1/20 Gracie AMPS 350 +3 251 +8 254 Back from vet

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

1/19 Recap:
AMPS: 93
+2: 152
+5: 124
+6: 85
+7: 130
+9.5: 190
PMPS: 269
+3: 340
+6: 321

Happy Tuesday! Many healing vines to Trix, Shasta, Booger, Skinky, Minka, Sasha, Harvey, Max, Tricia, Elise's Mom and I know I'm forgetting someone so please forgive and know we wish you/your kitty vines.

Gracie has been enjoying the sun on the catio and in the guest room and she has also been enjoying whopping on Tobey. He loves her so much that even her wrasslin' with him makes him happy. She did take a bit of time to go btb with her beloved daddy but at +2, she was ready to be up for the day and investigate Gracieland.

She hasn't been on the increased dose long and she has gotten into green but she's doing this horrific bouncing which she hasn't done in a while. Undecided as to what we will do but won't likely raise the dose today. Maybe tomorrow....hear that little one?

Vet visit today. Please cross paws for perfect labs. I got a urine sample from her early this morning so they don't have to do a cysto. I'm not suspecting any UTI (no symptoms) but just want a general check of pH, USG, etc. To say I hope all values are normal is an understatement. Clinically....other than her numbers, she is doing remarkable (anti-jinx). But we all know cats....;)

Have a great day!

 
Sending tons of vines for good lab work and vetty visit. I'm throwing in a few anti-pink vines too.

Keep on whapping Gracie.
 
Vetty vines by the bushel.

Whomp him, Gracie. I think he likes it.

Oh, and LBG, we know you can bounce. No need to keep reminding us. O.K. We got it. So, stop!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Vetty vines for you, Princess Gracie. And you be nice to my Other Best Boy!!

Have a good day, Marje. I hope all will go well at the vet's.

Hugs, scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
Piling on more vetty vines, BW and other test vines, too.

Gracie, you are not an acrobat, so get down out of the rafters, please. I think you should go to the vet in a pretty blue dress!

We'll be keeping our paws crossed and watching for updates.
 
Thank you all very much for the vet vines today. Missy G did spectacular....she is always so good at the vet and Dr. B said the blood draw went super.

Dr. B checked her out from stem to stern with NRT and for the first time in several months, every single organ, tooth, eye, ear, skin, hair....all tested a 10 which is the best. She could not find any weaknesses on her anywhere so she is confused as to why she is losing weight. She checked her for structural issues, nutrition issues, and nerve transmission issues and could not find anything. So now we have to see what the labs say. NRT is a tool; while is is excellent that it is not showing any issues, it does have its limitations and thus the labs. I was worried about hyperT because it can cause vomiting and elevated liver values but Dr. B said she just couldn't find any clinical evidence of it.....no "slip" or nodule on the thyroid; heart rate outstanding; BP perfect. But, at my request, she ran a tT4 and fT4 as I just want to be sure as long as I have her in there, we are checking everything. She said she thinks Gracie looks phenomenal....coat is amazing; she thinks her weight is perfect but the down trend concerns her as much as us. So...now we wait.

She does wonder if the very occasional vomiting (which has diminished greatly) is indicative of a bit of tummy/small intestine inflammation. I have been giving her 2 mg cerenia sid based on my conversation with Dr. B a couple weeks ago. She increased it to 4 mg sid as she feels it might better address any inflammation that is not showing up on her NRT and not likely to show up on her labs. The only thing that she wonders about the weight loss, if nothing shows up, is whether the switch to Merrick from WN has caused it. I told her Merrick is much less calorie dense than WN and I did up her calories so I don't know if that could be it and she also said it would not make sense. The timing, however, is very coincidental.

This is me------->>>>>:nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: until the labs come back.
 
:bighug::bighug::bighug:(((Marje)))) I know just how you feel, we just had lab work done today as well :nailbiting::nailbiting::nailbiting: One thing about hyperT, Tiger's coat was not in good shape when she was diagnosed, so I doubt it's that, but it's good they're doing the test just to rule out! Hasn't the vomiting stopped since you started cerenia? That helped Tiger immensely, but I worried about giving it for days in a row! RE: Merrick foods- Dr. Lisa's chart doesn't give phosphorus values, so I had to throw out the cans I had bought. I am sending tons and tons of prayers and vines for perfect BW results!! I hope your BFF is doing okay, you too, it's so soon after her mother's passing. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
:bighug: Fingers crossed for all good news. Maybe the calorie count on the Merrick isn't completely accurate and she just needs a little more food. I sure hope that's all it is!
 
I wonder if it's worth you looking at Astro's oil? It was developed for kidney issues but I think it helps with any sort of inflammation.
 
Hi again, Marje,
I'm glad that Gracie is a "10". But I know you will worry until you see the labs.
Rusty has lost weight, too: about a pound and a half since last April. His labs from November 2014 were perfect with the exception of GGT, which I understand has to do with liver/gall bladder. For the first time it was in the red column (it had always been less than zero). Vet thinks an ultrasound might be in order, but in this cold weather I really don't want to have him shaved. I know that you are very knowledgeable about such things and wonder if you could suggest other, more liver-specific, blood tests we might try first. Linda (Bear Man) mentioned, in addition to a "normal liver function panel", a bile-acids test. Do you have any experience with this?
Claudia (cjleo), Rusty's foster mamabean, said that one of her cats was successfully treated last summer for "bile sludge" with a drug called Ursodiol (Actigall). I'd be interested in your thoughts. (when you have time!).

Enjoy a good evening with your kitties,

Ella & Rusty
 
So glad Gracie checked out well at the vet!

Maybe LBG is just trying to slim down for swimsuit season. Was losing weight one of her new year resolutions?
 
I like those 10's. I think it's good to increase the cerenia as I don't know any cats getting such a small dose of 2mg. In pill form they don't even absorb all of what we give them. I hope all the tests are good when you hear back tomorrow.
 
Yay for a perfect 10...sending prayers that the labs are just as perfect, and that the weight loss is just a food change thing.
 
Good job, Gracie! I hope the labs are perfect too. Is there any chance she's getting more exercise these days with all the wrasseling? Maybe she's burning more calories these days.
 
Thank you all. I appreciate the thoughts and suggestions. I don't think I want to give her Astro's Oil right now...she's already getting enough sups but I'll keep that suggestion in my back pocket and appreciate it.

Ruth...you are right about the coat. When Gus was hyperT, it was evident. Teddi's coat never got ugly but she was just borderline altho we did have her on MMI.

Ella...I'll post on Rusty's condo. Yes, I have experience with the test and the ursodiol.

I do wonder if it's got something to do with the food. As an example, I had Tobey on WN and then switched him to Primal raw but gave him the same amount of calories. He has gained weight. I also wonder if it has to do with absorption and she's not absorbing the Merrick as well.
 
Well, we already knew Gracie was a 10, but it's nice to have official confirmation.:joyful: I'm glad all looked good to the vet. Sounds very thorough. It's frustrating, though, not to get answers.

When Minka was diagnosed with HyperT, she was running around like a madwoman, meowing a lot and eating a ton (kind of like she is on Mirtz). We didn't notice anything different about her fur, but her heart was racing. I hope Gracie's thyroid is normal.

Sending tons of good BW vines.
 
Thank you so much, Marje, for your comments on the bile/liver thing. I'm going to make an appointment for Rusty (who hardly ever vomits, so I think it must have been the food; unfortunately I didn't see it and Edward doesn't see very well!).

Fingers and paws crossed for good lab results tomorrow for Gracie.

Hugs and scritches,

Ella & Rusty
 
She could not find any weaknesses on her anywhere so she is confused as to why she is losing weight.

I think Gracie just got tired of Lupita calling her "shubby" :D
 
Hi Marje,
Holding healthy lab thoughts for Gracie today. Clare's done some tests today, too. It's good to have the information but I keep thinkng that the simplest explanation is usually the best so your thought about the calories and absorption of the different foods makes a lot of sense.
Hugs and scritches,
Georgette and Clare
 
Marje, sounds like Gracie got a very lovely report .... I'm sure her labs will be fine too! Her weight loss is probably just from the change in food. Fingers and paws all crossed for good lab report. Give Miss G a big kitty hug !
 
I'm hoping that she'll gain the weight back nicely for you. Good luck with the fud science. We've all been there, and some of us are going through it (newbies I'm sure). Try and have a good day. :coffee::bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top