1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 437 +4 264

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Rocky

Member Since 2013
Good morning,

I tested Rocky with the Nova Max and got 327. I then read Marje's post and saw not to test with it. I used my Relion and got 379.

Then I dropped the Relion. Is it ruined?

I'm going to feed Rocky now. It looks like we had no no drop at all last night.

I know you don't like to bounce around with dose, but I'm thinking I should give him 1.0 u instead of .75 u.

Thoughts?

I'm going to feed him now.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

Hi guys .. I wouldn't imagine your meter is broke, but you could always test yourself with it to make sure it's still working .. No advice on upping the dose from me, but good luck if you do it! have a great weekend!
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

One half hour behind on Rocky's shot now.. any advice on if I should increase it to 1.0u? Thanks!
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

I am increasing it to 1.0u. He did not lick the bowl clean this morning, like he always does. I don't have any keytone stirps.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

Don't increase! Please do not dose on a preshot.

You have several things going on to cause these high numbers. You skipped a shot, he bounced. You have to let the new dose refill the depot. Patience, Grasshopper :-D remember how Rocky can come down in response to one shot and you will be gone today.

I've dropped my meter before and it was fine.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

Tina...please be sure you see my post above. Also...could you please take the 911 down? We use it for emergencies.

Thanks so much. Have a safe trip today.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

I just gave him a shot of 1.0u. Terrified of another DKA.. That number remained too high overnight on the .75u.

He seems a little dehydrated too. Skin not snapping back at neck. I won't give fluids this morning, but seriously considering giving Rocky some fluids when I get home around +10.

I think he'll be OK. At least he did not get the 1.5u that the vet wanted me to continue giving him with not testing at all :!: :!:

I leave the house at +3. I can Re-test at both +2 and +3.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

Tina, I know that it is counterintuitive when we start out, but Lantus needs to be dosed on the lowest point in the cycle. This is what a lot of vets that switch over to it don't get, either. When you see a higher preshot number that is normal, the effect of the insulin has peaked and is starting to wear off. The BG will go up more for a few hours also because we feed at preshot. Then the dose kicks in and starts to lower the numbers again.

When you skip a shot, the BG will go up and the shed will drain. It will take a cycle or two to refill, until it does you will not see the full effect of the dose. Every time you change the dose the shed readjusts itself and numbers bounce around. Because of the shed the Lantus really needs to be dosed consistently.

Another tricky concept is that feeding really low carb food will result in really low numbers. Many of us have tried it and found that we can get even more bouncing! Too low a carb food doesn't give the insulin enough to work on and BGs plunge, then often bounce way up from the sudden change the liver perceives as dangerous. We get stuck in a cycle of bouncing. Our goal is to flatten out the cycles to eliminate bouncing. Marje has worked out a system of feeding slightly higher carb food w/ a slightly higher insulin dose to even things out. Once the liver stops panicking and BGs flatten out you can get on to the work of lowering the over all BG.

Right now you are trying to go low carb with the higher dose and it isn't working.

To be safe today since you already shot the 1u and won't be home i would leave some higher carb food for Rocky.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

Thank you for that explanation Ann. I appreciate it.

Not knowing what to look for on Rocky's SS sheet, all I see mostly pink numbers for 2 days and now pink again on day three, and even higher numbers. He ate all of his breakfast but not as excited about eating as he usually is. He usually devours all of his food and he left some in the corners of the bowl this morning. It scares me when Rocky loses his hunger urge.

I also think he is just a tad bit dehydrated. I really want to give him some fluids but i don't have any time to do that this morning. Getting into the shower in just a few minutes.

I might see if I can have a friend drive to the store and buy me some Nova Max ketone strips while I'm showering. It's probably not possible though. Praying that he does not have ketones.

I can leave Rocky a small amount of food, maybe (2) TBS, before I leave the house this morning.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 rt +379

The pink you're seeing during last night's cycle is from skipping yesterday's AM shot, not from the .75u you have him last night. You have to give the insulin longer than 12 hours to work. By bouncing around on his dose, his depot is going up and down and not finding the right balance. That's why we hold the doses for at least 4 cycles, if not more.

When I look at Rocky's SS, I see that he's been in green numbers 5 out of the last 6 days. Higher preshot numbers are completely normal. I know you're afraid of DKA, but if you're consistently testing for ketones you'll be able to detect it quickly because if there's a trace, you'll treat that trace and not let it get to full blown DKA.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321

A friend drove to Walmart for me, they did not have the Nova Max Ketone Test strips. He's heading to CVS and Rite Aid next.

Rocky's BG barely budged in the past 2 hours. Will re-check again at +3, that's when I leave the house.

The Relion still works fine ohmygod_smile , I just didn't know if it would give false readings if I had dropped it.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342

HI Tina and Rocky!!

I've dropped my Relion meter more times that I care to admit..it still works fine, but it's always a good idea to have a back up meter just in case. The last thing you want is to have a full blown hypo going and the battery on your meter dies

Please let us guide you for awhile on your dosages. The people here have tens of thousands of hours of experience and will always keep Rocky safe, as well as working towards regulation.

Remember, Rocky has had diabetes for awhile...those high numbers, while concerning, do their damage slowly. The low numbers kill quickly. We sure don't want you coming home to a tragedy.

Lantus works differently than medications like aspirin..where you take it, your headache goes away, and you're fine. With Lantus, it takes time to "fill the depot". Only part of each shot goes to work immediately..the rest goes into the "depot"...Once the depot is full, then you'll see the full effects of each dose. This isn't a REAL example of how it works, but it might help you picture it.
For example..you give 1 unit. .25 of it goes to work quickly and .75 goes to the depot and is released slowly over the next 12 hours (not ALL of it is released though....let's say .5 is used over the next 12 hours), leaving .25 "In the depot". Next shot is 1 unit. Again, .25 goes to work quickly, .5 is released slowly over the next 12 hours, and .25 is left "in the depot" (so now, the depot has .5 in it) Over the next several shots, the same routine happens, until at some point, the depot has filled. At that point, each time you shoot, .25 goes to work quickly, the depot releases the "full dose" over the 12 hours, and the remainder of the shot goes back into the "depot" for the next cycle.

If you skip a shot, the depot drains, so you have to start over. When you increase, you have to wait for the depot to reach "full" before you'll see the actual effects of that dose.

We all want our kitties to be cured yesterday, but that's just not how it works. We all have to wear our "patience pants" a lot of the time and just wait, hope and watch the numbers.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342

Tina: Please keep Rocky's shot at .75 His shed needs to rebuild. Everyone here is trying to help you and Rocky. We can only help if you listen. There are so many experienced people on this forum who share their time. As he adjusts to a consistent dosage you may have to increase, that remains to be seen. Meanwhile, .75 for the time being. Testing for ketones is necessary because of his DKA. That will help keep him safe. We can help with the Lantus but you need to keep us apprised of the ketones.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

Rocky +10 113

I'm very worried with Rocky in such high 300s for so many hours and days in a row. Nearly 2 days of it, was going on 3 days this morning. Those numbers and a staff infection are all he needs to go DKA, again.

I was getting two 6 month old kittens that will go up for adoption fixed today at a animal sanctuary (for free. I spoke to the vet there about Rocky's skin. He said it sounded like a staph infection. He did not suggest Clavamox for skin condition. It was more like erethromycin. Feeling depressed. I want Rocky to have the right medicine. :sad:

I'm calling all over to find those ketone strips and can't find them. Getting very upset.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

Tina: It is not 2 days of pinks. He was in the 70s yesterday morning and you had to skip the shot for safety. Reducing to .75 is so you will be able to shoot 2x daily and hopefully break the cycle of bouncing. Sometimes we have to have patience to let the dose settle and the shed rebuild.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

I couldn't find the Nova Max ketone strips anywhere. Their online page says they sell them at Walmart, CVS and Walgreens and none of those places in my town had any. I just drove all over on a wild goose chase. There was a recall on everything Nova Max an it's all been pulled from everyone's shelves.

I am not going to be able to test Rocky for ketones. It's not going to happen. I don't have a way to do it. Rocky is in a bathroom by himself and I am not in there 24/7. It needs to be a fresh urine sample. I have no way of knowing how long pee has been sitting in a pan.

The pharmacist said there are no other blood monitors for testing ketones.

I am going going to delay Rocky's shot tonight by 1/2 hr because I did so this morning. That means instead of feeding him at +12 (PMPS) he'll eat at +12.30 and get his shot then too. I can still test him at +12 though.

I can't figure out why you believe his depot is not drained when all last night and up until early this evening Rocky has been in the pinks. I could go check him in 45 minutes and he might be back in pink again.


Anyway, it looks like I'm not going out of town anywhere or going to be leaving the house at long stretches of a time for at least a few days. I could shoot a low, I'd just be scared. :YMSIGH: What is the reason for shooting a low?

What I'm saying is that I can be here for Rocky.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

hi tina!

I can't tell if you are understanding how the Lantus dosing works. I know people are explaining it, but it is confusing. The only way to get the cycles to flatten out is to hold doses for a few days. with dose changes, highs and lows are inevitable.

do you feel like you understand it? Or can we clarify any part of it?
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

You can order the NovaMax strips online. They will be far cheaper than buying them at a retail outlet. FWIW, it was the glucose test strips that were recalled, not the ketone strips. If you want to get a ketone test, put some aquarium gravel in Rocky's litter box and get a test that way.

I want to make a suggestion. Breathe. Slow down. It sounds like you are getting your emotions in a twist and not stopping to look at Rocky's SS or processing the information that people are providing.

Rocky has been dropping into the greens and blues on a regular basis. He has seen green or blue numbers during at least one cycle per day since 1/11. The pink numbers are bounces. The bouncing is normal.

Lantus is not the kind of insulin that will "squish" high numbers. What you sacrifice in potency you gain in a gentle, long-lasting insulin. If you get caught up in seeing a higher number at pre-shot and raise the dose, you could easily put Rocky over what is a good dose. As an example, my kitty could start with numbers in the 400s, drop into the 40s, and shoot back up to the 400s at PMPS. If I raised the dose based on the pre-shot numbers, Gabby's nadir would have been in a very dangerous range.

Lantus works best with consistency. If you keep switching up the dose, you are likely to end up with wonky numbers. I would go back to the 0.75u dose and hold that dose for 6 consecutive cycles unless Rocky's numbers drop below 50.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

Hi Julie,

I'm reading this page just now:

http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Tight_regulation

I don't really understand what anyone has been telling me and I cannot concentrate on it as I have a million other projects going right now. All I see is Rocky not coming down for the highs and now we are talking about reducing his dose to .75 u. Remember, he started at the hospital at 1.5u.

Then, for like at least the first 3 days he came home he was staying in the 100s/200s as I I WAS checking him. I called the vet when I saw that he was at 40 and they told me that he was too low and to bring him in for evaluation. I did. They put us in a room and they had me feed him. I did. We waited 1/2 hr. They tested him. He was in the low 100s. They told me to NOT give him the shot that night. I did not give the shot. They told me to not test him for 7 to 10 days.

I didn't feel right about that and I immediately posted here. I did the 7 to 10 day curve that the vet's asked me to do. Right away he was in the 400s. I called the vet again. Rocky's normal vets of work and another vet told me to increase his dose to 2.0u. I did. He started going too low again. And he's just been going on and on and on like this..

I don't feel like .75u is going to be enough to get him out of the 300s for most of the hours of the day. I don't have any ketone strips.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

I'll try and give this a shot....so to speak.

When you skipped yesterday morning, you did not entirely drain the depot. It can take up to six cycles for that to happen and for you to see the full effects of that. So you have a not fully drained depot, you shot 0.75u last night which went toward refilling the depot....and could have entirely filled it. We don't know.

Then you shot 1u today and that went into the depot. We don't really know what dose is good for him and what is too much. I do know that it would not be good for the depot to get ahead of you because you could be fighting low numbers for an extended period of time.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

So how many cycles are we going to keep him at .75u?

What is it that you will be looking for to determine when and whether to raise it, steady it, or lower it more?
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

we go one cycle at a time. we reduce the dose if the cat goes under 50. basically, the protocol calls you to hold the dose unless you catch a number under 50.

what we don't do is make decisions based upon high numbers. you're not in a phase of increasing the dose.

we wouldn't tell you to increase his dose unless he went for the next 7 days without seeing a number under 100.

the Tight Regulation Protocol that we follow is the only published protocol for treating a diabetic cat. it's complex enough that many of us volunteer to monitor this site to explain it to people new to it.

for now, you don't have to understand it. we really do get your concerns. our concern for Rocky is first and foremost and we understand that he needs to have good numbers to not get ketones. we are considering that. and we do know the fastest way to get to that point.

if you can trust us that we understand it and will help you one cycle at a time to treat rocky. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

This is the part of the protocol that applies to you right now:

"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).

Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).

Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.

the reference at the end there about some consideration given to preshot numbers is primarily referring to someone who is new to this and doesn't have enough data to be able to shoot a low preshot number. that does apply to you, which is why we've had you skip a couple of times when you had a lower preshot number. but we don't increase based upon the preshot number.

does this help explain when we reduce, hold or increase the dose?
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

Ok.. I think we got to .75u because twice since we've been here Rocky has dipped into the 30s?

I just get so frightened when I see a stretch of pink numbers, even a 1 or 2 100s shows up during a 24 hr period.

His shot time is about 1/2 hour off. It means he won't get his PM shot until 8:30PM That's in 1/2 hour from now. His number appears to be climbing. What does that tell you?
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

WOOT! go ahead and shoot the 0.75 now! looking good.

yes, we've said to reduce the dose because it was clearly too high. we're hoping 0.75 is closer to a good dose. we just don't know yet, but what we DO know is that anything higher is too big of a dose.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

oh - and i should've said get a +1 so we make sure he's still on the way up.

we don't want cats in higher numbers, but this is just part of it. pretty much every cat, including the ones that heal and go off of insulin, spend some time in higher numbers. they can't be avoided entirely.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113

Hi Tina, :-D

Believe me when I say we all know exactly how you are feeling right now. It's how we all felt at the beginning. There is just too much to know at first and when we try to decipher it on our own or focus on the couple areas we do really feel we understand, it seems everyone is mixing it all up! :lol: I promise you, everyone here is looking out for your best interests and Rocky's safety. :-D

The biggest obstacle I can see from these posts is that you're worried over the high preshot numbers (I understand your reasons with DKA). However, the numbers that we are shooting and evaluating the dose size on is the nadir (lowest number in the cycle usually, but not always around 5-7 hours after the shot). The nadir is the boss of this dance. Any literature you find on here about dosing, reducing, increasing, is all based on the nadir and NOT the preshot numbers (for the most part). The guidance you are given will be reflective on these nadirs, as well as experience.
You mentioned
All I see is Rocky not coming down for the highs and now we are talking about reducing his dose to .75 u.
But Rocky IS coming down. His nadirs are hitting blues and greens and that is great! So why does everyone think you need to lower the dose?
Because the great thing about Lantus is that the dose you are giving is going into a 'storage' area to be used throughout the cycle (and even into the next ones). The dose MUST be consistent though, or Lantus will not be able to do it's job as it is supposed to. Consistent means the same amount at the same times EVERY shot. I really can't stress enough how important that is, but I lived it and I was able to see the difference it made :smile:
Now because you have had to skip doses and change the amounts, the Lantus isn't being allowed all it needs to work properly. We need to find Rocky a dose that allows you to give the shot every time/ 2x each day (or darn near unless he drops too low). Holding at 1U looks like you have to keep skipping or changing to keep him safe. So 1U is too much right now. Noone is willing to gamble Rocky's safety with a hypo.
I hope I am not complicating this more on you. I feel that if you really focus on the nadir talk, then reread all your research, it might fit together a little clearer for you :smile:
I swear I feel for you Tina! I just want so badly to help this all make some sense for you and to reassure you that you will be a pro in no time ;-) :-D
You and Rocky are family here, and family watches out for each other. Deep breath, big hug and success vines headed your way :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

Tina, if you'll spend a little time and look at other people's spreadsheets, you'll see that pretty much every cat here spends time in pink numbers..and red and black and yellow. The people here have tested and followed the protocol we're teaching to you and many cats here have been able to go OTJ (off the juice..insulin)

Nobody does it overnight. It takes time and testing to see how YOUR cat responds, to both insulin and food. We value safety above all else. There are other cats here who've had run-in's with DKA too, and when we know that's a factor, we might be a little more aggressive, but not at the expense of safety.

High numbers take time to do any damage. Low numbers kill quickly.

We'll find the best dose for Rocky..you just have to give it time. We really do understand you want him cured yesterday, but it's just not possible. Otherwise we wouldn't all be here.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

Ok.. you all have made me cry tonight reading through your posts. I'm sorry I am so emotional and honestly, that is really just not like me.

I don't want to hurt Rocky.. I hope that the .75u is enough to keep him out of the pink for a good long time.

Julie, I'll take a +1 and then I have to go feed my feral colonies. If I'm back in time I can take a +2 but most likely it will be a +3.

Thanks for not deserting me my time of need. :YMHUG:

I know that you all are going through these things yourself with your own kitties, and I don't mean to be so selfish and focused on myself. I'm usually so helpful to others, and here, I can't do really much of anything to help anyone. :sad:
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

Oh Tina!!! You are a good mamabean and not at all selfish! :-D Again....we have all been there, and I'm certain we have all apologized for it too :lol:
FD is a marathon, not a sprint...and soon enough you will be the one offering hugs :-D
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMBG 168

You're first job right now is to slow down and try to absorb what people are telling you. Learning to manage Rocky's diabetes isn't going to happen in a day or even a week or two. To make it even more challenging, the amount of information you need to wrap your head around is overwhelming. So, take it one step at a time. Ask questions before your react. We all really are here to help.

Once you have firmer footing, you can help another new member who is struggling. Most of the people here will find a way to to pay it forward.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMPS 168

Tina..we really DO understand! No need to apologize!!

They're our BABIES!! We get it!!

Soon enough, you'll be helping someone else...even if you're not giving dosing information, a lot of times, what people need to hear is "I have been there and I know how you feel"...because with FD, it's totally true.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky +3 342 +10 113 PMPS 168

:YMHUG:

everybody else already said it.

it's a profound love we have for these little ones. they have a way of catching our hearts so we'll do anything we can to help them. it's a gift.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +2.30 432

432 at +2.30.. that's so high. :sad:

**Correction. I shot the .75 u dose at 8:15PM and took this reading at 9PM. So, should it say +2 on the subject line? :roll:
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432

that's hard to believe that it went that high in 45 minutes. it's possible but unlikely. do you mind retesting that?

if you shot at 8:15 and the 432 was 45 minutes later, +1 is close enough.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432

I know you've had a crazy and emotional day but I agree you should retest. I wonder if your strips are not filling correctly.

I have found with the Micro that even when the strips only fill halfway, it will give you a number but it's usually incorrect.

As others have said, the bottom line is we are here to help you. The reason why we have a rule of no off board advising is so you get Input from several people. That way, you don't have to wonder if you can trust just one person. Most of the time, we all say the same thing. :-D
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

Hmmmm".....that was a fast rise.

Don't panic. Just take car of your freaks and grab a before bed test, ok? Tomorrow is a new day.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

Ok.. will at least get one more reading in tonight. I am wondering if there is a 'high' that I should take him to the vet?

Waiting for friend to call me back who will go with me to feed my ferals. So late in feeding my colonies tonight. Usually feed them right before dark. Nearly 10PM here now.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

I wonder if the Clavamox is kicking in and affecting his pancreas any.. this is day 2 of taking it. So he's gotten 4 pills into him so far.

I can't remember where I read it but it said diabetic CG's need to be careful when their pet is taking antibiotics so as to not raise the pets dose because of higher readings from taking Clavamox. I can't find that article now.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

Marje and Gracie said:
Just take car of your freaks

:lol: looks like an autocorrect was helping marje post!

i would skip testing any more tonight and take the chance to get a whole night's sleep. you'll feel better for it. you don't need to take him to the vet for high numbers. if you see signs of ketones, then post here immediately and ask for help. other than that, for just blood sugar issues, you don't need a vet.

he'll come down. probably tomorrow.

is there any chance the Clavamox was formulated with sugar in it? some meds have it.

most likely though, this is simply a normal response to him having lower numbers and the previous skipped shot. if you look at the main page on any given day, you'll see many high numbers. most cats go high-low-high-low on their way to getting regulated. it's typical.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

Is the clavamox a liquid? Some of them have sugar in them.

Gracie was on clavamox pills for months and it didn't affect her BG. Sometimes, when infections resolve, the BG comes down.
 
Re: 1/17 Rocky PMPS 168 +1 432 rt 437 still high..

I just popped in to see how you and Rocky were doing :cool:

I'll add my voice to the 'Take a deep breath' chorus (and add don't forget to exhale!)

I'll also add my $0.02. . .

Do Rocky and yourself a favor and keep it simple-

1-hold the dose if in doubt, refer to the TR protocol guidelines.
2-Test his urine for ketones at least once per day
3- make sure he eats
4-add as much water to his food as he will tolerate

If you detect ketones higher than trace take him to the vet.

If you see pink and red for a while - sit on your hands.

Repeat the above and in a few days a new, improved picture is likely to emerge, one that will make figuring out the next steps clearer. :cool:

Take a look at Black Kittys ss- In the early stages, actually for the better part of his journey, it seemed the deck was stacked against him.
He was the last cat anyone expected to get regulated much less go to the Falls.
New members often ask 'How did you do it???'
I've given it a lot of thought and it boils down to the following:

-I showed up
-I paid attention
-I followed directions

BK did the rest.

Hang in there - and hang in here. :cool:
 
Yah!! :RAHCAT

+4 264

Back down to a number that I can handle, even though it's still high for a cat. I feel like I can actually get some sleep tonight so finally going to bed now.

I believe that even though in a pill form that the Clavamox IS affecting Rocky's pancreas. It does have to process it whether there is sugar in it or not. I looked up articles on whether penicillin could raise BG and it can. Here are some humans talking about it. Clavamox is a combo of Amoxicillin and clavulanic acid.

We need to keep this in mind. I usually give him his pill right after he eats, which was the case tonight.

http://www.diabetesforums.com/forum/typ ... evels.html

Goodnight.

PS. .. I told my friend who feeds "community cats" with me that my online FDMB friends called my feral colonies 'freaks.' :o I hoped it might be an auto-correct. :lol:
 
Tina --

I'm a researcher. I would not trust an anecdotal report by one person. An infection or inflammation can raise BG numbers. It can also take a couple of days for an antibiotic to have an effect. It would be easy to attribute an elevated BG to the antibiotic until the antibiotic kicked in. Like all drugs, they are processed either through the liver or kidneys. There shouldn't be an effect on the pancreas. The only time we typically see a rise in BG with an antibiotic is if the drug is in liquid form and it's in a syrup base.
 
Tina


Yes...so sorry. It was my autocorrect. I've worked with ferals a lot, too, and I would never call them freaks :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top