1/19 PASHA AMPS 119, +4 104, +7 133, PMPS 130, +3 122

AYDA & PASHA

Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...122-pmps-130-1-137-4-130.297588/#post-3238153

Hello Admin,

Apparently Pasha needs some dental work done, possibly two teeth extractions. My vet thinks we should wait until he is in remission but Admin here thinks we should have it done right now like ASAP. I will get in touch with my regular vet tomorrow to have a referral sent to a dentistry doctor at the Veterinary Clinic.

Tight Regulation: I think Pasha and I are ready to start our journey on TR. I am new to this but I have handled 4 hypos in the recent past (or at least two by this group's standards) and I feel confident I can handle it. By the same token, I still would like to have someone assist and guide me on this journey, especially when we get a hypo situation.

On a side note, I have switched to a low phosphorus and low carb diet as of today. My vet wasn't very happy with Fancy Feast because of its high phosphorus content. My Pasha seems to enjoy it so far.

Thank you so much.

Ayda.
 
Last edited:
Here's your link for yesterday's post. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-133-6-133-7-137-pmps-137-3-130-7-106.297573/

Don't copy the title...copy the link itself (copy the link from the address bar....like where you'd type www.facebook dot com if you wanted to sign into FB)

You can also click on the little #1 in the bottom right corner of your post from yesterday and then copy the link I circled. (like the picture I posted in this thread https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-126-3-121-9-122-pmps-130-1-137-4-130.297588/)


My Pasha seems to enjoy it so far.

You're very lucky!! With my China (my first sugarcat), I tried to wean her off the Fancy Feast and onto the Weruva that was better for her and all she did was try to bury it like a poop in the litterbox...LOL.

I'm glad you've chosen to do TR. It will give her the best chance at remission and you test more than enough to keep her safe. Remember, your "take action" point is under 3.8 (68) on the Alpha Trak. If she's getting a little too close for comfort, give her a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. A lot of times that little snack can help them level out instead of dropping any more.

Just FYI...we don't have any official "Admins" or dosing experts here. We have a few Moderators but their main job is more "housekeeping". (but they are very experienced and are among the members who are comfortable giving dosing advice and helping with emergencies) Different members are comfortable with different levels of advice. Some are great about the "getting started" stuff but aren't comfortable giving dose advice and some don't have a lot of time to deal with new members just getting started and will concentrate most of their time on answering questions, giving dose advice and watching the board for 911's.
 
Last edited:
Here's your link for yesterday's post. https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-133-6-133-7-137-pmps-137-3-130-7-106.297573/

Don't copy the title...copy the link itself (copy the link from the address bar....like where you'd type www.facebook dot com if you wanted to sign into FB)

You can also click on the little #1 in the bottom right corner of your post from yesterday and then copy the link I circled. (like the picture I posted in this thread https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-126-3-121-9-122-pmps-130-1-137-4-130.297588/)




You're very lucky!! With my China (my first sugarcat), I tried to wean her off the Fancy Feast and onto the Weruva that was better for her and all she did was try to bury it like a poop in the litterbox...LOL.

I'm glad you've chosen to do TR. It will give her the best chance at remission and you test more than enough to keep her safe. Remember, your "take action" point is under 3.8 (68) on the Alpha Trak. If she's getting a little too close for comfort, give her a teaspoon or two of her regular low carb food and test again in 30 minutes. A lot of times that little snack can help them level out instead of dropping any more.

Just FYI...we don't have any official "Admins" or dosing experts here. We have a few Moderators but their main job is more "housekeeping". (but they are very experienced and are among the members who are comfortable giving dosing advice and helping with emergencies) Different members are comfortable with different levels of advice. Some are great about the "getting started" stuff but aren't comfortable giving dose advice and some don't have a lot of time to deal with new members just getting started and will concentrate most of their time on answering questions, giving dose advice and watching the board for 911's.
Argh! Sorry! I forgot. yes I'll copy the url next time :)

Yes to TR. A bit nervous about it. Will you guide me when I need a dose change?
 
I hope you can convince your vet to do the dental now rather than waiting for remission. The catch-22 is that cats often cannot get regulated, much less be in remission before getting a dental. You are lucky that Pasha is doing so well so far. If your vet is uncomfortable doing the dental, perhaps they will give you a referral to a dental specialist. Neko's first dental was done by her regular dentist when she was regularly seeing numbers over 400. So it's a comfort thing for the vet and how much experience they have with dentals on diabetics. Dental vet specialists have loads of experience on older and more complicated cats and that's where I took Neko after she started adding a few more medical conditions to her resume.

When you are following TR for dosing, you hold the dose for 6-10 cycles (3-5 days) when the lowest nadirs you are seeing are blue (over 100 or 5.5). But the goal with that AT meter is to see some upper green numbers. It's time for an increase to 0.75 units. You've been at this dose for 15 cycles.

We do have an admin here, his name is Robert, but he is the system admin. He doesn't help out with cats and dosing, just making sure the server is running properly from the technical side of things.
 
I hope you can convince your vet to do the dental now rather than waiting for remission. The catch-22 is that cats often cannot get regulated, much less be in remission before getting a dental. You are lucky that Pasha is doing so well so far. If your vet is uncomfortable doing the dental, perhaps they will give you a referral to a dental specialist. Neko's first dental was done by her regular dentist when she was regularly seeing numbers over 400. So it's a comfort thing for the vet and how much experience they have with dentals on diabetics. Dental vet specialists have loads of experience on older and more complicated cats and that's where I took Neko after she started adding a few more medical conditions to her resume.

When you are following TR for dosing, you hold the dose for 6-10 cycles (3-5 days) when the lowest nadirs you are seeing are blue (over 100 or 5.5). But the goal with that AT meter is to see some upper green numbers. It's time for an increase to 0.75 units. You've been at this dose for 15 cycles.

We do have an admin here, his name is Robert, but he is the system admin. He doesn't help out with cats and dosing, just making sure the server is running properly from the technical side of things.
Thank you @Wendy&Neko
So tomorrow morning I will increase his dose by 0.25 to 0.75. I will monitor closely afterwards.
I am planning to get in touch with the vet tomorrow to see if she can refer Pasha to a dental surgeon experienced with diabetes. I also hope I will be able to convince her.
Hope the server is up and running smoothly. Thanks very much Robert. What's Robert's profile name? I could not tag him.
 
Here are the explanations of the two dosing methods, TR and SLGS

The main differences are:

1. The point where you reduce. On TR it's when they drop below 3.8(68), on SLGS, it's below 5 (90).

2. On TR, you hold the same dose for 3 days (unless they earn a reduction by dropping below 3.8) and if he's not getting numbers where we want him, you can increase by 0.25. (there are times when you'd hold it longer, but with TR you're not holding a dose that's obviously not working). You also need to be feeding low carb canned or raw. No kibble.

On SLGS, you hold the same dose for 7 days and then run a curve (test every 2 hours for 12 hours). Depending on the numbers you've gotten, you might need to increase. The "bad" part about SLGS is that extra time. Even if he's not getting where we want him, you still hold the same dose for 7 days which can let some glucose toxicity set in. SLGS is recommended more for people who can't (or won't) test often enough OR are feeding their cat kibble, even low carb kibble.

Will you guide me when I need a dose change?

Somebody will but it won't necessarily be me. If you have a question about dosing, use the ? prefix in your Subject line and maybe add "Dosing help please" along with the normal stuff in your Subject line. Once you have somebody helping you, you can go back and edit your subject line and get rid of the ? by choosing "no prefix". (that way if you have another question later the same day, people won't think it's the same question)

As I said before, I'm also one of the Admins in the Facebook group associated with this board. I just happened to be over here the other day, saw your first post and added my 2 cents so I've been trying to check in every now and then but that won't necessarily be something I can do all the time (or when you need help fairly soon). There are lots of other experienced members here that are also comfortable giving dosing advice.

Also, if you post here and haven't gotten a reply in a reasonable length of time, you can also post in the FD group on Facebook and just put the link to your post here into your FB post so people there can quickly find your post here on the board.
 
What's Robert's profile name? I could not tag him.

It wouldn't help to tag him anyway. He's just involved with keeping the board running. He doesn't post here unless it has something to do with some kind of technical problem he's trying to figure out.

If the board does happen to be down, you can post in the Facebook group until it's back up. Luckily, it doesn't happen often!
 
Here are the explanations of the two dosing methods, TR and SLGS

The main differences are:

1. The point where you reduce. On TR it's when they drop below 3.8(68), on SLGS, it's below 5 (90).

2. On TR, you hold the same dose for 3 days (unless they earn a reduction by dropping below 3.8) and if he's not getting numbers where we want him, you can increase by 0.25. (there are times when you'd hold it longer, but with TR you're not holding a dose that's obviously not working). You also need to be feeding low carb canned or raw. No kibble.

On SLGS, you hold the same dose for 7 days and then run a curve (test every 2 hours for 12 hours). Depending on the numbers you've gotten, you might need to increase. The "bad" part about SLGS is that extra time. Even if he's not getting where we want him, you still hold the same dose for 7 days which can let some glucose toxicity set in. SLGS is recommended more for people who can't (or won't) test often enough OR are feeding their cat kibble, even low carb kibble.



Somebody will but it won't necessarily be me. If you have a question about dosing, use the ? prefix in your Subject line and maybe add "Dosing help please" along with the normal stuff in your Subject line. Once you have somebody helping you, you can go back and edit your subject line and get rid of the ? by choosing "no prefix". (that way if you have another question later the same day, people won't think it's the same question)

As I said before, I'm also one of the Admins in the Facebook group associated with this board. I just happened to be over here the other day, saw your first post and added my 2 cents so I've been trying to check in every now and then but that won't necessarily be something I can do all the time (or when you need help fairly soon). There are lots of other experienced members here that are also comfortable giving dosing advice.

Also, if you post here and haven't gotten a reply in a reasonable length of time, you can also post in the FD group on Facebook and just put the link to your post here into your FB post so people there can quickly find your post here on the board.
Got it! Thanks very much. :)
I am starting TR tomorrow morning. I will increase his dose by 0.5 to 0.75. And will monitor closely. Hopefully we can get some greens.
 
Here are the explanations of the two dosing methods, TR and SLGS

The main differences are:

1. The point where you reduce. On TR it's when they drop below 3.8(68), on SLGS, it's below 5 (90).

2. On TR, you hold the same dose for 3 days (unless they earn a reduction by dropping below 3.8) and if he's not getting numbers where we want him, you can increase by 0.25. (there are times when you'd hold it longer, but with TR you're not holding a dose that's obviously not working). You also need to be feeding low carb canned or raw. No kibble.

On SLGS, you hold the same dose for 7 days and then run a curve (test every 2 hours for 12 hours). Depending on the numbers you've gotten, you might need to increase. The "bad" part about SLGS is that extra time. Even if he's not getting where we want him, you still hold the same dose for 7 days which can let some glucose toxicity set in. SLGS is recommended more for people who can't (or won't) test often enough OR are feeding their cat kibble, even low carb kibble.



Somebody will but it won't necessarily be me. If you have a question about dosing, use the ? prefix in your Subject line and maybe add "Dosing help please" along with the normal stuff in your Subject line. Once you have somebody helping you, you can go back and edit your subject line and get rid of the ? by choosing "no prefix". (that way if you have another question later the same day, people won't think it's the same question)

As I said before, I'm also one of the Admins in the Facebook group associated with this board. I just happened to be over here the other day, saw your first post and added my 2 cents so I've been trying to check in every now and then but that won't necessarily be something I can do all the time (or when you need help fairly soon). There are lots of other experienced members here that are also comfortable giving dosing advice.

Also, if you post here and haven't gotten a reply in a reasonable length of time, you can also post in the FD group on Facebook and just put the link to your post here into your FB post so people there can quickly find your post here on the board.


So ideally, we want him to be between 3.8 and 5.5 (68-99) correct? I mean what's the ideal range? When do they do into remission?
 
Good luck with the increase. The normal range with an AT is a little higher than 99, but you would like to see nadirs generally in that range. They go into remission when they earn reductions down to 0.1 units, then depending on how the cat is doing, some need to go on a drop dose for a bit, some go straight into what we call an OTJ (off the juice trial). Which is 14 days without insulin and in normal numbers. After that, they are considered to be in remission.
 
Good luck with the increase. The normal range with an AT is a little higher than 99, but you would like to see nadirs generally in that range. They go into remission when they earn reductions down to 0.1 units, then depending on how the cat is doing, some need to go on a drop dose for a bit, some go straight into what we call an OTJ (off the juice trial). Which is 14 days without insulin and in normal numbers. After that, they are considered to be in remission.
Thanks very much.
Is there a way I can star or favourite your answer to my question so I can go back to it when I want to refer to it?
 
Not that I know of. Some people add another sheet to the spreadsheet called Notes, or something like that, and record tidbits they have learned there.

What I said is basically a summary of the information the Dosing Methods Sticky Note.
 
@AYDA & PASHA
Tyler used to eat those also
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Beef & Chicken Entree flavor Pate

Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree

They are both low carb and low in phosphorus


The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health islow carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter

They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter

Purina pro plan urinary tract turkey and giblets
This variety contains approximately 1.2% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis (5.3% on a dry matter basis).

If you are not feeding the Fancy Feast any longer please delete it and add Purina Pro Plan Urinary tract health.
To do this just tap on your name and then tap on signature and do what I said , then tap save

Good luck with the increase tomorrow.
I don't know if you were following SLGS before but if you were and then switched to TR can you please put the date you switched on your signature after the letters TR and also on your spreadsheet up top where you have TR

I see you added a pic of Pasha , he's a handsome boy
 
QUOTE="AYDA & PASHA, post: 3238099, member: 42298"]Also, how do I find my previous posts?[/QUOTE]


Another way to find your previous posts is to tap on your name ,then tap on Profile Page then tap on Postings and you will see all your posts
@AYDA & PASHA
 
Last edited:
@AYDA & PASHA
Tyler used to eat those also
Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Beef & Chicken Entree flavor Pate

Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health Chicken Entree

They are both low carb and low in phosphorus


The Purina Pro Plan Urinary Tract Health islow carb and low phosphorus
Beef and Chicken Entree pate
Carbs are around 4.80
Phosphorus is 1.44 dry matter

They also have Chicken Entree in Gravy which isn't pate it like tiny pieces of chicken like the size of a chicklet piece of gum lol remember them, they are like tiny tiny chunks
Carbs are 4.5
Phosphorus 0.78 dry matter

Purina pro plan urinary tract turkey and giblets
This variety contains approximately 1.2% Carbohydrate content on an as fed basis (5.3% on a dry matter basis).

If you are not feeding the Fancy Feast any longer please delete it and add Purina Pro Plan Urinary tract health.
To do this just tap on your name and then tap on signature and do what I said , then tap save

Good luck with the increase tomorrow.
I don't know if you were following SLGS before but if you were and then switched to TR can you please put the date you switched on your signature after the letters TR and also on your spreadsheet up top where you have TR

I see you added a pic of Pasha , he's a handsome boy
I changed FF to Purina Pro Urinary Tract.
I was not following SLGS before. I was following the other FB group FDSG. I am not sure they are doing the SLGS or/and the TR.
 
Back
Top