1/20 Cleo AMPS 202, PMPS 278

Status
Not open for further replies.

chriscleo

Very Active Member
cleo's working off two late shots yesterday so it should take another shot to get her back down. she also had a mix of HC and LC dry food between AMPS & PMPS, and 2 or 3 bites of wet today.
BUT she's looking very spiffy and actually played for a few seconds a minute ago.

gave her 1st shot of ondansetron last night and she growled so i'm guessing i'll have to find another injection site. i'm wondering whether the ondansetron is making a difference for her already? i'm thinking it is. haven't given a second shot yet. wondering whether it has to build up and i should follow the BID shooting recommendation or i should just shoot PRN for now (only coz of the growling--she's only ever growled at B complex shots so now i give that in her fluids).

gave 2u skinny again because of the dry. vet recommended i go to 2u but i don't want to overdo it. we have to get her BG numbers down, tho, so we can concentrate more on her lymphoma treatment.
 
I give the (oral) Ondansetron BID. I figure it's better to prevent the nausea before it happens if possible. Cassandra will probably know what's really the best thing to do. I like the spiffy report.
 
chriscleo said:
gave her 1st shot of ondansetron last night and she growled so i'm guessing i'll have to find another injection site. i'm wondering whether the ondansetron is making a difference for her already? i'm thinking it is. haven't given a second shot yet. wondering whether it has to build up and i should follow the BID shooting recommendation or i should just shoot PRN for now (only coz of the growling--she's only ever growled at B complex shots so now i give that in her fluids).

Hi Chris,
In my experience with Latte, ondansetron injections sting...or are uncomfortable in some way. She does not like them. :sad: Though sometimes it almost does not seem to phase her. I think Ive figured (though not positive), if I push it slowly in she wiggles a lot less than if I push it fast.

There is no building up of it, that Im aware of. I give it twice/day. Most, but not all the time, when I skip or miss a shot....or if Im extra late...we end up with vomit at some point in the next 8hrs. Lots of people just give it prn. Since appetite is a little better, you might want to keep up with it twice/day for a few days, then take one shot away and see how it goes. Just hate to see a good thing disappear, ya know!

I read about the kibble last night. Just thought I would let you know that Latte gets to eat her kibble, too. Do i like it? No. Is it better than the alternative? yes! What kind of kibble are you allowing Cleo? EVO and Instinct are 'suppose' to be lower carb than the average. Not sure how true that is. I keep track of the kibble she eats on her ss, so I can see when and how long she spikes from it. I usually put it in that space below - like where you are putting your med times.

Glad to here cleo has a little spunk today! :mrgreen:
 
Linda has a good point....using the odansetron to PREVENT the nausea. Once nauseated its going to be hard to catch up.

Latte's specialist told us when we started the ondansetron over a year ago that it may actually take a week for her to get used to not being nauseated. Just wanted to mention that, in case you see the effects waxing and waning.
 
That's so funny. Ondansetron is the one shot Sasha didn't react to. She is a weird one....but I already knew that. ;-)

Given what you are trying to do with it, I'd probably try and get ahead of the nausea by giving BID too. It's like pain - once it is there it is difficult to get rid of. I'm not aware of any build up of it either. I usually could see a difference in Sasha within 30 minutes of a shot. It always worked faster than Cerenia did for her.

I'm liking Cleo's WCR today. :-D
 
lol, was just PMing to ask your opinion.
thanks, cassandra.
happier with this as an injectable than as another pill to fight cleo on. then we'd be talking scratching rather than growling. :)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top