Re: 1/2 Ozy PMPS-54,+1-67,+2-37,+3-66,4-75,+5-90,+6-110,+8-9
good morning john!
I'd encourage a more significantly reduced dose this morning. I know you did that in November and Donaleen didn't feel like it worked, but we are working with a different insulin now with a different situation.
If you think in terms of percentages, we reduce by 25% on kitties with 1u (typical) doses. or if a cat is getting 2u (another typical dose, a 0.25u reduction then is 12.5%.
On 6.5u, unless you want to be chasing low numbers all day, you're going to have to make a more significant reduction to allow the depot to drain some. When Punkin was coming down the dosing scale after his radiation treatment, I usually reduced by 1/2 or 1/3 to allow the depot to drain, then came back up under to a new slightly reduced dose on the subsequent shot. If you want to follow that model, this shot would be something like 4u, then tonight you would go to 6.0u. that's a reduction of slightly more than 30% this morning, and a "new" dose tonight that is about 10% less than the 6.5u.
Of course it's up to you guys, but i think the most significant factor to keep in mind is that the depot from the Lev corresponds to the size of the dose. previous doses can affect numbers for several cycles.