Re: 1/17 Rocky AMPS +329 +2 321 +3 342 +10 113
Hi Tina,
Believe me when I say we all know exactly how you are feeling right now. It's how we all felt at the beginning. There is just too much to know at first and when we try to decipher it on our own or focus on the couple areas we do really feel we understand, it seems everyone is mixing it all up! :lol: I promise you, everyone here is looking out for your best interests and Rocky's safety.
The biggest obstacle I can see from these posts is that you're worried over the high preshot numbers (I understand your reasons with DKA). However, the numbers that we are shooting and evaluating the dose size on is the nadir (lowest number in the cycle usually, but not always around 5-7 hours after the shot). The nadir is the boss of this dance. Any literature you find on here about dosing, reducing, increasing, is all based on the nadir and NOT the preshot numbers (for the most part). The guidance you are given will be reflective on these nadirs, as well as experience.
You mentioned
All I see is Rocky not coming down for the highs and now we are talking about reducing his dose to .75 u.
But Rocky IS coming down. His nadirs are hitting blues and greens and that is great! So why does everyone think you need to lower the dose?
Because the great thing about Lantus is that the dose you are giving is going into a 'storage' area to be used throughout the cycle (and even into the next ones). The dose MUST be consistent though, or Lantus will not be able to do it's job as it is supposed to. Consistent means the same amount at the same times EVERY shot. I really can't stress enough how important that is, but I lived it and I was able to see the difference it made :smile:
Now because you have had to skip doses and change the amounts, the Lantus isn't being allowed all it needs to work properly. We need to find Rocky a dose that allows you to give the shot every time/ 2x each day (or darn near unless he drops too low). Holding at 1U looks like you have to keep skipping or changing to keep him safe. So 1U is too much right now. Noone is willing to gamble Rocky's safety with a hypo.
I hope I am not complicating this more on you. I feel that if you really focus on the nadir talk, then reread all your research, it might fit together a little clearer for you :smile:
I swear I feel for you Tina! I just want so badly to help this all make some sense for you and to reassure you that you will be a pro in no time ;-)
You and Rocky are family here, and family watches out for each other. Deep breath, big hug and success vines headed your way :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon