GA 1/21 Cobb Gone to the Rainbow Bridge

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Cobb held his own overnight. We don't think he likes this new food anymore. Of course, I just bought 24 cans of it on Tuesday! He did throw some of it up on Tuesday night, so maybe he's hesitant to eat because of that. Or, he's just not as hungry now that his numbers are in the normal range.

We'll see how this 2 units pans out.

Thanks for the vines for Matty. He is perfectly fine. Fine enough that I wonder if they confused his flu test results with someone else's. That... or Tamiflu is AWESOME!!!

Hope you all have a great day! Vines for everyone who needs them.

~Suzanne
 
Wild times for your Cobb right now. I know how I would feel in your shoes so you are doing a marvelous job. I hope he levels out soon.
 
i think this morning is somewhat bounce/skipped shot influencing his amps. But look back 2 days and his amps was 352 post-low numbers and post-bounce. so 248 doesn't look too bad. I'm not sure about holding this for a full 4 cycles if he doesn't get back into green by then. I totally get the reasoning why that would be good - we need to see where he is post-bounce/skipped shot, but i'm also thinking about what we know about failed reductions, that as soon as you can ascertain that's what's happened because the cat's trended up, you go right back up to the last good dose. and since you decreased the dose by more than 50% i'm a little nervous about holding it for too long if it isn't working. Let's hope he comes down by pmps.

Again, looking after he last skipped shot+ low numbers, he got back to business fairly quickly. The next day he was back in mid-blues all day, got the one shot and then was too low to shoot in 12 hours.

hopefully Cobb will make things abundantly clear so you know what to do next.
 
We'll evaluate how long to hold the dose after tonight. I think if he's higher than he is now, I think I would consider increasing tonight -- just because I think this morning would be the highest of the bounce, given the skipped shot and reduced dose.

But...I will, of course defer to the wisdom here.

Julie, I agree though... hopefully Cobb will steer the ship into calm waters without any fog.
 
Part of my reason for suggesting holding for 4 cycles (provided he doesn't keep heading up), it that it'd get you past the work week. If I saw blue by tonight, I'd keep holding.
 
For some kitties all it takes is throwing up one time for them to develop an aversion to the food/flavor they ate. Our civie Samantha (GA) was like that.

As far as the dose goes, both Wendy and Julie make excellent points.
Considering you work full time and the importance of staying ahead of any rapid downward momentum I'd be inclined to be conservative.

It's a phase that is like driving down a steep hill at high speed - navigating with one foot on the gas and the other on the brakes and both hands firmly on the wheel.
This may work for a while however you don't know when you will reach a plateau.
Under these conditions there is a serious risk that the brakes may fail.

You are well past the time when the goal was bringing down the highs and required an uphill push - momentum was difficult to gain and easily lost.
Now the focus is finding a dose that will keep you ahead of the lows until Cobb finds the next plateau - and doing so with neither you or Cobb crashing and burning along the way. :cool:


I remember scratching my head on many occasions asking 'is this MY cat???'
You may not feel like it right now but you know Cobb well.
It seems he had a few surprises up his furry little sleeves . . .
(you know cats - they like to maintain an aura of mystery. . .)


 
Matt got home this afternoon and saw Cobb hasn't eaten all day. That's two days of not eatibg. So I made an appointment with a vet in town, old vet faxing records, heading in now to see what's going on. Could use your thoughts and vines. No lie...I'm concerned.
 
Hi Suzanne,
I hope that the new vet will be able to give you some answers. Sending vetty vines.
Will Cobb eat his old food? or is he avoiding all food. I've bought full cases of foods Rusty really liked at first only to have him refuse to eat the new food after a can or two. This is an example of :cat:!! Sometimes they will go back after a while and like the food again. Sometimes not.

Very glad to hear that Matty probably doesn't have the flu. That's a real plus!!!

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Tons of vines going your way. How is the LB action? Any throwing up? I hope it's a simple easy to fix thing.
 
At the vet now...they are very impressed with spreadsheet.

Probably do a urinalysis, maybe blood test. Waiting for the Dr now.

He's currently avoiding all food and treats. Still drinking. Some pee in the LB, but peeing on our carpet this week.
 
They took him to the back to do some tests, so I'm updating you as they update me.

He's apparently very dehydrated. Vet tech says that could be a sign of kidney disease. In-house blood work will be another 20-25 minutes. Still running a urine test as well. They were able to get the urine and a small stool sample, which was really hard.

Should have a full picture in about half an hour.
 
My sweet baby is gone.

The vet said his kidneys were shot and she didn't think even if we rehydrated him at the ER overnight that it would so any good.

I stayed with him and told him what a sweet boy he was and that he didn't have to be in pain anymore. I told him Ozy, Ole, Zener, and all the kitties that came before him on FDMB were waiting at the bridge for him. He passed away before they even gave him the second injection. I guess the sedative was enough for him to relax and let go.

My heart is broken right now.
 
((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty)))) My heart is breaking for you. Tears on my keyboard.
6.gif
 
OMG!!!...Suzanne I have no words for you

I can't think of anything to say that will help, so for now, I'll just say how sorry I am for you, Matt and Matty.

Fly Free Sweet Cobb! cat_wings>o
 
((((((Suzanne, Matt, Matty))))))
No words. Shocked and in tears.
I'm so sorry..............................................

cat_wings>o Fly free dear Cobb... land softly.
 
Oh, no, no, no. I don't have any words, just so many tears. And heart hurt. You and Cobb are so special to us. Always such a light for us. Our world has grown dim.

Tears. I can't stop them.

All my thoughts, my hugs, my sympathy for you and Matt and Matty.
 
Oh no!!!!!!! He had come so far! Oh, Suzanne, I am so very, very sorry! I know there is nothing that will really comfort you now, but you are in so many hearts and prayers right now. All of LL mourns with you and Matt and Matty. You did such a wonderful job with him. Many vines, prayers and hugs to you. Lots of tears here, too.
AddEmoticons00943.gif



Fly free, sweet Cobbham, and land softly.
 
Oh no! ((((((((((Suzanne)))))))))))) Cobb was ready to go and you were so brave to let him fly free.

Lighting a candle for sweet Cobb. All the GAs will be there to greet their dear friend.
anim+candles2.gif
 
(((((Suzanne)))))

I have no words. There are no words that could ever be enough. Sometimes, our kitties know best and they don't want us to suffer with them. They choose their time. I don't think Cobb wanted you to worry. You gave each other one last gift.

I hope you will find some solace in this fable of why we choose tears.

Fly free Cobb and land softly. There are many from LL who will be waiting for you at the Bridge to play and keep you safe until you are reunited with the one you love best.

candle.gif
 
Oh no ((((Suzanne)))).
Tears are streaming for your loss. I am so very, very sorry.
I'm sending you much love and light.
:rb_icon:
Fly free, Sweet Cobb
 
I am crying as I type this. I am so very sorry for the loss of your sweet baby Cobb.

I am at a loss for words as is everyone else. I will be saying an extra prayer for your family tonight.

Sweet, dear Cobb, may you fly free my friend and join al the wonderful cats that have gone before you, they will take good care of you. But don't forget to give your momma a sign that you made it safely.

So many hugs and prayers and thoughts are going out to you tonight!
cat_wings>o:rb_icon:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top