1/18, Bell, AMPS 104 +2 129 +4 191 +6 232 PMPS 425 +2 377, IAA ?

Seth&Bell

Member Since 2024
Yesterday

@Wendy&Neko: Would you still recommend an increase to 8 units tonight? She's still on this weird multi-cycle-with-a-single-nadir thing :rolleyes:. Today's bounce does seem shallower than the previous two, with her potentially dipping into greens early this morning (which i missed). I am also not sure if I should increase on the PM cycle since that is the one that has broken into an early morning nadir 3 times in a row.

Guessing an increase would flatten her out.

IAA can lead to an increase in the half-life of free (unbound) insulin in circulation because some bound insulin gets released into circulation. The increase in half-life can lead to prolongation of action.

I've been reading through a bunch of IAA info, and had a question about this statement. If I understand correctly, the potential extended half-life of the insulin isn't that the unbound insulin lasts longer it is that some of the bound insulin can eventually be "unbound" and start doing their insulin normal thing. Is that accurate?

That leads me to another question: Do insulin molecules ever die/become permanently inactive? Like if an insulin molecule is bound for a long enough period of time by an auto-antibody, will it cease to be able to be effective if released? Or is all this insulin bound up by these auto-antibodies just waiting to help glucose enter other cells upon release?
 
Oh good they are getting along!
upload_2025-1-18_14-49-59.png


Bellllllll, don't push your luck
upload_2025-1-18_14-50-25.png


SWAT
upload_2025-1-18_14-50-46.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-18_14-49-59.png
    upload_2025-1-18_14-49-59.png
    638 KB · Views: 89
  • upload_2025-1-18_14-50-25.png
    upload_2025-1-18_14-50-25.png
    611 KB · Views: 87
  • upload_2025-1-18_14-50-46.png
    upload_2025-1-18_14-50-46.png
    612.2 KB · Views: 87
Hi Seth, oh wow, this is a lot you have to deal with. You are doing so great! All the best for Bells dental on Tuesday. Great you made sure they do an x-ray and take care to use a sedation which is working for Bell. When Binie had surgery on her breast last spring, I was very scared she might go low during surgery or after waking up. They told me it is standard to test several times during surgery and if she would ever go too low, they can always give glucose. Everything went well.

I hope she shows you some better numbers again. This all sounds really complex you are dealing with and sweet Bell can be happy, to have you as her dad! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you, Heike! This is the first time she's gone under anesthesia since being confirmed diabetic so I am a little nervous. I was thinking of asking if i could come along with her and measure her BG during it, but I bet I know the answer to that :p. I feel better after talking to them that they will monitor her during the procedure.
 
Thank you, Heike! This is the first time she's gone under anesthesia since being confirmed diabetic so I am a little nervous. I was thinking of asking if i could come along with her and measure her BG during it, but I bet I know the answer to that :p. I feel better after talking to them that they will monitor her during the procedure.

You will be surprised how much you pay for every ear poke. :) If Bell would pay you that, you can work part time. :p

When Binie had surgery, I arrived at the vet with a big bag with cat food for the time after the surgery with different carb contents and a long letter with instructions: "If she goes below x give x, if she goes below...". The vet laughed and promised me, they have enough glucose to shoot her to the moon. It would be interesting to hear, how they react on your offer to do the pokes. :rolleyes:

Great to see the two girls enjoy the time in the sun. Have a great Saturday and good luck, if you increase! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
She's been on 7.5 units long enough. I think the question is do we go with 7.75 (Minner's magic number) or up higher. Smaller increase work with a dose getting greens regularly and you just want to tweak the nadirs down a bit. Truth be told, those reds offend me. :p. I'd like to see them gone. And you are experienced with low numbers.

More on the rest later.
 
Amen, to the reds part :p. Bell and Minner have been sisters thus far, I can shoot the 7.75 tonight! I’m happy to do 8 as well, if that would be ideal.
 
Last edited:
Awww look at those beautiful sisters getting along and enjoying some sun.
Good luck with the increase if you decide on it.
Enjoy your weekend! :cat::cat:
 
Good luck with the increase! Love them playing together, they are beautiful in the sun like that.
Oh yes, they charge a lot for each test, and if they ever give insulin... for Bella they charged me $51 for each unit of insulin they injected while she was there.
But at least you know she will be safe during her stay. I'll keep you in my thought on Tuesday, it is so stressful.
 
I read that from your posts, Cecile, and it made me so mad. I can’t believe that’s a thing. I know this will set me back a bit, but I’ll take the highway robbery ( :p ) if it keeps her safe. I really hate the itemized vet bills… My previous vet, who retired, was a your typical farm vet. I basically had to beg him to take my money. More often than not, he’d just wave his hands and say no charge whenever I brought them in. The switch to a more standard vet was certainly a shock.
 
Good luck with this Seth. You can always tweak back down if needed. You’ll see in my post a moment ago that after tweaking 7.75 back down to 7.5 so I could get a little break from the discomfort of managing downward trend with latest 60 nadir, I now think I need to return to 7.75.
 
f I understand correctly, the potential extended half-life of the insulin isn't that the unbound insulin lasts longer it is that some of the bound insulin can eventually be "unbound" and start doing their insulin normal thing. Is that accurate?
Yes, that sounds correct. I got lost in the vortex of searching for IAA articles this afternoon, only found one new one and still not in an easy language to understand.
 
Good luck with this Seth. You can always tweak back down if needed. You’ll see in my post a moment ago that after tweaking 7.75 back down to 7.5 so I could get a little break from the discomfort of managing downward trend with latest 60 nadir, I now think I need to return to 7.75.
Thank you, Laura. Best of luck with that! Minner’s spreadsheet looks so stable for 2025! I hope the tweak back to 7.75 continues that stability and just pushes her a bit lower. She of course has been picking the PM cycles to do her lowest numbers :rolleyes:.

For Bell, I’ve got a today and tomorrow off so I’ll be able to monitor her closely. Then her dental on Tuesday will force a temporary reduction. I like the idea of using 7.75 as a backstop is this 8 is too much for her
 
Yes, that sounds correct. I got lost in the vortex of searching for IAA articles this afternoon, only found one new one and still not in an easy language to understand.
Awe thank you so much Wendy. I didn’t mean to make you go on a wild goose chase for me there :oops:. I think from a practical standpoint just knowing that the half-life can be extended is what I need, I’m just curious about the mechanism for all this. I will do some digging as well.
 
Back
Top