1/19 Jade amps 171 PMPS 417

Jill & Jade

Member Since 2018
Well look who earned a reduction last night! Not sure how, but I got up at +8 and she was at 80. I wasn’t expecting that ( I say that a lot here) as her numbers have gone back to higher ones the last few days. FD is definitely confusing. Every time I think I learn something and get some understanding, something like her starting at 393 and going to 80 happens and I’m left feeling baffled all over again, I must be doing something wrong. I know the blues and greens are good news, just don’t know how she dips so much so soon. I thought her depot had pretty much emptied when she hit 70 and I skipped a shot and reduced the other night. :confused: I’m starting to think I may have had either a fur shot or two or a partial shot in there somewhere in the beginning of the week. I think I mentioned that I could smell it on her even though there wasn’t a wet spot. Or, maybe I should take @Katherine&Ruby advice and resign myself to the reality that it’s just an unpredictable situation and learn to roll with it and adjust accordingly. I think that may be my best option so I don’t continuously wonder if I’ve compromised Jades health every time she surprises me.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17jade-amps-341-pmps-393-5-153.258026/#post-2902365
 
Last edited:
Have you thought about lowering your reduction point to perhaps 70?
I just lowered it recently to 80. But, I will absolutely think about it. Seems awfully low to the danger mark though. I guess my issue with 70 is the staying up all night and the constant poking it would seem necessary to make sure that 70 doesn’t turn into a 60.
 
Sometimes when they are clearing a bounce they zoom down faster than they normally would. It's always a good idea to see how fast they're going down. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Every time I think I learn something and get some understanding, something like her starting at 393 and going to 80 happens and I’m left feeling baffled all over again
I felt this way all the time a few months ago when Callie would drop from pink to green in the same cycle. It always left me scared about shooting lower numbers or even reaching lower numbers because it all felt so unpredictable.

I know that every cat is different but I wanted to share our experience to give you a concrete example of exactly what Elise says above. As Callie has become more regulated, her cycle has really flattened out. If you look at Callie's ss, you can see the big swings and bounces, esp last Sept/Oct. Then, if you look at 2022, you can see how flat she's gotten recently. Of course, Callie still surprises me with plenty of curveballs and the general unpredictable nature of FD still keeps me on my toes ... but having the support and guidance of everyone on this board helps tons and I find that it has all gotten easier and less scary for me over time.

You are doing a great job with your beautiful girl. Callie and I are rooting for you and Jade! :cat:
 
I felt this way all the time a few months ago when Callie would drop from pink to green in the same cycle. It always left me scared about shooting lower numbers or even reaching lower numbers because it all felt so unpredictable.

I know that every cat is different but I wanted to share our experience to give you a concrete example of exactly what Elise says above. As Callie has become more regulated, her cycle has really flattened out. If you look at Callie's ss, you can see the big swings and bounces, esp last Sept/Oct. Then, if you look at 2022, you can see how flat she's gotten recently. Of course, Callie still surprises me with plenty of curveballs and the general unpredictable nature of FD still keeps me on my toes ... but having the support and guidance of everyone on this board helps tons and I find that it has all gotten easier and less scary for me over time.

You are doing a great job with your beautiful girl. Callie and I are rooting for you and Jade! :cat:
Thank you so much!!
 
I felt this way all the time a few months ago when Callie would drop from pink to green in the same cycle. It always left me scared about shooting lower numbers or even reaching lower numbers because it all felt so unpredictable.

I know that every cat is different but I wanted to share our experience to give you a concrete example of exactly what Elise says above. As Callie has become more regulated, her cycle has really flattened out. If you look at Callie's ss, you can see the big swings and bounces, esp last Sept/Oct. Then, if you look at 2022, you can see how flat she's gotten recently. Of course, Callie still surprises me with plenty of curveballs and the general unpredictable nature of FD still keeps me on my toes ... but having the support and guidance of everyone on this board helps tons and I find that it has all gotten easier and less scary for me over time.

You are doing a great job with your beautiful girl. Callie and I are rooting for you and Jade! :cat:
I felt this way all the time a few months ago when Callie would drop from pink to green in the same cycle. It always left me scared about shooting lower numbers or even reaching lower numbers because it all felt so unpredictable.

I know that every cat is different but I wanted to share our experience to give you a concrete example of exactly what Elise says above. As Callie has become more regulated, her cycle has really flattened out. If you look at Callie's ss, you can see the big swings and bounces, esp last Sept/Oct. Then, if you look at 2022, you can see how flat she's gotten recently. Of course, Callie still surprises me with plenty of curveballs and the general unpredictable nature of FD still keeps me on my toes ... but having the support and guidance of everyone on this board helps tons and I find that it has all gotten easier and less scary for me over time.

You are doing a great job with your beautiful girl. Callie and I are rooting for you and Jade! :cat:
Callie does have lovely colors on her SS!!
 
Sometimes when they are clearing a bounce they zoom down faster than they normally would. It's always a good idea to see how fast they're going down. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
I’m a bit nervous as I’m leaving from +4-+7 today. I’m giving her a +3.5 and will leave a bit of LC with MC gravy out of she has dropped significantly.
 
Well look who earned a reduction last night! Not sure how, but I got up at +8 and she was at 80. I wasn’t expecting that ( I say that a lot here) as her numbers have gone back to higher ones the last few days. FD is definitely confusing. Every time I think I learn something and get some understanding, something like her starting at 393 and going to 80 happens and I’m left feeling baffled all over again, I must be doing something wrong. I know the blues and greens are good news, just don’t know how she dips so much so soon. I thought her depot had pretty much emptied when she hit 70 and I skipped a shot and reduced the other night. :confused: I’m starting to think I may have had either a fur shot or two or a partial shot in there somewhere in the beginning of the week. I think I mentioned that I could smell it on her even though there wasn’t a wet spot. Or, maybe I should take @Katherine&Ruby advice and resign myself to the reality that it’s just an unpredictable situation and learn to roll with it and adjust accordingly. I think that may be my best option so I don’t continuously wonder if I’ve compromised Jades health every time she surprises me.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-17jade-amps-341-pmps-393-5-153.258026/#post-2902365
I don’t think you are doing anything wrong. Look at @Lisa & Oberon ’s spreadsheet. He is the most unpredictable and bouncy cat I have ever seen.
 
Hopefully she will get used to lower numbers and not bounce so much and start to even out. Consider Levemir (did I say this already …. Yeah like probably ten times!) It gives nice flattish, gentle curves.
 
Hopefully she will get used to lower numbers and not bounce so much and start to even out. Consider Levemir (did I say this already …. Yeah like probably ten times!) It gives nice flattish, gentle curves.
I will talk to the Vet about it on Friday for sure. I know that Lantus wasn’t her first choice but she knew that’s what I was familiar with.
 
I will talk to the Vet about it on Friday for sure. I know that Lantus wasn’t her first choice but she knew that’s what I was familiar with.
Well Lantus is certainly a step up from Vetsulin and even ProZinc - both of which have limited duration in cats (well my cat for sure!). Lantus was good and works for a lot of people. But Jade is just so up amd down that when I look at your spreadsheet, I hope to see flatter numbers! You need something that will work with your work schedule though
 
Well Lantus is certainly a step up from Vetsulin and even ProZinc - both of which have limited duration in cats (well my cat for sure!). Lantus was good and works for a lot of people. But Jade is just so up amd down that when I look at your spreadsheet, I hope to see flatter numbers! You need something that will work with your work schedule though
My Roller Coaster Cat. I can’t believe she’s this high again. I swear I’m giving her air shots sometimes but then BAM! she hits the blue and green.
 
Back
Top