1/17 Tom amps 376 +8.5 160 pmps 398

  • Thread starter Thread starter Anonymous
  • Start date Start date
Status
Not open for further replies.
A

Anonymous

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=34542

It works!!! tom has'nt had an amps this low in....? if looking at ss do not mistake the amps on the 15th as a true amps. he had a meal an hour earlier and in true tom fashion dumped 200 points from food sans insulin...so it does'nt count.
Where Sheila? Can't wait to tell her!
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

Congratulations Tom & Lori. :cool:

I have been waiting to see today's AMPs. :-D

Now, did he drop this morning with his meal? He still might...
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

I've been watching Tom's steady progress....YAH!!!
Way to go Lori! It feels sooo good.
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

and a well deserved AMPS also. It does work when ya work it @-) .but ya gotta work with it, not against it. cannot wait til you get this all under your belt and run into a newb just starting on lev :lol:
JWD Lor
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

awwww, gosh, yeah you guys were right all along and I STAND CORRECTED! I really wanted that to be the case you know...I wanted you guys to be right but I was worried you know...what if? and can I let tomtom marinate while they are wrong? Now I know!!!! I will be a good candidate to call upon for the next impertinent newbie who comes along...call me. I can gently and lovingly tell them with all honesty I know, I've been there, I hated it, THEY ARE RIGHT!

and beth thanks for the heads up about his amps drop potentially. i'll be checking with an eager eye his +1... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

yep. sure will be interested if he still drops with food.
thanks for trusting in us
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

dian...JWD? i don't know that one...splain?

and lest anyone should feel i have not appreciated their pushing me on...the reason i wanted to share with Sheila is she pushed harder, yet softer, and was the camel that broke my stubborn back :lol:
i truly do appreciate you all and that you did'nt kick me out for my yelling kicking and screaming all the way to the point of 'the light going on'
whoo hoo!!!!
dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

JOB WELL DONE. I make them up as I go along. and JIC, if ya run into someone saying in the future, you just been PAWed. that means pulling a wheezer. that is where out of the blue he will throw a low or a 20-30 number
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

no dian..no, i can't pull a wheezer. i think i saw when you pulled a wheezer. i think i know what pulling a wheezer means ;-) like when you have 3 fd's and ....
see i follow you too!
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

That's a nicer AMPS! :-D This may be a good cycle to get a few extra tests later in the cycle if you can, Lori. Up 'til now, looking for a nadir was pretty pointless since his shed was filling.
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

:thumbup (((Tom & Lori)))
Good stuff here.. congratulations! Yay for you both!
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

(((Lori))) Awesome job girl!!! Yay Tom!!! Before you know it, he'll be having flat blue cycles I bet!!! I'm so happy for you.
 

Attachments

  • koolaid.jpg
    koolaid.jpg
    183.8 KB · Views: 1,118
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

:-D Great morning, Lori & Tom! I'm glad things are starting to click. If you went back and read my first few posts, you'd think I was crazy. I was all "maybe he doesn't even need insulin..." I thought the vet was looking to make a few bucks. lol
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

+1 364....respectable (not what he used to do with the 300 point drop on a 600+amps)
+3 224... hmmm, we may even see blue today :mrgreen:
i'm guessing i will actually get a nadir today.
how can i thank you enough for not letting me overdose my cat????
honestly, are all the newbie's as difficult as me? or do i win an award for most difficult newbie? ohmygod_smile
 
Re: TOM WHOO-HOOOOO AMPS 376 no pre-feed!!!

lori and tom said:
+1 364....respectable (not what he used to do with the 300 point drop on a 600+amps)
+3 224... hmmm, we may even see blue today :mrgreen:
i'm guessing i will actually get a nadir today.
how can i thank you enough for not letting me overdose my cat????
honestly, are all the newbie's as difficult as me? or do i win an award for most difficult newbie? ohmygod_smile

Dear Lori,

I am so glad this is working its way out nicely. I am sorry I resorted to yelling at you.

These are very nice numbers to see TomTom shift down into. Nice easy numbers, slowly coming down...maybe we won't bounce. Paws crossed for a nice soft landing.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224!!!!!!

or....less sweet celi, whichever way you look at it!!! :lol:
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 HEY!

+4.5 259 ??? what up? are we done for the day? confused_cat
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 HEY!

well this is becoming 'different'
+7 167
double dipping?
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 double dip

Nope - not a double dip. This looks more like a later nadir. Very few cats have their nadir at +6 on Lantus. Many people here find that their cats have a nadir that is in the latter half of the cycle with Lev. I think I recall Miriam mentioning that Putty's nadir has moved to around +8.

With a double dip, you'd have your nadir, whenever it may be, and then at PMPS, or around +11, there is a second drop.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 double dip

Why Tom aren't you handsome in blue?

Looks like a late nadir.... you are probably going to want to test every hour going into PMps. Let's see if you can catch the climb back up.

Make sure you check in here before you feed him tonight. Give yourself some time as you may need some special instructions on dealing with it.

If he is running low DON'T FEED check in with the board first and put it in the subject line.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 double dip

Beth I don't understand. Feeding is the issue, not shooting? He gets his shot at 8 pacific and I'll be out from 5-6:30.
Today is a strange day for him, what do you mean feeding a low number? I'm not following.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 double dip

Blue said:
Make sure you check in here before you feed him tonight. Give yourself some time as you may need some special instructions on dealing with it.

If he is running low DON'T FEED check in with the board first and put it in the subject line.
*highlight added.

Well whatever your schedule for Tom, if he is in lower numbers post and check in with the board FIRST at pre-shot time.

See this post from Libby viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33860


I am so excited for you to have these numbers today!
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

Your right Beth...+8.5 160...I may find myself in a bit of a quandry come shooting time. Do I shoot those low's...Am I still data un-ready to make those decisions...Who is gonna be around 8pm Pacific. Please let me know k?
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

Lori -

There's no guarantee who will be around. I often am but I'm a bit sleep deprived after being up with Gabby most of last night. There are any number of people here who have handled a low pre-shot and can walk you through. The instructions that Beth linked for you are a solid guideline but it is much more helpful if there's someone to walk you through the first couple of times. Hopefully, people will see this note and keep an eye on your condo.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

ok, thank you sienne.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

There tends to be a lot of night owls on this board. I am always amazed when I check in during my early mornings...


I didn't mean to scare you, but give you a heads up.

You seem to like to know what's what...and I thought getting you the information sooner ...rather than later would be helpful to you.

Your 9pm....is Ohio's....1am? Attie has a feeding at that time. I can set the alarm to check the board if you'd like. drinking11

They never do this stuff on our time schedule ...do they! :lol:
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

I'll be around.....not sure that is much comfort. :lol: :lol: I guess you need to decide what you are comfortable shooting and if you can stay up to monitor him; you saw how much he dropped today. So it might be a good idea to chitchat in your condo with the wise ones about the lowest BG you should shoot and then if a BCS is in order and if so, how much. If you have an idea about that, I can be around to just talk you through stalling, feeding, etc.
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

actually marjorie i feel less qualified now to call the shots than i did 3 days ago when i really knew nothing...i know even less now if that is possible.
i do know i won't be up much to test. i do not know how he'll respond as today was kind of flukey to begin with. i REALLY want to play if BSD if i can...don't want to rock his apple cart and lose momentum but also don't want to go low at 2am and not be there for him....aiy yi yi, this is why i avoided the L's...this does'nt happen to me on pz :? but mostly cause i've played with it so long i know what it will do. it's pretty predictable. i'd love to see sheila here with me.
marjorie i will chicken out if push comes to shove and shoot like a .2 if i can find that on my microscopic syringe :lol:
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

Usually a BCS dose is only a 0.25 reduction...so it would be 0.5, but you hold the syringe and if 0.2 is comfy then that's what you do. Any and all data collected after that adds to the knowledge of how Tom will handle L.

If Tom is rising going into your preshot, I would tend to shoot the full dose. He is one the rise. That is why I suggested getting the test at +7, +8, +9, +10 etc. It looks like he is surfing right now, which is great!
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160

and rise he did, just to keep mama from getting to anxious. +10.5 244.
i will say this is a strange day for him..a lot more movement, our numbers have been so uber surfy that this almost feels like wild swings. i'll go full dose tonight.
unless you want me to raise it :lol: ....this is my 7th cycle..
 
Re: TOM amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 double dip

Sienne and Gabby said:
Nope - not a double dip. This looks more like a later nadir. Very few cats have their nadir at +6 on Lantus. Many people here find that their cats have a nadir that is in the latter half of the cycle with Lev. I think I recall Miriam mentioning that Putty's nadir has moved to around +8.

Sienne is right.....Putty's nadir on Lev is anywhere from +6 to +9.

In my opinion I would not raise the dose yet. You are just starting to see some action with the blue today.
 
Re: amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160 +10.5

Miriam your Putty reminds me of Tom. If you saw the whole Tom you would see what I mean. I can drum up his pic..it's on community if you like.
 
Re: amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160 +10.5

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=32266

if you want to see a couple of hot pics of my cat...this was the only way i knew how to transport them. 3rd post down.
now i want to go re-visit them.
he is soooooooo good lookin, but actually it's his subdued manly kewl personality that the girls all swoon for, and the boy cats want to be him for.
 
Re: amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160 +10.5

Heh, Lori, you might want to add an extra 4 to your +10.5 number up above. I looked at the title and was scrambling for the 911 ;-)

And yes, your Tom is the Fonz!
 
Re: amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160 +10.5

oh my....good catch. thank you. :o
 
Re: amps 376 +1 364 +3 224 +4.5 259 +7 167 +8.5 160 +10.5

I would wait until you have 10 cycles on the same dose unless Tom earns a reduction. All of the chances the first few days have messed mightily with Tom's shed.

I don't think there's enough room in the subject line for all of the info that's why some numbers are getting cut off. Just a housekeeping issue, if you look at all of the other condos, we have a convention for subject lines:
date Cat's name AMPS and other data that will fit​
1/17 Tom AMPS 376 +1 364 +3 224 etc.​
If we need to go back to earlier condos, having the date and Tom's name will help a great deal.
 
Re: 1/17 Tom amps 376 +1 364 +4 259 +7 167 +8 160 +10 24

Nice numbers today, Lori! I agree with Miriam and Sienne, I would hold the dose at 0.75u. You are just starting to see some action on this dose, let's see how it goes.

How is Tom feeling? You must have seen other condos with the 5 Ps...peeing, pooping, purring, preening and playing...a cat is more than his numbers, after all!
 
laurie tomtom is feeling fantastic. i do see improvement and things i thought were just his age catching up with him are no longer. he jumps on the kitchen table and walks across my keyboard again...he hardly sleeps at all during the day, he's not obsessed with food, he is definetly feeling great....and of course performing all his p's.

i am not too thrilled with his pmps of 398. i viewed his ss for the last 7 days on lev. what's happening is his am's are getting lower but his pm's are getting higher and his nadir is getting more defined. late, about +8ish. his am's and pm's are getting closer together.
soooo, this is good yes? but let's face it, they are still too high.

i'll give it another 2 days or so and then hopefully we'll talk dosecrease...unless of course he justs gets better on this dose...could happen right?
 
I'm glad to hear that he is feeling fantastic, that's been the best part of Lantus for us...Tinkles learned how to play at 14 years old, he didn't even know HOW to play, and he plays every day now! It's nothing short of amazing....he's a different cat, all in positive ways.

Tom is starting to flatten out, that's good. Yes, you may see further improvement on this dose. This was the first cycle to see some action, his numbers may come down more in the next few cycles. That's why you want to wait. Remember what I posted in yesterday's condo, about increasing too fast and the numbers dropping out on you? I know he's still too high, but you are just starting to see Lev work for him.
 
lori and tom said:
...i viewed his ss for the last 7 days on lev. what's happening is his am's are getting lower but his pm's are getting higher and his nadir is getting more defined. late, about +8ish. his am's and pm's are getting closer together.
soooo, this is good yes? but let's face it, they are still too high.
Yes, good. Its what you want to happen - things evening out.
lori and tom said:
i'll give it another 2 days or so and then hopefully we'll talk dosecrease...unless of course he justs gets better on this dose...could happen right?
OK, gotta say that I am not a fan of the made up word "dosecrease". We are talking dose change and it could be an in-crease or a de-crease... too confusing. And I think I have read it used both ways now. Anyway... I would advocate, yet again, for .5u. His numbers may settle, and that would be good, but there is still too much curve to his, well, curve for lev. To me that means a little too much insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top