1/2 Eddie AMPS/131, +4/53 , +9/111, PMPS/128, +1/101, +3/69, +5/71

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Eddie's 1/1 Condo

Yesterday: AMPS/162, +1/139, +2/139, +3/106, +4/77, +6.5/61, +7/84, +8/83, +9/88, PMPS/135, +1/118, +2/96, +3/61, +3.5/56, +4/57, +5/65, +6/72, +7/90, +8/88, +9/91
Today: AMPS/131, +1/170, +2/130, +3/73, +4/53, +4.5/55, +5.5/64, +6.5/79, +7/82, +8/90, +9/111, +10/131, PMPS/128, +1/101, +2/97, +3/69, +4/74, +5/71, +6/76

Hello LL!

Thanks for the late night visits to Eddie's condo Marje, Tricia and Serryn!

A couple nice cycles for Eddie yesterday, and the AM cycle today is looking pretty nice as well. His AMPS of 131 this morning makes me happy! I hope his pre-shots keep coming down a bit on their own as he settles in to this dose. Eddie's been flirting around in the 50's but has yet to go below 50 on this dose. I'm definitely OK with Eddie holding on to a dose and staying nice and steady for a while. What? Eddie and the phrase "nice and steady" in the same sentence? Never thought that would happen!

Non-urgent question: Is there some kind of pattern to watch for that suggests that a kitty might benefit from a +9 snack? I did it for probably 5-6 cycles, but I'm not sure whether it did anything or not, as Eddie was dropping in dose and doing some bouncing at that point. It's been probably a week and a half since we last did any sort of late cycle snack.

Have a good day everyone!
 
Last edited:
Looking so good, Jen. Thanks for cheering Max along too. I tried the +9 snack a few times not knowing if it was a goo idea but Max never seems hungry then and I usually go out at that time and return for his pre-shot to end up picking up the food before I leave. It will be interesting to see your responses to this question.
 
Another nice cycle today. :D:D

The +9 snack is used to see if the pancreas can supply insulin on it's own. Food should stimulate insulin production if the pancreas is functioning, resulting in a lowering of the BG a few hours later. If this works at +9, you should see a lowering or evening off of the BG, not the normal rise at preshot. It usually only works for cats that are on a very low dose and getting ready for a trial.
 
looking good!

Usually I don't suggest a +9 snack until a cat is almost ready to go OTJ. I would generally suggest it if they are on a dose of 0.1u and all the numbers except the preshots are good. Otherwise it might be counterproductive to give extra food late in the cycle, when the insulin is wearing off.
 
Hi Carla, Ann and Libby! Thanks so much for your visits!

Ann and Libby - Thank you so much for your input on the +9 snack. Before I saw your responses, I saw that Eddie had started to head up at +9 (111) so for the heck of it, I did feed him a little bit of FF at +9 just to see what would happen. His +10 was 131 which is probably a food bump from the snack, but at PMPS, he either held flat or went down slightly at 128. Maybe a little double dip or maybe the food helped? Either way, I'm very pleased that his pre-shots are seeing to come down a bit. :woot:

Throughout Eddie's dance, we've done a lot of moving around of his meal times, particularly to try to help with his bouncing. When he started diving, we started splitting his meals into PS, +1, +2, and +3 which seemed to help more or less. We've continued to feed in that same manner even though Eddie's bouncing has recently improved (anti-jinx, knock-on-wood). Now that he's bouncing far less is there any reason to change his feeding patterns? Or, anything else food wise to help improve his numbers?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top