1/2 Egon had a seizure

I would call your vet. You're probably seeing a post-ictal response.

Have you had labs run for acromegaly and/or insulin auto-antibodies (insulin resistance)? Egon is at a high dose and it's helpful to know if either or both of these high dose conditions are present.
 
I would call your vet. You're probably seeing a post-ictal response.

Have you had labs run for acromegaly and/or insulin auto-antibodies (insulin resistance)? Egon is at a high dose and it's helpful to know if either or both of these high dose conditions are present.
Yes. He has iaa but not acro
 
Oh no! Poor Eagon! 😣

I'm not experienced enough to give any real advice, but don't forget to keep a close eye on him:

DO NOT become complacent. If numbers have risen after one or two tests, it’s important to continue testing. Numbers may bobble up and down as the HC food and/or Karo wear off. DO NOT get one test where your cat has risen from low numbers into the 50s and go to sleep or leave the house. You are putting your cat in a risky situation. When in doubt, leave HC food out. A good example of why this is important is in this post from an experienced member (now Moderator) who was struggling to get her kitty's numbers to rise.
 
Sorry - I missed the info in your signature.

You may want to consider a food that's a bit higher in carbs. It may give you a buffer.
 
Sorry - I missed the info in your signature.

You may want to consider a food that's a bit higher in carbs. It may give you a buffer.
I’m not exactly sure what you mean by a buffer. His vet was pretty specific on having a low carb food to help reduce his insulin requirement. I’d rather increase his reduction point than increase his carb load. She was always concerned about how low I was allowing his numbers to go too…..
 
Also wondering what dose I should give him this morning. His numbers are probably going to soar with the food I just gave him. But I’m guessing I should reduce to 9.5u. What do you think?
 
Mady, How frightening this must have been! I hope you get some answers soon on the dose decrease.
When Egon runs a bit low like he did in this last cycle, do you feed him a MC or HC food to get the numbers bumped up a bit?
I gave him fancy feast which is 3.24% which is much higher than he usually gets.

I read back to some old threads with kitty seizures and it looks like he should be ok because this was a one off and definitely hypo related. I’ll monitor his numbers closely and I’ll increase his reduction point. He’s gotten twitchy around 50 in the past and I always thought I should increase the reduction number so this confirms that. The 40s can be dangerous for him. Probably will change it to 60. But would love some experts to weigh in on that.
 
I gave him fancy feast which is 3.24% which is much higher than he usually gets.

I read back to some old threads with kitty seizures and it looks like he should be ok because this was a one off and definitely hypo related. I’ll monitor his numbers closely and I’ll increase his reduction point. He’s gotten twitchy around 50 in the past and I always thought I should increase the reduction number so this confirms that. The 40s can be dangerous for him. Probably will change it to 60. But would love some experts to weigh in on that.
He might have needed something a bit higher just to get him boosted out of those lower numbers.

I wonder if the fact that he surfed low through the entire cycle might have contributed to the hypo episode? Once, I kept Jude surfing through a cycle by feeding him MC to keep from taking a back-to-back reduction. He remained in the 50s for most of the cycle, and at the end, he got really feisty with me, and I feel certain that his unusual behavior was low-bg related, and that it was likely caused by him staying in lower numbers so long through that cycle. He's had lower numbers before, but it was like the fact that I held him at a lower point for so long had a greater effect on how his body responded to those numbers, if that makes sense.

ECID, but clearly the >60s are too low for Egon. Is he seemingly back to normal now??
 
He might have needed something a bit higher just to get him boosted out of those lower numbers.

I wonder if the fact that he surfed low through the entire cycle might have contributed to the hypo episode? Once, I kept Jude surfing through a cycle by feeding him MC to keep from taking a back-to-back reduction. He remained in the 50s for most of the cycle, and at the end, he got really feisty with me, and I feel certain that his unusual behavior was low-bg related, and that it was likely caused by him staying in lower numbers so long through that cycle. He's had lower numbers before, but it was like the fact that I held him at a lower point for so long had a greater effect on how his body responded to those numbers, if that makes sense.

ECID, but clearly the >60s are too low for Egon. Is he seemingly back to normal now??
Oh yes totally!! I could see that being a contributing factor.

Yes he seems a little dazed but I would understand that for just having had a seizure. If that persists, I will call his vet.
 
Tested - @+11.75 67 going in for the 6% carb food. Numbers aren’t rising as much as I’d like. Since I’m not hearing back from experts I’m going to do 9.5u on his amps (I’d rather go too low on dosing this am) Thinking about running up to the store for some even higher carb food
 
Just catching up, I’m a bit concerned that you had symptoms. If the insulin resistance is breaking, my thought might be to do a BCS now and then see where you are at in the evening for dose.
 
Or delay shot for another hour and see if you can catch the number rising a bit. It’s hard with Egon since he likes his late nadirs, but if the insulin resistance is breaking, it’s not really like any specific dosing method applies.
 
How far from usual shot time are you? Maybe Wendy will see the tag before you get too far from it. I just know with IAA in the mix the numbers can get away from you and dosing becomes a bit of a challenge.
 
Or a skip might be best to drain the depot. I was trying to go back to a few cats who had IAA where the resistance broke.
Oooo ok. I’m happy with that plan too. Better safe than sorry. Maybe just 4u? Wendy said it’s always best to give at least a little insulin because his body needs it more ways than just bringing down his numbers.

I’m 13 min past our usual amps so I have time to stall.
 
Egon says thank you for the help!

IMG_3921.jpeg
 
That’s very true. I think my concern was that he had symptoms and sometimes that can make them more sensitive to insulin. You’re not that far from usual shot time, so perhaps let’s see if he’s still hanging in the 50s.
 
I’m not much help, I keep waffling between giving some insulin like 4 or 5u and no shot, because he had a seizure earlier. Had it not been for that, I wouldn’t be as concerned.
 
That’s ok. Our usual shot is at 10a. My gut is telling me if I haven’t heard from Wendy by 11:30 I’ll go for 4u and long as he's rising and not tanking. I’m home all day and can keep a really close eye on him.
 
I do think a one time reduced dose would help drain the depot some, but when I looked back on when you had some fur shots the large depot really kind of kept him trucking along. If you’re already about 1/2 hour past and if his numbers are in the 60s, you could try the half dose or 4u. Stalling too much past one hour from usual shot time already acts a bit like a reduction as well but the depot can affect at least the first part of the cycle.
 
omg how are u guys now?!!! thats right.. sometimes lower numbers like that can do that.. cuz ecid.. glad they put that stickie up.. read it when you get the chance. i follow that. always have..

hows he doing????? 😭😭😭🫶🏼

im no expert but should there maybe be a skip? get him to the vet??.. have him checked?..

help 😭🫶🏼 @Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee
 
Last edited:
Coincidentally, @Seth&Bell just had an episode with Bell a couple nights ago. She too is IAA positive. I'm going to post for you one link that I posted for him: How Low is Too Low?

There comes a point with an IAA kitty where the antibodies can start breaking, around a yearish. It's been about a year since he was diagnosed again with diabetes. One month ago he was on 13 units and now 10.5 units is too much. I would be extra cautious now, he may be wanting less insulin for the next while. That includes a bit more testing in those cycles he starts out green. When Neko's IAA broke and combined with just having had SRT treatment, I raised her reduction point to 70, to give me a little more room for safety. You might want to see if that works for you. Doing one time reduced doses or back to back reductions may also have to be considered for safety. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Mady and Egon.

I would try 9.5 units as his next dose.
 
Hoping Egon's doing better now! I've had some experience with terrifying hypo symptoms, and you have all my sympathy. ❤️ Sounds like you kept a cooler head than I did!
 
Coincidentally, @Seth&Bell just had an episode with Bell a couple nights ago. She too is IAA positive. I'm going to post for you one link that I posted for him: How Low is Too Low?

There comes a point with an IAA kitty where the antibodies can start breaking, around a yearish. It's been about a year since he was diagnosed again with diabetes. One month ago he was on 13 units and now 10.5 units is too much. I would be extra cautious now, he may be wanting less insulin for the next while. That includes a bit more testing in those cycles he starts out green. When Neko's IAA broke and combined with just having had SRT treatment, I raised her reduction point to 70, to give me a little more room for safety. You might want to see if that works for you. Doing one time reduced doses or back to back reductions may also have to be considered for safety. Note to any lurkers, this suggestion is only for Mady and Egon.

I would try 9.5 units as his next dose.
Ok copy on all fronts. We will be extra careful. Thank you!
 
@Seth&Bell i hope you and bell are doing ok. Egon is sending kitty hugs your way. Seizures are scary!
I’m so sorry to hear about the seizure! I’m glad Egon is doing ok now. So glad you were there to catch it!

The other night Bell started to lose control of her hind legs and was stumbling around. She was also extremely hungry. Her BG was around 50 at the time. After I got some higher carbs in her, she was back to normal. That link Wendy sent was a really good read. Surf safe, Egon!!
 
I’m so sorry to hear about the seizure! I’m glad Egon is doing ok now. So glad you were there to catch it!

The other night Bell started to lose control of her hind legs and was stumbling around. She was also extremely hungry. Her BG was around 50 at the time. After I got some higher carbs in her, she was back to normal. That link Wendy sent was a really good read. Surf safe, Egon!!
Good read indeed.
Glad bell is feeling back to normal!!
 
Back
Top