1/2 Ailish: AMPS: 314, +5 227, +7.75 184, PMPS: 172, +.5 172

Ailish’s Brother

Member Since 2024
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-1-ailish-amps-189-after-30-min-181.296174/

Well last night she was flat yellows so I wanted to see if I could sneak back up to 1.5 to make consistent dosing easier till I get my calipers on Friday, since as @Wendy&Neko pointed out, she hadn’t really earned the reduction anyway.

Today she did great holding in the blue lagoon, but she decided to stay in there at dinner time, even with the 30 min warning (withholding food and re-testing)

I’m not sure how holding 1.50 would compound overnight with the depot, so I am going to stick with my original plan of 1.25 and work on eyeballing it till the calipers get here. I don’t want to keep moving her dose as I know that’s not great for long acting deposit insulins.

As always I appreciate advice and insight from my more experienced peers.
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-1-ailish-amps-189-after-30-min-181.296174/

Well last night she was flat yellows so I wanted to see if I could sneak back up to 1.5 to make consistent dosing easier till I get my calipers on Friday, since as @Wendy&Neko pointed out, she hadn’t really earned the reduction anyway.

Today she did great holding in the blue lagoon, but she decided to stay in there at dinner time, even with the 30 min warning (withholding food and re-testing)

I’m not sure how holding 1.50 would compound overnight with the depot, so I am going to stick with my original plan of 1.25 and work on eyeballing it till the calipers get here. I don’t want to keep moving her dose as I know that’s not great for long acting deposit insulins.

As always I appreciate advice and insight from my more experienced peers.
Question for the crowd. Do you all test first, feed then re- poke and test before giving insulin??
(Since I use a Libre I don’t do that, unless she’s very low)
 
My suggestion yesterday was to stick with 1.25 for a few days to build depot and see how it's going to do before increasing. Unless you see an under 90 of course. Today and to some extent tomorrow, may still be seeing some 1.75 unit depot action.

Beware of responding to higher preshots, sometimes cats go high before they go low. Focus on nadirs.

Your SS says no more kibble? How is that going? You can update the signature to the current food.
 
I’ll keep that in mind, 90 as a nadir is the reduction for SLGS right?

I also got a question, I saw her have a drop of 125 on 11/28, from 380-255. Should I use this as a baseline of how far she can drop in a single cycle or is it meaningless as it was with a diff dose/ depot?

She’s been away from it for two days, gonna update it if it carries through tomorrow
 
Yes, if you see anything below 90 it means an immediate 0.25 unit reduction.
I saw her have a drop of 125 on 11/28, from 380-255.
Should I use this as a baseline of how far she can drop in a single cycle or is it meaningless as it was with a diff dose/ depot?
Not meaningless as it was a different dose/depot, but meaningless for another reason. First, cats are cats and like to be different. The other thing to consider is that Lantus is really good at keeping cycles very flat when you shoot low numbers. Neko could vey easily drop over 300 points when I shot high numbers, but when I shot in the 80's, she often wouldn't move more than 10 points the entire cycle. I was following TR and using Levemir and she was better regulated then.

You might want to reread the Sticky Note on the Insulin Depot, with the paragraph starting "Have you ever wondered why, when you are giving the same amount of insulin every time, the response is different in each cycle?" A good explanation there of cycles can be variable.
 
You might want to reread the Sticky Note on the Insulin Depot, with the paragraph starting "Have you ever wondered why, when you are giving the same amount of insulin every time, the response is different in each cycle?" A good explanation there of cycles can be variable.

I’ll go back and re-read it with a focus on that paragraph, thanks!
 
Back
Top