1/2 Ozy PMPS-54,+2-37,+3-66,+12-15,+13.5-88

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69

Good Morning John ~O)

Ozys first green PS on Lev! Very exciting! Ozy is on a roll :thumbup

Glad you are able to give Donaleen a break. It can be very exhausting at times and difficult to pace ones self. I know I could not have managed BKs wild ride without the help of my DBF Dominick.

I can't wait to see where he goes today!

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Some mighty fine shootin' going on around here :cool:
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69

Very nice Ozy. This kitty is rocking.

cats39.gif



Good luck with Ozy today John.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Thanks, Sandy. Bang, Bang. And thanks for stopping by, Laura.

I gave Ozy three doses of bupe in the last 24 hours. I think he really needed it and it made him feel good. It's wonderful to see him feel so good. I am going back to every 12 hours. Hopefully that is enough. I am changing the timing, though. I plan to do it at around +8 so it is in full effect for his major pre-shot meal. I want him to eat well then.

I am doing pretty well with the sleep deprivation and John is helping me get some rest. It's scarier when his numbers are low at night because I am afraid I will not wake up to care for him or even make stupid mistakes because I am not awake enough.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69

You guys are doing fantastically, john! Are you and Donaleen still considering moving Ozy's shot time so the nadirs are at a better time for you?

Go Ozy!! cat_pet_icon thrilled to see the little boy in such good numbers!
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Ozy looks beautiful today :-D I know, its so hard to wake up at night, I'm glad that your DH can help out. Hope your day goes well :-D
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

I'm also thrilled!!! What a turnaround and great way to start the NY.

As Sandy said, donaleen.....sleep when you can. Nap...whatever you can do whenever you can do it.

Good job John!!
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Yes, we are thinking of changing his shot time. But we have to figure out his mostly likely nadir time before we can do that. And Sandy said not to rock the boat with more changes now anyway.

We sleep more than most people, about nine hours. Aren't we lucky? Except, of course, I am up with him a lot. I spent most of the night on the sofa to avoid being too deeply asleep to respond. But the sofa also means my sleep is not as restful.

I am thrilled with Ozy's numbers and glad he is feeling good. A little concerned about what hurts him. The vet says pancreatitis. She really believes he has a smoldering kind that hurts most of the time.

And I am so glad we moved his shot location although his neck has lots of thick long hair and it isn't so easy to be sure of what I am shooting. If I spend too long digging around in his fur, he gets annoyed. But I want to avoid fur shots. We are shooting him after he eats. He doesn't like to be bothered when he is eating.

LOVE those new syringes. All of you reading this take note. The syringes DO matter.

donaleen
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

You can always shave a small patch of fur off his scruff and then just move around within that patch.

And yes...syringes do make a difference.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Not shaving him. I always feel bad when they shave them at the vet. Ozy's legs are still growing back from his dental. They shaved both a front one and a back one. Well, I guess I WOULD shave him if I HAD to but so far so good.

I am not worrying too much about varying the location yet. Just doing L in the AM and R in the PM (middle is reserved for R if we need to use it). As I get better at this, I will worry more about location.

And John says, thanks Marje and to tell you he made me breakfast, too. Eggs, fried potatoes, half a bagel and BACON (Ozy has a little of that... too little according to him).
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Ozy is rockin'! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You are doing a fabulous job, Donaleen and John, well on your way to earning Crazy Cat Person merit badges. :lol: :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

Thanks Liz and Suzanne.

To all of you who have congratulated us and said we are doing such a good job, I would say that it is while you are in the place where Suzanne is (and many others), that is when you are to be congratulated and supported and cheered on. That's the hard place. And it is really hard when things go backward. Ozy did well in September and everybody said good job and then he slipped back into pink hell and we were doing the same job but it just wasn't working. That was hard, hard, hard.

So to all of you who are in the hard unrewarding worrisome questioning place, I say YOU are doing a good job. And look what can happen.

I tell myself not to get attached to this place but I know I am getting attached and I know it will be hard if he slips again, especially for mysterious reasons.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

A green PS, that is wonderful to see. I also feel that you are doing an amazing job with Ozy. Sleep, nap when you can where ever you can. Syringes do matter, I agree 1000%.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112

donaleen and Ozy said:
Yes, we are thinking of changing his shot time. But we have to figure out his mostly likely nadir time before we can do that. And Sandy said not to rock the boat with more changes now anyway.
I think it would be OK to change schedule now if needed. All the moving parts (new insulin, dose, pain management, shot location, syringes) that were very much in motion last week are coming into alignment.

That said - You guys are on a roll :cool: Why tempt the fates?

donaleen and Ozy said:
Ozy did well in September and everybody said good job and then he slipped back into pink hell and we were doing the same job but it just wasn't working. That was hard, hard, hard.
donaleen and Ozy said:
I tell myself not to get attached to this place but I know I am getting attached and I know it will be hard if he slips again, especially for mysterious reasons.
He may slip and if he does then the focus will be on pinning down the possible reason, addressing it and getting him back on track.

I know that sinking feeling all to well, we had our share of ups and downs during the 21 months we treated BK. Thanks to the guidance and support of the folks here. . the last cat anyone thought would go to the Falls - did just that.
 

Attachments

  • BK insulin graph (600x337).jpg
    BK insulin graph (600x337).jpg
    67.3 KB · Views: 1,004
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94

Hi Lauren and Sandy. Thanks for stopping by! Sandy, I have been studying Black Kitty's SS. Oh the ketone problems you had! Oh my. And how LONNNNNG you went without him ever coming down to a good number. Yes, Black Kitty and Sandy should give us all hope.

I see that you changed the pink color to a less obnoxious shade that is more tolerable to look at. I considered that. That pink is so glaring and ugly.

I've been studying your R schedule and how you shot that according to his glucose level. A lot of it is mysterious to me. That could be partly sleep deprivation.

And 45 units? Oh, be still my heart. You can't even get that much in a syringe!

I can see that you were relentless and I can understand enough to see why they call you a role model. You are amazing.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94

donaleen and Ozy said:
And 45 units? Oh, be still my heart.
D/Noisy put that graph together as part of BKs OTJ party. It takes my breath away every time I see that graph . . .

Spirits were high in LL during the period of 'free fall' in BGs & insulin needs that took place when the IAA broke, from 11/2008 - 04/2009.
BKs dose was down to 3.25u Lantus and no R!
All sorts of good natured , tongue in cheek comments were posted in BKs condo, about how BK had become a 'micro dose' kitty, along with questions about whether I was having difficulty drawing such a small amount. . . :lol: :lol: :lol:


Then the pink returned, then the red. . .it was devastating reverting to increases again. .
However, thanks to a well timed big ol' yawn on BKs part, I noticed redness in his gums, around a back tooth, which we addressed.

Then it was time to fasten our seat belts once again for the wild and crazy slide to the Falls :cool:
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62

Yes, isn't it Liz? I love these Black Kitty stories. More, more.

How low will Ozy go today?
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62

It's true that it is very discouraging when you can't seem to get your kitty's BGs under control, and as much as you know how to, you're doing everything right. I well remember that feeling, especially when the dose goes up and up and you don't know where it will end. You absolutely have to not compare yourself to the non-high-dose kitties in that situation. Each cat gets what they need. You're making me remember how hard it is sometimes.

but on a positive note, wouldn't it be great if we could bottle the feelings today of Ozy doing so well, and pull them out to help get through the days when he isn't as well!

just enjoy the moment. hugs, julie
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52

Thanks, Julie.

Well, we are at 52 at +8 so I fed him 1 ounce of medium carb (15%) instead of his usual ounce of low carb (5%). I split a can of Fancy Feast, giving each cat 1 ounce. Pippin and Harpo are both quite thin so a little medium carb is good for them, too. Everyone ate happily. Ozy was the slowest eater, which was amazing in itself.

Thanks for the grins, Sandy.

I also buped Ozy. It's been just about 12 hours and he had totally entered his escape sleep mode. I am adjusting the bupe timing so he is up when we can enjoy his company and also so the bupe is in effect when he has his big meals at shot time. Good plan?

Update @AM+8.5: Sitting at the back door watching the birds and now sitting in donaleen's lap purring away. Still hungry. - John
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69

Okay... +9 and he is at 69. I was a little afraid the carbs would kick him up too far but I think 69 is a good number. Do you? I couldn't wait to get advice. Was it the best thing to feed him MC?

He seems to be still hungry. Is it okay to feed him this hour or should I wait till PMPS?
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69

Wow! Beautiful day for Ozy today. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Seems like he likes to nadir earlier when he starts lower - a pattern I'm familiar with.

I think you are OK feeding up to two hours before you do your PS test. Neko always gets a +9-9.5 snack during the day.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69

I think 69 is a fabulous number.
Is the amount of food he has eaten today equal to what he normally has consumed on any given day?

In general I did not feed BK after +10 so as not to cloud a PS with a food spike.

If Ozy is hungry I would test real quick to make sure he is not wanting to bring a low number up.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69

Yes..I think it was just fine to feed him as you did.

And you are also wise to not get attached.....it is hard but if there are no expectations, there is only what is in the moment and the moment is fantastic!
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69

Woohoo, Ozy! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: We write everything down in a little notebook so that we can see what Zener does in a given situation. Very helpful for deciding what to do next time.
Liz
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+4-94,+6-62,+8-52,+9-69,+10-74

We had a neighbor stop by... I had to pause my crazy cat lady routine... it was hard.

Wendy, good of you to point that early nadir pattern out.... lower start, earlier nadir. Thanks!

Sandy, Ozy did NOT eat as much as usual. Doing better at the end of the cycle. I don't feed Ozy after +10. I did check him at just before +10 and he is good.

Marje, Thanks. I am not wise. I AM attached, but I know I shouldn't be. Not wise.

Liz, Good tip, especially when he is low. I need crib notes then.

Very playful at +10... pouncing on the tape measure and chased a bit. Very unusual. Usually plays in place with legs in air on back. Very exciting to see.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,+11-55

If you're nervous, get a test at +11.5.

Have you given any thought to a small, maintenance dose of bupe? It's best to stay ahead of pain vs. trying to catch up to managing it.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,+11-55

Back up to 65 at 11 plus 20 minutes.

Sienne,

What do you mean maintenance dose? Isn't that what I am doing? I am giving him .2 ml every 12 hours except on days like yesterday, which are rare, when I give it to him every 8 hours. And, especially after our recent discussion, I was not intending to stop with the bupe. Did you mean something else?

thanks
donaleen
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,+11-55

donaleen

Remember that a lower number at PS is pretty typical for levemir. At of times, I'll just give Gracie a tiny bit of boiled chicken breast to keep her from dropping below 50 at shot time. It usually just keeps her flat. It's ok if you want to do that but I wouldn't give anything much or anything with much carbs.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,+11-55

Super. If he goes back down, it's just a second dip. If it's above 50 ...and it should be....SHOOOOOOTTTTTTT!
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,PMPS-54

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
Ozyland has converted to the Emerald City today!
Again - that there is some mighty fine shootin.
Amazing!
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,PMPS-54

Thanks, Sandy ... it's hard to breathe! And very exciting. Good to have you here. Any advice on testing timing?
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,PMPS-54

I know the feeling well.

I would get a +1 - Ozy and you are in new territory here.
Ozy is surprising us all.

How is Ozy? Are his ears holding up to all the pokes?
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,+9-69,PMPS-54

Yes, his ears are doing pretty well. He is so dear. I wish you could have seen him playing. I was beside myself with joy.

I will get a +1.

Thank you so much.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1-67

donaleen and Ozy said:
Yes, his ears are doing pretty well. He is so dear. I wish you could have seen him playing. I was beside myself with joy.
Glad to hear his ears are holding up.
And the playing -wonderful! What a difference a few days can make!

Playing is great exercise. Have you ever tried a laser pointer type of device? BK goes crazy chasing the red dot. I run him the entire length of BK central , then back again; we call it ''kitty laps'. For variety I'll make the red dot creep around a corner, just enough to get his attention and then pull it back. He then goes into stalking mode.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51

I would love to get him moving like that...

I fed Ozy a little chicken. The 51 at this point scares me.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51

Easy does it there Ozy! :cool:

feed that 51 a teaspoon of HC gravy and test again in 15-20 mins.

I'm finished shoveling snow for the night - I'll be here with you. No worries :cool:
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51

Remember about the lev second dip? Or this could even be his nadir but my guess is he's taking a little more of a second dip.

You will find out by how he responds to the food. If he goes up up, then it was the end of the mornings cycle. If he goes down, he possibly hasn't quite nadired. The good part of that is he will get some nice carryover and overlap and just possibly keep cruising in flat green.

The flip side is, he has a pretty big depot and when he onsets, he could come down more. THis happened to me this morning.....when I saw Gracie headed down fast by +2, I started feeding higher carb food but before I could get her stopped, she onset. Her depot was full and it dropped her into the 30s.

So be sure you have your hypo kit ready and stay on top of the numbers. If I had to guess, I think Ozy may be flirting with a reduction. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

Just saw the +2. Looks like my crystal ball is reading loud and clear. Congrats on the reduction Ozy!!

I'd give more HC gravy and if you think it won't bring him up, add a drop of karo or syrup or honey. Retest in 30.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

Fed Ozy 1 tsp HC food and 1/4 tsp maple syrup. Tested again 10 minutes later @ 10:26 BG reading 43. Will check again soon and post. John
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

1/4 tsp of syrup is a lot. It takes about 30 mins from plate to meter so the 43 is likely what you fed him earlier or he's on the way up. I'd give him 30 mins after the 1/4 tsp syrup before you test again.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

I don't know that it is that much for him... on 11/30, for example, he was at 42 and it took an hour and a half and three times to bring him up with drops of maple syrup from 42 to 52....
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

I forget he is a big guy. I'm used to my little one.

Suggestion when you can. : pls edit subject line and drop a.m, numbers so you have room for p.m. Makes it easier to watch him :-D

Sandy is going to be up with you ok? I am about to go to bed since she is up. I'll check in one more time just to be sure where he is.

He has earned a reduction. I want Sandy to weigh in on how much but I would think 0.25u. I wouldn't shoot through any bounce IMHO.
 
Re: 1/2 Ozy AMPS-69,+2-112,+8-52,PMPS-54,+1.66-51,+2-37

Reduction - did I enter the wrong condo? :razz:

How is Ozy behaving?
donaleen and Ozy said:
I don't know that it is that much for him... on 11/30, for example, he was at 42 and it took an hour and a half and three times to bring him up with drops of maple syrup from 42 to 52...

Lets take it one test at a time. Ozy is full of surprises. :cool:
Marje and Gracie said:
I want Sandy to weigh in on how much but I would think 0.25u. I wouldn't shoot through any bounce IMHO.
Agreed
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top