1/22 shakespeare = great day!

Status
Not open for further replies.

dmartini4

Member Since 2010
hi everyone!
looks like almost everyone is having a good day!
Shakes is having a great day!
his amps was 236, so I shot a skinny 4 units
his +4 was132
and +7 was 129
Surfing the blues all day long!!

Now here is my problem and I am freaking out today
I have to fly to Florida tomorrow for work
I will shoot up Shakes in the am, but I will not be home unitl
Tuesday night.....
Shakespeare will NOT let my husband take his blood, they fight like crazy and Shakes always wins
so I am thinking of letting him forgo the testing and just shoot a very reduced amount, like maybe 3.2
I KNOW!!! but I dont know what else to do...suggestions if anyone has any..
and It is also killing me cause he if starting to look good for real this time and he is not drinking a lot
and for the first time today his pee was a normal size...that has not happened in a year!
I have to go finish packing now :sad:
 
Shakes is having a great day!
Denise, I'd really be afraid for Shakes to get a shot without testing, even a greatly reduced amount.
Look how much lower he is just in the last few days.
Is there anyway hubby could take him to vet and get a vet tech to test him there and give his shots until you get back?
What a dilemma for you...his numbers are looking great, but better safe than sorry.
 
Thatis a good idea but not possible...
We have to shoot early morning so the vet is not open
and we can not board him and he gets very depressed and angry
and then no one can touch him...he was a bottle feed baby since day one
and does not do well outside his home
 
Oh that is a dilemma.
Thing is if he gave him a shot and he can't test him at before or at nadir, he'll have no idea if hes getting too low.
 
I know but I was thikning If I shoot a little reduced tomorrow
so then I know he will not get too low at night, then DH can shoot even lower
I do not want to skip 2 doses as I fear a DKA, whihc he never had but you never know
 
I would personally be afraid to shoot. But I am in the same boat. Hubby has only successfully tested Tater once and I have to go on a trip for 2 weeks.... nailbite_smile
Could you do a delayed shot if your husband took kitty in to see a vet tech?
Maybe try a pet sitter with experience in testing and have them come in for one day/morning?
But good job getting Shakes in the good zone!
 
It's a tough call, Denise. Bottom line, what would you do to KNOW your baby is safe? I know I'd shoot less. Better to be high than too low, right?

It's a shame he won't let dh test. :sad:

Trying to look on the bright side, when you return and can test, resuming the higher dose just might snap Shakes back into shape. :-D
 
I think all you can do is have DH shoot low. Hey, he did fine on a lower dose when we all thought we were regulated on the Freestyle meter. A couple days, then back up should be ok. Tell him to shoot what you are comfortable with. Low shoot way better than no shoot.
Safe travels momma!
 
Glad to hear a great day for Shakes! If DH can't get him to the vet because they are closed then I'd go with a reduction. Depending on if you will be flying off for work frequently, I would try and get Shakes accustomed to dh calling the shots. ;-)
 
:RAHCAT Yea for Shakes doing so well. Sorry the delimea about DH. I think i would be in the same boat if i had to go out of town. What about a family member or inlaw? Petsitter? Oh, hope it works out for you! Safe travels!

Lori
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top