Mady & Egon
Member Since 2025
Gave him a little churu and fancy feast when his number was 48 this morning at +10. Then he started having a seizure do I need to go to the vet now? He stopped seizing. I put a little honey on his gums.
Yes. He has iaa but not acroI would call your vet. You're probably seeing a post-ictal response.
Have you had labs run for acromegaly and/or insulin auto-antibodies (insulin resistance)? Egon is at a high dose and it's helpful to know if either or both of these high dose conditions are present.
DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out. A good example of why this is important is in this post from an experienced member (now Moderator) who was struggling to get her kitty's numbers to rise.
I’m not exactly sure what you mean by a buffer. His vet was pretty specific on having a low carb food to help reduce his insulin requirement. I’d rather increase his reduction point than increase his carb load. She was always concerned about how low I was allowing his numbers to go too…..Sorry - I missed the info in your signature.
You may want to consider a food that's a bit higher in carbs. It may give you a buffer.
I gave him fancy feast which is 3.24% which is much higher than he usually gets.Mady, How frightening this must have been! I hope you get some answers soon on the dose decrease.
When Egon runs a bit low like he did in this last cycle, do you feed him a MC or HC food to get the numbers bumped up a bit?
He might have needed something a bit higher just to get him boosted out of those lower numbers.I gave him fancy feast which is 3.24% which is much higher than he usually gets.
I read back to some old threads with kitty seizures and it looks like he should be ok because this was a one off and definitely hypo related. I’ll monitor his numbers closely and I’ll increase his reduction point. He’s gotten twitchy around 50 in the past and I always thought I should increase the reduction number so this confirms that. The 40s can be dangerous for him. Probably will change it to 60. But would love some experts to weigh in on that.
Oh yes totally!! I could see that being a contributing factor.He might have needed something a bit higher just to get him boosted out of those lower numbers.
I wonder if the fact that he surfed low through the entire cycle might have contributed to the hypo episode? Once, I kept Jude surfing through a cycle by feeding him MC to keep from taking a back-to-back reduction. He remained in the 50s for most of the cycle, and at the end, he got really feisty with me, and I feel certain that his unusual behavior was low-bg related, and that it was likely caused by him staying in lower numbers so long through that cycle. He's had lower numbers before, but it was like the fact that I held him at a lower point for so long had a greater effect on how his body responded to those numbers, if that makes sense.
ECID, but clearly the >60s are too low for Egon. Is he seemingly back to normal now??
What’s BCSJust catching up, I’m a bit concerned that you had symptoms. If the insulin resistance is breaking, my thought might be to do a BCS now and then see where you are at in the evening for dose.
That’s ok. Ok, I’m going to delay until hes rising and we have the HC food. Then I’ll give 5.5u (60% of 9.5u). I’d honestly rather he bounce high than tank.Sorry Mady, it’s when you do maybe like a half dose or 60%. I shouldn’t be giving you silly acronyms![]()
Oooo ok. I’m happy with that plan too. Better safe than sorry. Maybe just 4u? Wendy said it’s always best to give at least a little insulin because his body needs it more ways than just bringing down his numbers.Or a skip might be best to drain the depot. I was trying to go back to a few cats who had IAA where the resistance broke.
Ok copy on all fronts. We will be extra careful. Thank you!Coincidentally, @Seth&Bell just had an episode with Bell a couple nights ago. She too is IAA positive. I'm going to post for you one link that I posted for him: How Low is Too Low?
There comes a point with an IAA kitty where the antibodies can start breaking, around a yearish. It's been about a year since he was diagnosed again with diabetes. One month ago he was on 13 units and now 10.5 units is too much. I would be extra cautious now, he may be wanting less insulin for the next while. That includes a bit more testing in those cycles he starts out green. When Neko's IAA broke and combined with just having had SRT treatment, I raised her reduction point to 70, to give me a little more room for safety. You might want to see if that works for you. Doing one time reduced doses or back to back reductions may also have to be considered for safety. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Mady and Egon.
I would try 9.5 units as his next dose.
I’m so sorry to hear about the seizure! I’m glad Egon is doing ok now. So glad you were there to catch it!@Seth&Bell i hope you and bell are doing ok. Egon is sending kitty hugs your way. Seizures are scary!
Good read indeed.I’m so sorry to hear about the seizure! I’m glad Egon is doing ok now. So glad you were there to catch it!
The other night Bell started to lose control of her hind legs and was stumbling around. She was also extremely hungry. Her BG was around 50 at the time. After I got some higher carbs in her, she was back to normal. That link Wendy sent was a really good read. Surf safe, Egon!!