1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307 PMPS 348

Status
Not open for further replies.

Suzanne & Cobb(GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday

I won't complain this morning. Cobb had a nice blue surf last night.

PM Recap:
PMPS - 203
+2 - 166
+5 - 166
+8 - 184
AMPS - 260

I would, of course, prefer a lower preshot but I'll take the surf instead. :cool: sunny and blue skies.

All Ps are in place. And Cobb's appetite really seems to be regulating. He isn't begging for food like he has in the past, so that's good! He is currently chasing his tail in circles. :lol: hilarious to watch. I keep telling him he is NOT being attacked by his tail!!

Hope everyone has a good Tuesday! Those of you in the Northeast, stay warm!!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260- but Cobb went surfing last night!

Nice surf!! In fact, if you scroll through Cobb's SS, there's been a huge change. You've been doing good stuff for your kitty!!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260- but Cobb went surfing last night!

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nice surf!! In fact, if you scroll through Cobb's SS, there's been a huge change. You've been doing good stuff for your kitty!!
Thank you! It doesn't always feel that way in the moment but you can tell when you take a step back and look at everything.
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260- but Cobb went surfing last night!

Hi guys .. woohooo, awesome blues last night cobb!! And mid yellows is not a bad starting point at all .. this could easily dip into blues again! have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

Does someone have a GPS Cobb can borrow? He got lost and is going the wrong way again. But there's a spring in his step so he must be bouncing. :lol: :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

Beautiful blue surf last night. :-D Sorry Cobb seems to be one of those cats that prefers the night time lows. :roll: You are in good company.

In yesterday's condo, you asked:
One of my burning questions is: why good movement in lower doses and then not higher ones? At 10u, we saw a good response until that missed shot. 10.5u...nothing. But now at 11, in the second cycle we're seeing some blue. Is that the resistance we're all assuming Cobb has? Dose going stale at 10u? Logically (I know, the L-word and FD don't go together), it seems you should see some response on a higher dose if you've seen one on a lower dose... even the same response, not even necessarily better! Just curious on your opinion. I know test results might answer that question quickly.
This is just one of those things that happens with higher dose kitties. Once the tests are done we may be able to tell you what's happening under the hood, but at a high level there's a battle going on with some kind of resistance. Sometimes the injected insulin wins, sometimes not. Take a look at Neko's 2012 spreadsheet, ignoring the first few weeks until I replaced the meter. We saw our first green at 3.75U, then didn't get to a reduction earning green until 8.75U. You might find it interesting to look at a few SS of high dose kitties, I know I did. Libby's Jazzy, Nancy's Pepper, Julie's Punkin, Sandra's Black Kitty, Lauren's (photosquirrel) Tommy are a few examples of kitties with beans post here now, that tested positive for one or both of IAA/Acro.
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

I just wanted to say hello ;-) . And Cobb, you're going the wrong way! Come back down, please, there's a good kitty :-D Tail chasing is a good pass time for kitties, and entertaining for the beans :lol: I'm so happy to hear how good he is feeling. Have a great day!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

Hi there :cool:

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nice surf!! In fact, if you scroll through Cobb's SS, there's been a huge change. You've been doing good stuff for your kitty!!
Yes indeed !
cobbsmom said:
It doesn't always feel that way in the moment but you can tell when you take a step back and look at everything.
Always a good idea to step back and see the larger picture when evaluating progress. Perspective makes a big difference. :cool:

cobbsmom said:
Those of you in the Northeast, stay warm!!
We are looking at possibly a foot of snow here, white out conditions and then wind chill which will result in a sub zero temps. . . ohmygod_smile
But hey, If it helps with the out of control mosquito and flea populations that have exploded due to the lack of freezing temps the last couple years -I say bring it on!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

Suzanne, you ask too many questions :lol:

Not really, but had to tease you a little. Cobb's spreadsheet hasn't seen a black or red number for a long time now, so do a little dance, sing a little song, get down tonight! :cool:

Funny kitty..chasing his tail...I bet you can't remember the last time he was that kind of playful, so you know he has to be feeling so much better!

Keep up the great work...You're going to beat this, and Cobb will be the biggest winner of them all!
 
Re: 1/21 Cobb AMPS 260 +3.5 270 +5.5 307

cobbsmom said:
I wonder if the red on 1/18 was stress induced. My parents, sister, and her two kids were staying with us for the night. That meant double the crying and a loud, hyper 3yo. I did find Cobb had pooped outside of his box, which hasn't happened since, and we found him hiding in the pantry that morning. We think pooped because he felt cornered downstairs.
That is very possible. I know having guests stresses me out. :lol: I was going to suggest that you write that on your spreadsheet, and I see you already did.

One of my burning questions is: why good movement in lower doses and then not higher ones? At 10u, we saw a good response until that missed shot. 10.5u...nothing. But now at 11, in the second cycle we're seeing some blue. Is that the resistance we're all assuming Cobb has? Dose going stale at 10u? Logically (I know, the L-word and FD don't go together), it seems you should see some response on a higher dose if you've seen one on a lower dose... even the same response, not even necessarily better! Just curious on your opinion. I know test results might answer that question quickly.
Lantus is a strange insulin (but a good one!). For most cats, you don't see a progression in which the numbers get better on each successive dose. You see a lot of the same, dose increase after dose increase. Then one day you hit the "right" dose and everything changes. All of a sudden there will be green and blue everywhere, and you'll have no idea where it came from. It's like there's no such thing as "almost enough" insulin, or "we're getting close." Either it is enough insulin, or it isn't (and to add to that, the same dose might not have been enough before, and now all of a sudden it is perfect). I don't really understand why it happens that way, but that's what we see in almost every cat.

It sounds like, for now, hold the dose at least 3-4 cycles and, if no movement, increase. If past 3 cycles, given the response at 10u, hold through 8, and then reevaluate since the missed shot skews the data from there.
I think I would say at least 4 cycles on a dose, unless his numbers get consistently bad again. In my mind, 3 cycles just isn't long enough to hold a dose with a depot insulin, even if his patterns say that it might be ok.
 
Too many questions??? Never!! I'm sure I can think up some more for you, Chris! :lol:

So Cobb apparently did not like those blues last night! A progressive climb today, I see. Tsk tsk. I suppose bouncing to the mid-300s isn't as bad as it could be, but really...Mr. Liver has seen these numbers before. Let's get it together now!!

I do appreciate everyone answering my pesky questions! :lol: I now know more about feline diabetes, a cat's liver and pancreas, and depot insulin than I ever really wanted to know!
 
Mr. "L" is a pain, isn't he?

Don't worry..after Cobb's been in blues 500 times or so, he'll get the message that things are ok..LOL

I know those bounces are one of the most frustrating parts of this dance! And it may take 20 times in the blues, 50 times, or 150...He's in charge

One of the first things I remember most, is this statement..."Cats bounce until they don't"....isn't that helpful? :lol:
 
[quote="Chris & China"
One of the first things I remember most, is this statement..."Cats bounce until they don't"....isn't that helpful? :lol:[/quote]

Sooooo helpful, yes! :lol:
 
just looking in on you guys! a decent day!

and yes, i agree that scrolling through Cobb's ss lets you see the progress. always a good thing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top