tests. Thank you for putting then on the spreadsheet :)It looks like he’s started a bounce from that green. Did he get his usual snacks last night?
Actually, I think what drove it up was that when I fed him this morning I kinda panicked and gave him a tablespoon of LC dry food, Dr. Elseys. Even though its LC it still DRIVES UP hi BG!
@Suzanne & Darcy
 
Actually, I think what drove it up was that when I fed him this morning I kinda panicked and gave him a tablespoon of LC dry food, Dr. Elseys. Even though its LC it still DRIVES UP hi BG!
@Suzanne & Darcy
When you are wondering if it is safe to shoot insulin due to a low preshot number, don’t give any food but stall for 20-30 minutes and retest to see if the BG is coming up on its own without the influence of food. That way you can make sure that it’s not the food alone which has raised the BG because if it is, you run the risk of the BG dropping back down when the food wears off.

How is your house? Repairs/renovations all complete? I hope so!
 
When you are wondering if it is safe to shoot insulin due to a low preshot number, don’t give any food but stall for 20-30 minutes and retest to see if the BG is coming up on its own without the influence of food. That way you can make sure that it’s not the food alone which has raised the BG because if it is, you run the risk of the BG dropping back down when the food wears off.

How is your house? Repairs/renovations all complete? I hope so!
Ok. Repairs are complete but boxes everywhere as I had to pack my belongings and move to POD temporarily until repairs were done. They finished Jan 5th er so. Now I still got a lot of unpacking and organizing and going thru stuff to get rid of. Its still overwhelming and time consuming. One of my other cats has lost 2lbs in 1 year shes 15 or 16. I took her to the vet. He said her bowels felt ropey? He wanted to run blood work at 185.00 but I couldn't do it. Fluff went too cuz he had a URI. He's good now. But no mater how much I try and feed my other cat, she doesn't gain weight and her poops are like melted milkshakes. I can't afford all the vet bills. I'm trying to giver her a supplement for extra calories I found on Amazon. She's like 6lbs 7oz. She still has plenty of spirit, she deliberately pushes things on the floor from my desk! She is very ornery! You can witness her orneriness here => https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hycAsOOU--C_ApSmf_MkkPxyvMrb-jmb/view?usp=sharing



Screenshot_20230123-103415_Amazon Shopping.jpg

@Suzanne & Darcy
 

Attachments

  • Screenshot_20230123-103415_Amazon Shopping.jpg
    Screenshot_20230123-103415_Amazon Shopping.jpg
    28.6 KB · Views: 155
Last edited:
Ok. Repairs are complete but boxes everywhere as I had to pack my belongings and move to POD temporarily until repairs were done. They finished Jan 5th er so. Now I still got a lot of unpacking and organizing and going thru stuff to get rid of. Its still overwhelming and time consuming. One of my other cats has lost 2lbs in 1 year shes 15 or 16. I took her to the vet. He said her bowels felt ropey? He wanted to run blood work at 185.00 but I couldn't do it. Fluff went too cuz he had a URI. He's good now. But no mater how much I try and feed my other cat, she doesn't gain weight and her poops are like melted milkshakes. I can't afford all the vet bills. I'm trying to giver her a supplement for extra calories I found on Amazon. She's like 6lbs 7oz. She still has plenty of spirit, she deliberately pushes things on the floor from my desk! She is very ornery! You can witness her orneriness here => https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hycAsOOU--C_ApSmf_MkkPxyvMrb-jmb/view?usp=sharing



View attachment 66186

@Suzanne & Darcy
Oh, I am very sorry to hear about your cat. Ropey intestines in my cats has always meant either Inflammatory Bowel Disease or Small Cell Lymphoma. The diarrhea goes along with that as well. I wish that you could at least get an abdominal ultrasound to see what is going in there. I know it’s too much money. The treatment for IBD is prednisolone that is not an expensive medication. If it is also small cell lymphoma the treatment would also include chlorambucil which is a chemo drug that my cats have tolerated amazingly well. I wish there were an organization that would help people with veterinary expenses like DCIN helps people with diabetic cats.
 
Back
Top