Re: 1/22 Latte AMPS- 294, +9.75- 212 Insight, please
Thanks for the replies!
First, I want to make it clear that I KNOW we have (or "I") have been very difficult when it comes to dosing advice. One day I think she needs an increase, 6hrs later I think not, 3 days later Im concerned if she is safe on her current dose...then she suddenly gives me perfect for a week. If I'm making you all crazy, dont worry - Im making myself crazier! :? I do recognize that she has many factors contributing to her numbers, all which can change at the snap of a finger. Im pretty good at making anything more complicated than it needs to be. Maybe it should be more straight forward for us and I should keep raising her dose till she drops too low, then decrease, raise again if necessary, etc? Am I making this too complicated? Is she your standard protocol kitty and Im just a worry wart and a chicken?
Her regular vet, and even specialist have her written off as a cat who cant have any control with BG's because of the pred. DOnt get me wrong, I think they really appreciate our efforts. But I dont think they believe it will make any difference. Are they right? Is this just pointless for me to keep trying for the right dose? The right dose would give us something like what we saw, probably a few days ago...mostly blue, with a touch of yellow and green. Some days maybe a little more green, somedays a little more yellow. But the high yellows and bordering on pink is nearly as unsafe for her as mid greens. The high yellows (RT) because of uti's. The mid greens because of potential vomiting, especially if Im not home.
I dont want my request for insight to come accross as whining, or being freaked out, scared, stressed, etc. I just seriously want to learn and hear from other people as to what they would do in this situation. Maybe its been said and I didnt want to hear it? I apologize if thats the case...might just be a slow learner (or absorber of knowledge)
Answers/Questions-
Sienne (or anyone else): When in LTS, if that is what she is still being a part of, do you raise and lower doses, or do you just sit on what you think is best until things even out? How long do you wait for things to even out? It seems as soon as we are more even, everything suddenly changes.
Greg: She is on prednisolone and she will be on it the remainder of her life, from what I can tell.
Linda: I felt a little less alone after reading your condo this a.m. (sorry I have not had a chance to officially comment yet). How do you make decisions on increasing or decreasing? Your point about her possibly experiencing more aches and pains on some days as a contributor is very logical.
Pat: I cant tell you how much I appreciate your daily visits and sense of humor. Reading about shadow and raja always gives me a boost of confidence and a little bit of a lighter heart! But I have to ask this....WHY??!?!??! WHY PAT?!?!? Why cant we figure this out?!?!?! :lol: (sorry - couldnt resist)
Thanks again for any further insight.
Im going to keep my request in the subject body because I really would like to continue getting feedback and ideas.