1/21 - Sami - PMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo - 1/20/10


After last night’s readings right around shot time I was pretty discouraged. But I am very happy with Sami's AMPS today, 254. Could last night have been her NDW still in action, two full days after the dose increase? I think I read somewhere that NDW can occur between 1-3 days after dose increase, and usually lasts 24 hours. Is that correct? Could she have just finally started to get NDW and rebound from the dose increase 2 days later. As I look back at her spreadsheet she didn't really have elevated BG after the increase like the protocol says can happen.

Anyway, I stuck with the 1.25 again this morning. Not quite ready to jump up to 1.5 after seeing a decrease this morning. I will see how today goes; hopefully we will even see a little blue.

Hope everyone has a great day. With a number like 254 for an AMPS after a PMPS of 413 and +2 of 461 this day is off to a good start.
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

Good morning,

you have to remember ECID right? You got some good feedback about NDW yesterday, so keep that patience cap firmly in place!

How is Sami feeling? Eating well etc? Don't forget ur whole cat report - it helps to focus on her day to day routines and adventures while the patience cap takes care of the numbers. ;-)

Have a great day :-D
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

Ronnie & Luna said:
How is Sami feeling? Eating well etc? Don't forget ur whole cat report - it helps to focus on her day to day routines and adventures while the patience cap takes care of the numbers. ;-)

Have a great day :-D


Overall Sami is fine. You wouldn't know she had a medical condition just to look at her. The only time she appeared to be feeling bad was last September when we first discovered she was diabetic, but she also had high liver values and high kidney values at the same time. She wasn't eating well then, but once we got the liver and kidney straightened out she has been fine. She eats well, sometimes more than she should, but since she lost 2 lbs since September I don't mind indulging her. Over the last few weeks she has been picking up some of her old habits that she had before she was feeling so rotten back in September. She has been sleeping on our bed instead of her bed, and she has been a little friskier than the past two to three months. But other than that she is fine. The guys at my office think I am looney tunes because they don't see anything wrong with her. If I wasn't testing her blood I wouldn't know it either. Even when she was over 400 last night she was the same as always. She ate really well and followed her normal routine.

For all I know she was diabetic before she even came to live with us and we just never knew because September was the first time we ever did any blood work on her. She has always been a hardy drinker, always wanting fresh water in her dish. I never knew drinking a lot was a sign of diabetes until I started doing research.

So over all she is great.
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

AWESOME!! :thumbup It's a wonderful thing when you really start to notice the positive changes in behavior!
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

Hey Tina
Glad to hear a bit of a smile on your face..
When you think about it, I would guess that there are a lot of "undiagnosed" kitties.
Especially when you have a multi cat household, it is not always easy to spot the clinical signs.
And really how often do we run to do blood work on our pets.
I'm sure my Max has been diabetic for a long time so the journey is slow.
You are doing great!
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

I certainly think either or both NDW or rebound is possible. You don't have enough data on Sami yet to know how she responds. This is why these early weeks of data gathering are so important.

Also be prepared that since Sami is seeing blue today, there's a good chance she will bounce. She's not used to lower numbers yet,
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254

Sienne and Gabby said:
Also be prepared that since Sami is seeing blue today, there's a good chance she will bounce. She's not used to lower numbers yet,

If cats tend to rebound when they hit those lower numbers how do they ever level out?
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254; +6 174; +8 214 Need Dose Advice

Sami is doing great today. We got some nice blue numbers this afternoon, which I am very happy about. My question is, should I still increase the dose to 1.5 or should I give it another day or two at this dose to see where she goes. As much as I would really love to see her numbers drop even more, I am inclinded to stay here just to see what happens, knowing at any point after today I can always increase if her numbers warrent it.

What are your thoughts?
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254; +6 174; +8 214 Need Dose Advice

Awesome WCR! :-D

Because Sami has seen blue on this dose (yay!), we usually recommend holding the dose for 10 full cycles before considering an increase. That would give her 4 more cycle on this dose. This is one of the reasons we say that we follow a modified version of Tilly/Rand here in LL. It has been found here that sometimes holding the dose a little longer if there is blue is helpful.

If cats tend to rebound when they hit those lower numbers how do they ever level out?

We call it LTS (Liver Training School). The more and more kitties are exposed to normal non-diabetic numbers, the more their livers learn to not overreact when presented with them. Every kitty has to go through it, but the bouncing will subside. You can look at Sasha's SS - she has completed LTS and no longer bounces. ECID for how long it takes them to stop bouncing.
 
Re: 1/21 - Sami - AMPS 254; +6 174; +8 214 Need Dose Advice

Ronnie & Luna said:
I think u have some feedback on that in yesterdays condo...take a look again ok?
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=3325

in the meantime, see how the rest of the cycle goes.

Okay, sorry about that. I get so overwhelmed so quickly, and I want to post as soon as I have the question, especially if it might take some time to get a response and when it involves the next dose.

I did go back and re-read yesterday, and the advice was to increase only if there is NO BLUE in the next two cycles. Obviously there is BLUE. I also re-read the protocol and see that I should hold the dose 5-7 days if we are getting nadir < 200. So I will hold the dose for at least 5 days and see how it goes.

Thanks for making me look again; I need to stop freaking out.
 
Great day with Sami today. We are back up where we started at her AMPS, but I am okay with that, she seems to be making some progress.

I am looking forward to some blue over night.
 
Lookin good!! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Thank you for your encouraging words, people like you..... make it all worth while!
Cheering for Sami & you too :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

Go Sami, go!!
 
msarobix said:
Great day with Sami today. We are back up where we started at her AMPS, but I am okay with that, she seems to be making some progress.

Tina, not only is Sami making progress, look at what you just said. You're okay with the numbers too.
You are also making progress. Fantastic. be proud of yourself too.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top